We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Marlborough

Hotel website
Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
$25.00 F&B VOUCHER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau Marlborough
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    116
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
200
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (347)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
sha tin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a suite there whilst travelling on business, planning to spend some of the weekend relaxing. On arrival the receptionist was curt and hardly what could be described as welcoming. The suite as excellent with all the amenities you could wish for, there is no doubt the owners have invested a great deal of time, energy and money in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice staff, nice rooms, all the ammedities needed. Even phone chargers! Thought the mini bar prices were high..water only 4 and Pringles $6, crazy! Good location. Tried to orders room service and was told restaurant was closed for the evening...should have been told that upon arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you found the accommodation met your expectations. I was sorry to read that it wasn't well enough communicated to you re the restaurant being closed for a private function, I do hope you enjoyed a short walk to our CBD to... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with nice pool area. The restaurant is small but very, very good. As the commercial area of Blenheim is a bit boring, we were happy that the hotel restaurant was so good as there didn't seem to be a lot of other places in the town itself to have a nice dinner. The wineries are a different story... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was great to read that your stay with us met your expectations. Quench restaurant has won the beef and lamb award for the second year running and the other menu options certainly showcase the wonderful local produce. The local wineries certainly... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Walked to everything, staff recommended and arranged Bubbly Grapes WineTour (excellent!) and several restaurants that made out two night visit to Blenheim an excellent experience. Quiet rooms, great bed, special pillows free on request, free wifi - all great for our two night stay. Bath room was quirky, but kitchen with sink, fridge, cook took, microwave and other kitchen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. It was great to read that it met your expectations and some. ! I will be sure to pass this onto the team. We love to have guests endorse what we work so hard to achieve in customer service and with our facilities here at the Chateau Marlborough.... More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here for three nights. The room was a good size, but as reported by many others the bathroom needed sorting! The staff were very helpful, the rooms were cleaned each day and we had a good stay. The breakfast was a little disappointing, only two choices of cereal and on one morning we had to ask for more bread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you, yes the bathroom upgrade will be great once completed in October 2015.I Do apologise that you had to ask for bread , I have noted this and will discuss with staff. Your comments re the Laundry, we do offer this complimentary to guests to use between the hours of Midday and 8.00 pm. On occasions outside of these... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay in this hotel. The location is perfect for discovering the wine region and next door to the town centre with good restaurants and shopping. The room itself was fantastic and we were lucky to get room no. 10 which is apparently bigger by default in comparison to others. The only recommendation would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the accommodation and facilities met your expectations. The staff work hard to achieve this feedback and I will be sure to pass this onto the team. Thanks again. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon General Manager More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel felt like it had been half remodelled! Our room had a nice main room with kitchenette and work space!!! But.... Walk in the bathroom and separate loo and it was like stepping back to a 1960's drivein motel!! The step in bath shower had no hand rail for comfort of stepping in and out! The shower head was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback. I do note your comments re the bathrooms and as previously commented the bathroom upgrade in this room type is due to be completed in October 2015. This will certainly be welcomed by guests , staff and management. We have been mindful of this and reflected it in the reduced room rate. There is still... More 

Perth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large, comfortable and well equipped room but a very dated bathroom in need of renovation. The absence of a safe was also disappointing. The hotel is on a fairly busy road so choose your room carefully. It makes a great base from which to explore the Marlborough region and it's an easy walk into Blenheim. The swimming pool is an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. It is great news that the bathroom upgrade will be completed in October 2015 which is fabulous news for our guests. Yes the pool is superb during our hot summer months. We do hope you get to come back and enjoy the completed upgrade. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon General Manager More 

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a disappointing visit as the hotel seemed totally ill equipped to offer anything in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast that was suitable for a coeliac on a gluten free diet. The chef seems to have set out to create a menu with very little opportunity to be adapted for my wife's needs - so unusual for New... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read your feedback re the restaurant. We certainly do offer options for diners with dietary requirements, I am sorry that on this occasion this wasn't communicated to you. I have spoken to the team re your comments. Re the bathrooms these are due to be completed in October then all our room types... More 

Burghclere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we had was well appointed and contained everything we required. The staff went out of their way to help us. The restaurant food was very good albeit service was slow when it was full. We could not have wished for any better hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback re the Chateau Marlborough and the staff who aspire to deliver excellent service. We do hope that you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us again. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question