We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 Christchurch hotels

CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

4.5 of 5 Motel   |   859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added CentrePoint on Colombo Motel to your Saves list
98%
Ranked #2 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Grandpa284 Berkeley, California
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    137
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
356
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (618)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (189)
All months
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Christchurch is a town waiting to be rebuilt. Many roads closed, many buildings in ruins. Nevertheless, here is where one tends to start a tour of the South Island. And this is the place to stay, while in town. They have thought of everything. Our unit included a living room, a bedroom and a bathroom. The living room had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Look no further for accommodation in Christchurch! Our overseas flight was to have arrived into Christchurch at 2.30pm but was delayed by twelve hours! During this time an elderly relative who had travelled independantly to Christchurch was made to feel comfortable with every need taken care of - thank you so much Jeff! This was a difficult situation trying to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent our first night in NZ here before starting our camper van adventure. It is very clean, quiet and and has everything one needs for a comfortable stay. Jeff was a great host and made us feel right at home. It's just a short walk to the downtown area and the container mall and a little bit more of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the CentrePoint on Colombo the first night we arrived in NZ, we decided that if we liked it, we would stay there again for our final night. From our arrival, Jeff was very helpful with maps, suggestions where to eat, places we should see in the city. Our hire car had wet backseats from its clean (only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello there MazziePF and thanks to you to for bookending your NZ South Island Holiday with us in the centre of Christchurch City. Must say that I love the Hello Kitty! Thanks for covering off all the many things that you liked....and the story re car, the car, and then again the car! It was like the story that kept... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Started and ended our New Zealand trip at Christchurch .Motel is at a great location with many dining options and the botanical gardens within walking distance. Room are comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Alvin T and thanks indeed for bookending your NZ South Island holiday with us. Great to hear that you'd had a most wonderful time on your return to us before flying home. Thanks for pointing out that there are a great range of restaurants within walking distance especially some of the most popular in Christchurch on Victoria St. Thanks... More

Washington, DC
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our friendly host helped us arrange some amazing Pedro's House of Lamb (separate review for that) and map out a nice little self-guided walking tour of downtown Christchurch. He also provided us with an awesome map that detailed EVERYTHING that we could possible need during our stay (e.g., restaurants, bars, dry cleaning, grocery stores, etc.). There were also countless little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review with the room pic Don N. That must be your Pedro's House of Lamb lamb on the table in the pic. Lamb in a beer box - one of the culinary delights in Christchurch! Great to see you loved the room,our style of hospitality and those little eco touches we have in the rooms. Great that... More

Bega, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed our first 2 nights in NZ at this motel and it was a wonderful introduction to Kiwi hospitality. Prior to our visit, Jeff had emailed and given instructions for our late night arrival from Australia and organised our airport shuttle for us. The rooms were fantastic, everything you could need at your fingertips. Jeff and Naomi where only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lindy K and thanks for the review after staying with us, starting with the late arrival, at the start of your holiday! Late arrivals are no problem, just so long as they are all organised in advance. Great to see you loved our motel and style of hospitality. Yes! We are just a short walk from the very centre... More

Darley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

City location and is very comfortable. Restaurants not too far away. Staff very helpful with no dramas encountered. Would stay again without hesitation. It's a pity that the main centre of Christchurch is still suffering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Glenn R and thanks for taking the time to submit your review. Short and sharp with the main aspects covered off! Yes, Christchurch is still doing it hard after the quakes but!!! it is important to come see what has happened and how the city is coming back - so yes! Stay in central Christchurch when you do! We... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I choose CentrePoint on Colombo on the basis of reviews form fellow TA writers and was pleased to find that the place lives up to its reputation. Jeff, the owner could not be more helpful and his wealth of knowledge both conveyed at check in and as supplied by the in room guide was fantastic. As I was only staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there Fairfield and thanks for the review after reading other reviews and deciding to stay with us. Great to see we lived up to your expectations and you could write a review that will no doubt encourage others to stay with us - the ultimate compliment! It was a privilege to host you at the start of your holiday... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No dramas here. Arrived early in the morning and had the keys left out awaiting us. Jeff even sent us a SMS confirming details of the keys location etc, which was most helpful as we were on the move and had sporadic access to email etc. His advice on places to eat and city highlights were also bang on and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello mjk_mantis and thanks for taking the time to review us after staying at the start of your South Island Holiday. Yes, out of office hour arrivals are no problem so long as we are notified like you did. Also, thanks for commenting on the comfort of the bed like many other of our reviewers!! Great to hear you had... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay