We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

KIWI basecamp

69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
KIWI basecamp
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    14
    15
    13
See reviews for
7
22
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After booking a room for 4 people and being assured that this was only a 2 bunk room we arrived to find our room filled with rubbish, a dirty needle, and enough belongings to last someone a year. It appeared there was a 5th bed and that people had already slept in ours. After complaining the reception said it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We at Kiwi Basecamp are very sorry to hear of your stay with us was not satisfactory, we are making changes to rectify this, I was sorry to hear that you were not put into an appropriate room, this is something that I have discussed with the night managers, when the booking was made I think you were... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights in kiwi base camp! I found the staff to be really nice! The owner picked me up from the airport for free! The location was good. Easy walk to the city centre and there was a supermarket, post office and alcohol shop nearby. All you need really! The rooms were warm and clean. They offer free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Free airport pickup and free towel are good. The staff is lukewarm. Two persons but only could have one key. Only one toilet at every floor, and toilet paper ran out at midnight and no one replaced the new one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Place is not too easy to find as it is pretty small. There is parking outside the hostel along a small street that is P120, so bear that in mind. They also provide transport from the airport as well. The hostel is on the old side but the room was still generally clean. Had some broken things here and there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was my first hostel when I arrived in NZ and was impressed. Of course it was cold in the evening, esp in the kitchen and showers, however the rooms were kept clean, the staff were nice and polite and offered great services. Nice lounge room to chill out in with breakfast-did fill up on the free bread that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After having travelled around New Zealand for the last 8 months, I can honestly say that this is the worst hostel in the country. It is the only place I have stayed where I have felt uneasy and worried that my belongings would be stolen. The building was in an immense state of disrepair and, as far as I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puchong
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
76 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was my second time staying here. They have free airport pickup and only charge $10 if going to airport or to a motorhome pick up near airport . Very reasonable price. Stayed in room 5 which I love as it has a queen size bed. Paid $57 for this room. Love their free continental breakfast especially their freshly baked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in a private double for a week after we just arrived in NZ. The first impression was "just another dirty hostel", which turned out to be the absolute right impression for the rest of the stay. The reception staff was alright, one lady was nice and helpful, the other one was ignorant and rude. The kitchen is zero... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stopped in for 1 night on arrival in nz. Had to move on second night as they were full due to rugby but staff found a place for everyone even gave us a lift there and back the next day. I came back and stayed 3 months whilst working. Whilst there are a lot of long stayers they are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed one night at the kiwi base camp and the highlight of my stay there was that my bicycle has been stolen in their backyard during the night... although it was locked to a post and that I had been told by the hostel staff that was safe. When I reported it to the staff member on duty, her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay