We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Marlborough

Hotel website
Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau Marlborough
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    167
    127
    57
    15
    7
See reviews for
34
216
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (373)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Barcelona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Blenheim is a lovely town for an evening stroll after dinner. The hotel offers good food and it is clean and has friendly staff. We didn't take breakfast - we decided to take a stroll into the town (flat walk) and eat at one of the local diners. A perfect spot to stop when you get off the ferry at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was excellent - plenty of room, very clean and beautifully furnished and laid out. Good wifi connections. Staff were very friendly. Couple of suggestions 1) the TV was tuned to the Aus racing channel instead of NZ & staff were unable to change it (we were visiting Blenheim for a racing weekend!) 2)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Hi Mary. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. It was lovely to read that you found your accommodation met your expectations and the staff were friendly, they work hard to achieve this feedback. I am sorry that the Chanel was on Australia racing, this is odd as we have trackside channel... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights and were a little disappointed by the hotel. The bathroom in particular was equivalent to 3 star motel accommodation. We should have stayed somewhere less expensive because it wasn't value for money. It was clean however and the staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Janet. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation choice which didn't have the refurbished bathroom. As advised we have many other accommodation options that have new luxury bathrooms. In the Classic Studios that you chose we are still completing these and have kept the rate reflective. I am pleased that you... More 

Waikuku Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay for our overnighter in Blenheim and within walking distance to restaurants & bars. The in-house restaurant had an appealing menu although we only stayed for a drink. Reception was friendly & efficient, & our room was clean and comfortable. I particularly appreciated the mini recycling station in the bathroom - it is good to see an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Molly. Thank you for your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that all met your expectations. It is always good to be able to pass this feedback onto the staff who made your stay more enjoyable. Next time you may be able to dine in Quench which is a very popular restaurant.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Blenheim for the Food and Wine festival and our booked accommodation at another hotel fell through. We arrived at the Chateau Marlborough after locals suggested we go there and the staff were so helpful and offered us a room for the night while we sorted out what had happened. We ended up staying here for most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with others on your stay with us over wine and food festival weekend. This is such an awesome weekend. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we were able to help when your other option fell through. It is always... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its on the bank of Lake Taupo with a scenic view. I was there for a night only with my family. Have hired a two bed room apartment. it was cozy & nice with friendly staff. they dont have room service buy the tiiny town has plenty of good resturants for food. Dixi's Brown is one among them for wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you but you have the wrong property . Regards Lynley Mckinnon General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon booking I had a look on this website to see what i was in for. The last two comments unsettled me a little... however... As soon as i walked in, i was more than pleasantly surprised with the 5 star property. It is "sheek" and classy. Very inviting after a tumultuous ferry trip. Our room was stunning. half of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Matty. thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. It was wonderful to read that the Chateau exceeded your expectations in all areas. This is generally what our guests feel about their stay with us. We do strive to achieve this. We do look forward to having you stay with us again. Thanks again... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was fine for a nights stay.... but really is there anything boutique about in this region??? NZ hotels are trapped in a 1990s (the bathroom in this place 70s) time warp. None of them have functioning wifi or think outside of the box a little when it comes to hospitality. You have the name Chateau, it's French, play... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Martina. " Fab in Blenheim" interesting title. Many of our guests think Blenheim is Fabulous I am sorry to read that you didn't. The room type you booked was a Classic Studio, as you would read in other responses from myself we are going through a bathroom upgrade in this room type and have kept the rate reflective. There... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hate to write bad reviews but I was really disappointed in this Hotel as I was expecting five star. Was really let down by the bathroom. Very old 70's shower with marked stained mirror, very pokey. Only had 5 channels on sky, room was very small and cramp . Some lights did not work in the room. In fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa, thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments. You booked one of our classic suites which are currently going through a bathroom refurbishment. We have kept the rate reflective of this. I am sorry that you didn't book one of our other room types which I am certain would... More 

Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Hotel is located right in the middle of Blenheim within walking distance of shops and restaurants with easy to access to the highways. Staff were very welcoming and the hotel has ample parking. We stayed in a Classic Studio which was well appointed with plenty of space and a very cleverly designed kitchenette area. Also has a good guest laundry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Jim, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chateau Malrborough Hotel. Your comments are what the staff strive hard to achieve. It was also great the you found the accommodation and facilities met your needs. We do hope to see you again . Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay