We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Christchurch hotels

Airport Birches Motel

390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Airport Birches Motel to your Saves list
Airport Birches Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
80%
Ranked #67 of 138 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
DiegoUG Dunedin, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (89)
  • Photos (12)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our plane got cancelled and we were looking for a place close to the airport where to sleep after flying nearly for two days in a row from Spain. We were picked up quickly (10 minutes after we called) and the staff were very nice, helpful and efficient. The room was nice, clean, quiet and we had a very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waimate, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely Motel and convenient to the Airport. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Stayed 2 nights in May and then another 2 nights in June when we returned from our trip to the UK. Car minding at $2 per night for the 33 days we were away was great value compared with Christchurch Airport charges for parking, plus we were taken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked our last night in NZ at the Airport Birches. Its very convenient to the airport, and perfect for a last night stop over, or a stepping stone when beginning a trip. Units were a little dated but had everything needed to make the stay comfortable. Management/staff were friendly and very helpful. Would certainly stay there again if in Christchurch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Michael N Thank you for your review, in one of the photographs you uploaded there is a large black paint smear on one of our units, this was taken during the time when the motel's exterior was being painted. Painting has now been completed and the motel is looking very nice. Kind regards Airport Birches Motel Management More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Clean modern and quiet Good location if you want to be close to the airport Very pleasant hosts And priced well King size bed was great! Pleasant , spa pool not used and no noise from any neighbours yet it was full

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this Christchurch motel recently. Unit 1 was a nice clean sunny unit with fresh linen and comfy bed. Entry to the bathroom however was very difficult, you have to be of slim build and manoeuvre your way around a basin. Good shower . Ample towels .Portion control Conditioning Shampoo tiny soap provided . Bedside clock radio was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Fortyniner Thank you for your review, in regards to internet access we’ve taken your comments onboard and have increased the amount we provide to guests. Kind regards Airport Birches Motel Management More

Hutton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Arrived around midnight and the shuttle picked us up within 20 minutes which is not bad at all. The property is old, tired and designed in the typical poor New Zealand motel style, bad use of space, terrible bathroom, peculiar lighting arrangements. But that's life - many NZ motels are similar. Next morning we taken back to the airport, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear mikexerez Thank you for your review, in regards to our shuttle typically it takes no longer than five minutes to arrive at the airport. However our shuttle can be quite active late at night which may result in some time spent waiting between trips, usually ten to fifteen minutes. As for the motel itself, we feel it suits its... More

Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this depressing motel at the end of a 4 week trip round New Zealand and it was comfortably the worst place we stayed in. The owner picked us up from the railway station and barely uttered a word during the journey and refused to take us to the airport the following morning, necessitating a taxi ride. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Tom H Thank you for your review, in regards to our shuttle, its hours are from 09:00am to 01:00am outside these times we are able to organise a taxi. These hours are outlined on our website clearly. Whilst there are no restaurants within walking distance, there are two that provide transfers to and from our motel which we can... More

Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a disastrous experience here. There was no hot water and we only found this out when we tried to have a shower. The staff were aware of this and did not advise us or offer compensation. We were forced to shower in somebody else's dirty room. The staff were not apologetic and didn't seem to care. We arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Owner at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

I thank you for your review. I remember I arrived at the airport to pick you up after you had rang for a courtesy transfer to our motel. I arrived and had to wait 5 minutes as only half your group was ready. When we were 500m past McDonalds you asked if I could take you back through the drive... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is exactly as advertised - clean, well located, and relatively easy to find. It's a little closer to the airport than Riccarton, which may be convenient for some - it certainly was for us. The rooms were clean, well presented, and if booking the 2 BR unit, each room has its own bathroom which was a nice bonus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Owner/manager accommodated our very late arrival (2am). It was very easy to find and close to the airport. Rooms are clean and nice touches with plunger coffee and biscuits. A nice little place for entering and exiting Christchurch. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Airport Birches Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Christchurch with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 1:00am everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Airport Birches Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

;