We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Christchurch hotels

Airport Birches Motel

390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Airport Birches Motel to your Saves list
Airport Birches Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #65 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014
Fortyniner Australia
  • Reviews (85)
  • Photos (11)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (7)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this Christchurch motel recently. Unit 1 was a nice clean sunny unit with fresh linen and comfy bed. Entry to the bathroom however was very difficult, you have to be of slim build and manoeuvre your way around a basin. Good shower . Ample towels .Portion control Conditioning Shampoo tiny soap provided . Bedside clock radio was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Fortyniner Thank you for your review, in regards to internet access we’ve taken your comments onboard and have increased the amount we provide to guests. Kind regards Airport Birches Motel Management More

Hutton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Arrived around midnight and the shuttle picked us up within 20 minutes which is not bad at all. The property is old, tired and designed in the typical poor New Zealand motel style, bad use of space, terrible bathroom, peculiar lighting arrangements. But that's life - many NZ motels are similar. Next morning we taken back to the airport, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear mikexerez Thank you for your review, in regards to our shuttle typically it takes no longer than five minutes to arrive at the airport. However our shuttle can be quite active late at night which may result in some time spent waiting between trips, usually ten to fifteen minutes. As for the motel itself, we feel it suits its... More

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this depressing motel at the end of a 4 week trip round New Zealand and it was comfortably the worst place we stayed in. The owner picked us up from the railway station and barely uttered a word during the journey and refused to take us to the airport the following morning, necessitating a taxi ride. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Tom H Thank you for your review, in regards to our shuttle, its hours are from 09:00am to 01:00am outside these times we are able to organise a taxi. These hours are outlined on our website clearly. Whilst there are no restaurants within walking distance, there are two that provide transfers to and from our motel which we can... More

Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a disastrous experience here. There was no hot water and we only found this out when we tried to have a shower. The staff were aware of this and did not advise us or offer compensation. We were forced to shower in somebody else's dirty room. The staff were not apologetic and didn't seem to care. We arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Owner at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

I thank you for your review. I remember I arrived at the airport to pick you up after you had rang for a courtesy transfer to our motel. I arrived and had to wait 5 minutes as only half your group was ready. When we were 500m past McDonalds you asked if I could take you back through the drive... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is exactly as advertised - clean, well located, and relatively easy to find. It's a little closer to the airport than Riccarton, which may be convenient for some - it certainly was for us. The rooms were clean, well presented, and if booking the 2 BR unit, each room has its own bathroom which was a nice bonus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Owner/manager accommodated our very late arrival (2am). It was very easy to find and close to the airport. Rooms are clean and nice touches with plunger coffee and biscuits. A nice little place for entering and exiting Christchurch. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night to start of our 2 week journey around the South Island. We were picked up at the airport late at night free of charge. Our room was basic, clean and sufficient. We received great service and all staff were friendly the next day. This is a husband and wife run operation and these guys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

lovely, quirky room layout. Massive spa bath. Very clean with everything you need. We left our car with them while travelling overseas, it was well looked after for a very minimal fee. Owners took us to airport free of charge and also organised free shuttle to casino the previous night .Very friendly and obliging staff and management. We will stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We given a foldout bed with a horrible mattress. Springs dug in my back all night. When i told the Manager, he replied has well aware of the horrible mattress, and that was all he had to say. Manager offered no apology or understanding. Would never stay there again. In addition, the room was very small and cramped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Tony H Thank you for your review, upon examination of the fold out bed we discovered a small ‘hose connector’ caught up in the metal work of the bed. We believe this was responsible for your bad night as the springs in the mattress were fine. We are aware that a fold out couch will not meet the same... More

Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here recently before a flight. The man was very nice and was quite chatty on the way to the airport in the courtesy van. We left our car there also at an extremely cheap rate. The room was pleasant enough, but could do with a touch up. A little dated in places. Very clean though and the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Airport Birches Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch
Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 1:00am everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Priceline.com

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 1:00am everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.