We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

KIWI basecamp

69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
KIWI basecamp
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    16
    19
    16
See reviews for
8
22
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean place and Very friendly staff, they will help you with anything! Not to small and not to big of a place so you get to know the people very easy and have a good time together! Close to shopping mall and liquor store ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Good, The staff and helpers are friendly and very sociably. Fresh baked bread at 8am till it last. Free coffee and tea all day. The Bad, Stay out of Room #4 next to the toilets, shower,kitchen and very frequently used back door. The top bunks are the highest bunk I have ever slept in and the most squeaky. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Super helpful and friendly stuff. We asked for tools and the owner carried his equipment to the hostel. Very clean and nice to stay. Fresh and free bread in the morning 😊 Would definitely recommend the kiwi basecamp to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

It is a lovely place if you like to be awake whole night and drinking with people. A welcoming atmosohere and cosy house feeling. The kitchrlen is small and not that clean. And if you are sick, have a jetlag, or just wants to sleep, it's not the best place. The beds are bed. Unstable and the matras is extrem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

This was worse hostel that we stayed in while New Zealand. The first night staff and guests where partying most of the night very loudly right outside our room. The next Morning we complained about the late night noise and all they said was welcome to the party camp. The room we were was suppose a private unit but was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

Continental breakfast - squashed day old loaf of bread with a few packets of jam. All room lockers broken/unusable, no toilet paper! Utensils/appliances so filthy they are a health hazard, no shuttle like advertised. Beds so noisy you were infuriated by the slightest movement. The location was ok, but absolutely not worth this dirty, tired and unwelcoming "backpackers" would close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Kiwi Basecamp could have cleaner facilities and more stable bunk beds - the upper one I had was pretty shaky. Otherwise, the location is pretty decent with a 15min walk to the main bus stop and being located within the CBD. Staff were friendly and helpful and even gave me one of their many hairdryers. There is also a bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

This might be the the worst hostel I have stayed in, both in New Zealand and around the world. We arrived late after reception had closed and the person who checked us in was really nice but that is where the positives ended. The room was way below standard, the most noticeable issue was the quality of the bunk beds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

It was my 3rd visit to Kiwi Base camp over the last 5 years. I am disappointed the quality of the room has deteriorated over the 5 years span, the room was untidy and kitchen/guest area were a mass. Guests chatting and swearing in the common area which was next to my bed until 3am in the morning. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

After booking a room for 4 people and being assured that this was only a 2 bunk room we arrived to find our room filled with rubbish, a dirty needle, and enough belongings to last someone a year. It appeared there was a 5th bed and that people had already slept in ours. After complaining the reception said it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We at Kiwi Basecamp are very sorry to hear of your stay with us was not satisfactory, we are making changes to rectify this, I was sorry to hear that you were not put into an appropriate room, this is something that I have discussed with the night managers, when the booking was made I think you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question