We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Certificate of Excellence
859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    536
    162
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
116
407
49
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (715)
  • Mar-May only
    (199)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (154)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (232)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights one week ago. I was very happy with my spacious, warm unit. Everything was clean and comfortable. The owner Jeff was very obliging both before I visited and when I was there. I rang him several times prior to my visit and he helped me with lots of information about transport and facilities in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Being warm and comfortable - a necessity in the wonderful winter wonderland! Thanks for the review chrissiemclay after your recent winter wonderland visit. We don't mind helping guests out when they need a little local knowledge to help make the stay in a different city feel just a little like being at home. Thanks for making use of our customer... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights here in June. Very nice room, lots of attention to detail. Kitchenette had a microwave but no stove top. Very comfortable bed and nice reclining chairs. First hotel I've been to that asks one to separate organic waste along with recycling. Standard bathtub had spa jets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Yes, we are a little Motel, but we have a big heart! Thanks for the review ajrowe0615. That's right about the kitchen and we like to emphasize that the rooms do not have stove tops, just microwaves. Here in Christchurch we have organic rubbish collection once a week so we offer our guests the chance to join us in separating... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A full service motel with Host's that make you feel like Family! Jeff and Naomi were always there to help, give tips and directions! We arrived in the middle of the night and they had the key in the pre-arranged secure location. The refrigerator and microwave in the room was so convenient. And FREE Wifi! Thanks for a great stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there LVFire and thanks for the review and for comin' back to stay with us again! Many stay with us for a couple of nights after flying in from distant lands - it does help with the jet lag and getting you ready for your Kiwi experience. Late night arrivals are no problem either - guests make use of... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location near Chch central while also being near restaurants, cafes and other amenities. Room was great, very clean and tidy and with a lovely heat-pump which was critical in the middle of winter! Great onsite parking and very friendly and welcoming hosts. Free wifi I'll definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello natsnaps and thanks for the review after visiting from Auckland. Yes, it has been cold but not as cold as some areas in the South Island recently but still, its been cold - but our heatpumps have been doing their job of keeping the rooms warm! Great to see you liked the other things that we also like about... More 

Orewa, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel at home. The beds are comfy, the feather pillows are devine and the unit was clean, functional and well stocked. Little things like having larger /pump bottles of shampoo and conditioner Vs tiny sachets, were very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello HellenWOrewa and thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay and welcome to Trip Advisor! Thanks for highlighting the things you liked and that you enjoyed our location in the heart of the Christchurch city centre - just a short walk to the major must see attractions, but also easily accessible to all parts... More 

Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading the many reviews, I decided to book this little gem, and I am so glad I did! Jeff, the owner, went above and beyond to ensure my visit was pleasant. He booked shuttles for me, and even called my tour company to have them pick me up from the hotel rather than the visitor center. This hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello rickyrak and thanks for finding us! And thanks for the review! Great to see you were able to be satisfied with our accommodation option after reading about us on TA. We do try to help guests out to make sure everything goes along tickedyboo and because of this sometimes people think we are asking too many questions and being... More 

Hokitika
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendliest staff who even had a list of restaurants complete with price range and distance. They had cookie time cookies, a luxury I have not seen at a motel before. Great pricing, even had a spa bath in our room. Super clean, modern and tidy. Great location, really quiet, just plain amazing. 10/10 would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Taranicole349 and wOw! thanks for the accolade! Thanks for the 10 out of ten! Thanks for coming to stay and liking the way that we operate what you have described as the..... Best Motel in Christchurch. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got the two bedroom suite. More than I expected. The owner was friendly and have great recommendations on where to eat. He also gave us a map. Room was very clean. Location is close to city center and eating places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there Eric A and thanks for bringing your friends to stay with us. Not sure quite what you were expecting but great to hear our motel option was more than you were expecting! Great to hear that he, me, Jeff did a good job. Thanks for the review. More 

Puriri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Naomi and Jeff are wonderful hosts. Very warmly welcomed by Naomi when we arrived (early) to check in for our 5 night stay with our 3 adult children for a family reunion. Naomi gave me loads of information about Christchurch, along with maps to navigate the city. The CBD is an easy walk from the motel, but we were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello kiwibees and thanks for what may just well be the longest review we've had. Great to see you found our motel option to be a great place to stay! Also great to see that Naomi has been doing a good job too, and that I got a tick as well. Thanks for mentioning so many of the other things... More 

prescott,arizona
Level Contributor
241 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here while visiting Christchurch and were not disappointed. Staff very helpful providing good suggestions and excellent listing of restaurants as mentioned by others. Accommodations were spacious, with bedroom upstairs, tastefully and comfortably furnished and spotless including bathroom. Bed comfortable and it was quiet. Location is quite good with restaurants within walking distance. Only suggestion would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Highly recommended excellent stay! Hello sueprc and thanks for the review about our central Christchurch accommodation option. As you mentioned, we are in a good location and its easy to walk to the central city must see places and also close to a good range of restaurants, including some of Christchurch's most popular. Great that you were able to make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay