We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)
Special Offer
SPECIAL DISCOUNT OFFER
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,051 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Commodore for two nights after our New Zealand tour prior to our flight to Australia. The room was very nice quiet and very clean. Staff were very helpful we did try the pool but found it rather cold. Check in and out was very quick and transport to the airport very good.

Helpful?
Thank Emma504202
chorley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night before leaving New Zealand. It was a fantastic stay from start to finish. Check in was smooth, we were escorted to a lovely room and the facilities were pointed out to us. The lady on Reception supplied us with a bus timetable when we asked about transport into Christchurch and told us where the bus... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcw552
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were in rm 149 - a dense garden view with waterfall, ground floor with walk out through the garden yet very private. Great beds! Never heard another guest. Very friendly staff. Excellent food although a little pricey. Had a lovely outdoor lounge area, well outfitted workout room, and sauna.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
Perth
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our last night in NZ after handing back the campervan. It is honestly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. Not the absolute poshest but the best all rounder. The reception staff were incredibly friendly, the room was fantastic. We had a Superior Family room that had a double and 2 twin beds plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is right by the airport but feels like you are out in the country. We paid a business upgrade and were on the 4th floor at the back overlooking a pasture. Very quiet, good free Wifi and free parking. The restaurant is excellent. We actually tried to book a room on our return to Christchurch, but the rates... More 

Helpful?
Thank j w
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Got picked up straight away from the airport by a lovely young man. Upgraded to the business level on arrival! Given vouchers for coffee in the restaurant. Clean,modern room. Beautiful garden. Next to the airport,which was convenient as we got in very late. A much nicer feel to stay at a family-owned business,rather than a chain.

Helpful?
1 Thank annarosabaker
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
234 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent arrival hotel. Just have the number of the hotel with you, call the shuttle and they are there in 5-10 minutes. Nice modern room. Nice breakfast. Didn't miss a thing. Check out was quick too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peteruga
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Family of 4 arrived at 11pm, and found that air conditioning was not working, the room was very hot, and been told that they can only provide the fan to get some fresh air from outside window. The fan was too noisy, so we had to switch it off at 3pm. So we could not have much rest at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ya-Hui T
MTPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I apologise that you had an uncomfortable stay. We are certainly deeply concerned that we were unable to deliver to you a good experience. I would like the opportunity to discuss your stay so that I may investigate this further. May I ask that you send me an email at michaelpatterson@commodorehotel.nz Yours sincerely Michael Patterson More 

cairns
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for 2 nights. Excellent service. They went out of their way. Room excellent. The restaurant dining was perfect. Would highly recommend Commodore Airport Hotel & will be staying there again, next time we are in Christchurch.

Helpful?
Thank chris_cairns
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended the commodore hotel from the people we rented our camper an from to stay in for our last night in Christchurch . I was expecting a mediocre airport hotel, but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel sent a driver to pick us up from the camper van rental place. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank utanportsmouth
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#10 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#14 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#28 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay