We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

KIWI basecamp

69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
KIWI basecamp
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    15
    17
    14
See reviews for
7
22
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kiwi Basecamp could have cleaner facilities and more stable bunk beds - the upper one I had was pretty shaky. Otherwise, the location is pretty decent with a 15min walk to the main bus stop and being located within the CBD. Staff were friendly and helpful and even gave me one of their many hairdryers. There is also a bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This might be the the worst hostel I have stayed in, both in New Zealand and around the world. We arrived late after reception had closed and the person who checked us in was really nice but that is where the positives ended. The room was way below standard, the most noticeable issue was the quality of the bunk beds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was my 3rd visit to Kiwi Base camp over the last 5 years. I am disappointed the quality of the room has deteriorated over the 5 years span, the room was untidy and kitchen/guest area were a mass. Guests chatting and swearing in the common area which was next to my bed until 3am in the morning. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

After booking a room for 4 people and being assured that this was only a 2 bunk room we arrived to find our room filled with rubbish, a dirty needle, and enough belongings to last someone a year. It appeared there was a 5th bed and that people had already slept in ours. After complaining the reception said it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We at Kiwi Basecamp are very sorry to hear of your stay with us was not satisfactory, we are making changes to rectify this, I was sorry to hear that you were not put into an appropriate room, this is something that I have discussed with the night managers, when the booking was made I think you were... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights in kiwi base camp! I found the staff to be really nice! The owner picked me up from the airport for free! The location was good. Easy walk to the city centre and there was a supermarket, post office and alcohol shop nearby. All you need really! The rooms were warm and clean. They offer free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Free airport pickup and free towel are good. The staff is lukewarm. Two persons but only could have one key. Only one toilet at every floor, and toilet paper ran out at midnight and no one replaced the new one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Place is not too easy to find as it is pretty small. There is parking outside the hostel along a small street that is P120, so bear that in mind. They also provide transport from the airport as well. The hostel is on the old side but the room was still generally clean. Had some broken things here and there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was my first hostel when I arrived in NZ and was impressed. Of course it was cold in the evening, esp in the kitchen and showers, however the rooms were kept clean, the staff were nice and polite and offered great services. Nice lounge room to chill out in with breakfast-did fill up on the free bread that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After having travelled around New Zealand for the last 8 months, I can honestly say that this is the worst hostel in the country. It is the only place I have stayed where I have felt uneasy and worried that my belongings would be stolen. The building was in an immense state of disrepair and, as far as I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puchong
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
78 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was my second time staying here. They have free airport pickup and only charge $10 if going to airport or to a motorhome pick up near airport . Very reasonable price. Stayed in room 5 which I love as it has a queen size bed. Paid $57 for this room. Love their free continental breakfast especially their freshly baked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay