We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leeways

33 Landsdowne St, Blenheim, New Zealand
Leeways
Share an Experience

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (8)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I like here very much. I came back here three times. Because here is like a dormitory or a big family home. And people are very kind and friendly especially the managers.( If you have a problem, just ask them. They would readily help you.) And also it keeps to clean and tidy at all times.( If you found a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an awesome stay at Leeway's! Nightly activities, clean facilities, and very nice staff. What else can you ask for? (Also, there's 3 bathrooms, unlike the previous review :) ) We also had fun at the BBQ in the back yard and hanging out in "the shed"! We would definitely stay here again on our next time in Blenheim.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We did not enjoy our stay at Leeways - really it is a hostel for those working in the area long term than for travelers. The most poorly equipped hostel we have stayed in so far, and very inattentive management. We were unfortunate enough to visit at the weekend when the workers were drinking and going out, which did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangaroa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed the one night but would definitely come back, the managers were super friendly and helpful, the place was clean and homely and the beds were really comfortable. Nice paintings on the doors and things was cool. The only thing I didn't like was the bathroom arrangement, the showers were in the communal bathroom and didn't have locks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed here for almost 4 months. The atmosphere is great (small hostel --> everybody comes in contact with everybody) and the managers asists you with finding work. The weekends in the partygarage have been always much fun (legendary beerpong matches and so on). The bathrooms are a bit small but clean. Same as the kitchen! i'm sure you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

What a fantastic place to base yourself at when you are working and travelling around NZ. I had a great time here and met such wonderful people. Paul & Chrissy (the owners) where my Kiwi Mum & Dad and I miss them so much. Can't wait to come back for a visit. Leeways is a young friendly place where everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nz
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Warning to all backpackers When I called to make a reservation to stay here while backpacking around I was rudely told that because I was from New Zealand I couldn't stay in this hostel. But shouldnt all backpackers be allowed to stay? Dont go to this discriminating hostel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeways-Management, Manager at Leeways, responded to this review

Although this was almost 2 years ago, I thought a response was in order. Despite the review Leeways do allow Kiwis to stay, although we don't take reservations for anyone. You must come on the day (or call us) to see if we have space. As for the rudeness, I apologize on behalf of the Managers at the time and... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2005

If you have to work, come to Blenheim and stay here. This is a well run hostel with 2 staff members who will look after you and who make it feel like staying with family not in a hostel. It is kept clean at all times, and they frown upon those who don't do their washing up, which is great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question