We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Christchurch hotels

Arcadia Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   564 Ferry Rd, Woolston, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Arcadia Motel to your Saves list
Arcadia Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #70 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
BecTR Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (15)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay here, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the motel is in an ideal location, just outside of Christchurch City centre, but still surrounded by plenty of shops, cafes/restaurants etc. Our hosts were very welcoming and incredibly helpful, we cannot thank them enough. The room was also very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a Bealey Ave motel for $180 a night for 1 night...put up with boy racers and no sleep...found this place on the internet and read the reviews from obviously a couple of people who could never be pleased....paid a fair price for a room that was clean warm (there was a -5 frost one of the nights!), comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Motel was very nice staff were very hospitable & despite the disaster Christchurch & it's residence had experienced this lovely motel sustained it's beauty & glamour. We were very impressed better than some Auckland motels. Thank you ☺️.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Smell of mildew was overpowering, heating wasn't adequate, electric blanket didn't work & very much overpriced for old, damp but clean unit .Bed & pillows smelt of dampness. Wouldn't bother staying there again as better quality available in Ch-Ch. Give this one a miss is you value your health!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Friendly host who gave us some much needed local advice. We had a large studio room which was just right for us. Good value for money. It was very clean and the beds were great. I recommend it for people staying in the East of Christchurch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review

Hi 8Hazel8.. Thanks for your review...we look forward to seeing you again More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a long trip from Dunedin to Christchurch whereupon I found my accommodation double booked, I ended up coming across Arcadia motel who were accommodating, lovely and excellent to deal with. The unit is a two bedroom unit wch they discounted, it is immaculately clean and with minimal noise from the main road. I will undoubtedly be reccomending this motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review

Hi KellinamariaD. Thank you for your review......pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I am a concessive traveling reviewer and I am usually trying to accept common sense issues in accommodation. But after our experience at Arcadia Motel in Christchurch I understand it cannot be anything worst. If would not say anything about the abrupt and helpless receptionist, probably the owner/manager, I have to say that we had for one night no hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review laura_mc_13. We haven't had any guests staying for 2 nights but leaving after 1....maybe you could contact us to clarify and we can investigate? If you had no hot water wouldn't it be a good idea to tell someone about it so that it can be rectified?? What are bad bugs?? What is a concessive traveling... More

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Regrettably stayed here earlier this week. As a sales rep, many nights are spent in motels and have never experienced the rude, unhelpful 'service', worst shower ever and USED soap in there - obviously NOT cleaned! Upon arrival and booking was told (and not politely) that they would not accept a credit card number, needed a card.....okay, sorted. Was informed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review CheleNFish. It is most helpful. Your wishes of good luck have been a good omen as we are doing very well. Sorry for your experience, but if you had raised it at the time we could have done something. The guests in the room since you have found the shower very pleasant and good pressure. In... More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My brother, his son, my sister and I were visiting family as well as attending a family wedding. Our brother-in-law, Keith booked us in this wonderful motel where the owners Mike and Sue Brown were really welcoming and clearly genuinely friendly. The room was cleaned and stocked with essentials for a good stay. My main criteria for a good stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had booked for two to stay at Arcadia Motel and they had found their stay to be very comfortable. The rooms were fantastic and accomodated them very nicely. Very friendly owner and made sure they were well looked after. Great communication prior to booking and assisted in every way he could. Highly recommended. The boys thoroughly enjoyed their stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Arcadia Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Address: 564 Ferry Rd, Woolston, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

35 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer