We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 Christchurch hotels

Holiday Inn On Avon

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 Oxford Terrace | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Holiday Inn On Avon
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn On Avon to your Saves list
71%
Ranked #98 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014
GAN L
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
39
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This Holiday Inn really lives up to the Holiday Inn Brand. Good location. Great restaurant. Good service. Good room amenities. Clean and comfortable room. In the morning, we took a walk around the hotel and saw the river and the neighbourhood. Saw some nice houses around. We could walk from here to the town centre. At night, we visited the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel had everything. A fantastic bar, great restaurant and superb area. Food was great. Bar staff chatty and friendly. Right on the river and not too far from the city centre. Facilities were superb. Laundry and ironing facilities were cheap and great. The hotel itself was a little bit dated but no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and found the location and service excellent! We had good service at the bar and breakfast restaurant and reception staff were very helpful with local knowledge and bookings. Our only issue was of our own doing. I didn't notice when I booked the hotel that there was no air-conditioning (the note about opening windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We arrived at the Holiday Inn at 1am in the morning and everything was ready for us. The staff were very helpful all through our stay and we were made to feel like valued customers. The room was clean and comfortable. The view from the restaurant onto the Avon River while eating your meal was lovely. We had the breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences on Trip Advisor I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I hope we can welcome you again in the future. More

Brisbane
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here for one night on 21 October 2010 and have stayed here several times previously. We really like the hotel, it is in a nice setting a short walk from the CBD and beside the Avon River. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the service is excellent. The breakfast buffet provides a good selection of hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can accommodate you in the future. More

Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I don't think the Holiday Inn is a poor hotel. But I did have a poor experience. It has led me to writing on Trip Advisor for the first time. Three of us stayed in the suites located outside the main complex of the hotel. They were nicely furnished, had a backyard, quality linens, plasma televisions, large kitchen, etc. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I can respond to your points as follows: water pressure, it was brought to our attention just recently that the pressure had dropped substantially and our maintenance team replaced the... More

Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

During a two-month holiday touring in New Zealand, this was the only poor accommodation we encountered. The location of the Holiday Inn is superb - just a 20-minute walk along the banks of the river Avon to get to the city centre. But the fabric and furnishings were very tired indeed and the rooms were stiflingly hot. When we asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. The hotel will shortly undergo refurbishment we have just signed off on the architect and builders plans for the property. Refubishment will take into consideration our pool, lobby, and restaurant. Regarding the lack of air-conditioning, as... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were transferred to this hotel as their partner hotel The Crowne Plaza was over-booked and could no longer accommodate us even though we had already paid for it. (obviously not Holiday Inn's fault) We were greeted by err... no-one. No Doormen or help available for bringing luggage in. My husband and i had to bring our own bags (which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Holiday Inn Hotels prides itself on being a family friendly hotel. However porters and concierge are not a brand standard of Holiday Inn however, they are often on duty and able to assist all guests. I am disappointed to read that staff did not assist you with... More

Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

After quite a long walk to the back corner of the hotel, we exited through a door into the back carpark and hotel bin area and then arrived at the little inn a the back. This hotel is a boring, average hotel in the whole, however the double story townhouse at the rear of the hotel was very suitable for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments on the hotel. I am pleased to hear that overal you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope in a few short months we can change your opinion of us as a borning hotel as we will shortly undertake refubishment of our lobby, restaurant and pool area. We pride ourselves on being a... More

new zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

we went to the Holiday Inn On Avon with two of our teenage sons to stay for a night. we got a garden room which was nice and clean. It had every thing you needed they had soaps body wash, sampoos a wee travels kit with cotton buds nail files etc it was a nice touch. They had given us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelBDM, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn On Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor we greatly appreciate all feedback from guests. I am pleased to hear that your family all enjoyed their stay with us. We will shortly be making improvements to our pool area and look forward to showcasing this fresh new look to our guests. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn On Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn On Avon

Address: 356 Oxford Terrace | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn On Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn On Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn On Avon Hotel Christchurch
Holiday Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Holiday Inn

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay