We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Christchurch hotels

CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

4.5 of 5 Motel   |   859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Gym & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added CentrePoint on Colombo Motel to your Saves list
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
98%
Ranked #1 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Paws W Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Reviews (580)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    125
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
337
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a fantastic stay. Bed the most comfortable one I have slept in at a motel. Fantastic to have a television in the bedroom. Well serviced and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Well located and close to lots of great restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter, granddaughter and I stayed a night and were delighted with the rooms we had. The units are clean and airy with very comfortable beds. I have not really seen around the city for a year or more and was somewhat moved as I drove through to see all 7 sites empty where mat workplace formerly stood. I reflected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here at the end of our NZ trip. One of the best motels we stayed in during our entire holiday. Very comfortable rooms, well appointed. Good location to the city centre which needs to be seen to appreciate the destruction caused by the earthquakes. Staff were very helpful and their map of the area invaluable. Highly recommended and would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Mike8516 and thanks for taking the time to review our accommodation option. Thanks for putting us up there as one of the best motels you've stayed in during your entire holiday - that's quite an accolade to get but since it was your last stay in NZ I guess you are well placed to judge. Great to see you... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped here before heading to Dunedin and it was excellent, really clean, modern, close to everything in town ! We even had a free upgrade for our room that was really cool ! Do not hesitate to ask the Manager for some advices to visit the city and find good restaurants ! My review is pretty basic but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello kiwivolant822 and thank you for making use of our "look after your Unicorn while you go for a walk around town" service. We have had this service available to guests for some time but your are the first to make use of this service - congratulations on being the first! Hope you had a look at the pic on... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This motel has nice rooms and a great location but what makes it really stand out is the helpfulness of the managers, Jeff and Naomi. They will make time to help you find whatever you are looking for. Ask for the special list of restaurants they have compiled.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello there LarryKSanJose and thanks for the review after staying with us, bookending your South Island holiday. Great that you were comfortable coming back to us at the end of your holiday after your initial stay - that's one of the best compliments we can get. Yes, we do take pride in helping people find just what they are after... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I really enjoy staying here. Great people, great service, nice and comfortable rooms. Especially love the dedication these guys have to put into sustainability ! Love the guest recycling packs you hand out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello there Angiebaur and thanks for reviewing us after staying with us while in Christchurch on business. Yes, we do put a lot of effort into our eco efforts as we believe that its best to do as much as we can. One angle we promote is for the guest to be able to separate their rubbish in a way... More

Takoma Park, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the CentrePoint on April 14 - which is not high season. Although the room was nice, we were overcharged. We thought we had booked through a hotel website for a family of 4, but when we arrived we learned that we had inadvertently booked just for 2. The owner informed us to add our two children in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Bradley B, it is regrettable that you accuse us of overcharging when we negotiated a price in good faith and you signed the registration form indicating your acceptance of the price. It is also regrettable that you blame us for your itinerary malfunction. You booked a 2 person room for 4 persons one month prior to arrival. No-one can book... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our first stop in New Zealand, after a 20 hour flight and we were pleased with the accommodations and the reviews were correct. Very clean, great location, and very nice hosts! I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Einfach and thanks for the review after staying with us for the first night of your NZ holiday. Thanks for the recommendation after finding that the reviews were correct, liking our style of hospitality location and in general, what we do! More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our arrival to christchurch. Motel is in a good location and close to the city centre.Room are spacious, and comfortable and everything you can think of is provided even the cookies whih were a nice touch. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello donny15 and thanks for the review after spending the first night of your holiday with us! Great to see you liked everything you found and that all you needed was there! We look forward to you staying with us again if you have the chance! More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, it is in a good location relative to the city centre. The rooms are nice and clean although similar to another comment our room also had a bad smell which took about a day to clear. The motel seems to be quite environmentally conscious also as you get a recycling container and a biodegradable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello csmurf and thanks you for reviewing us. Great that you found our location to be good and thanks for taking the time to appreciate our in room recycling system. Our local Council offers us the options and so we have designed a way to take that option into guest rooms for guests who feel it is important to separate... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to CentrePoint on Colombo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch #1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch #4 Family Hotel in Christchurch #5 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer