We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Marlborough

5.0 of 5 Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast upgrade
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau Marlborough
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    98
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
25
172
24
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
napier
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was looking forward to a five star bathroom. This bathroom was two star and how this property was rated five star I do not know . The service and faclities were Ok and the location close to town was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I do appreciate your comments re the bathrooms, however we are in the process of a bathroom upgrade on this room type. We do have many other suite options with luxury bathrooms. We have been very careful to advise guests through our website and directly that the bathrooms in... More 

Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Chateau Marlborough for one day when we also planned to do Wine Tours by Bike. Rooms were nice with a separate kitchen room. Pool area was nice. Location was good - we could walk to "downtown" for food and shops. We were also able to get pickup for our wine tour from the hotel. Would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. Our location to the CBD certainly is a bonus. It was great to read that you were out enjoying some of what Marlborough has to offer and that you would stay with us again. We do hope to see you back at the Chateau Marlborough. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon General... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really good experience staying at Chateau Marlborough. We were originally placed in an un-renovated room, but the bathroom developed a leak. The staff was profusely apologetic and immediately moved us to a very large, recently remodeled suite. It was a lovely experience from that point on - the room was great and the amenities in the kitchenette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for our feedback . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to our Grande Studio suite after a small problem in your bathroom. Our Classic suite rooms have been refurbished in 2007, however the bathrooms were not, we are in the process of a bathroom upgrade currently and the rate is reflective of this until... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful time at the Chateau Marlborough where we stayed when we when down to visit family. The location is perfect central township and they have plenty of parking so at the end of a busy day you can park right near your room. Their management and staff are lovely and more than happy to help with any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests stay met or exceeded their expectations, on this occasion it has and I will be sure to pass this onto the team. We do look forward to welcoming you back at the Chateau Marlborough on your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the penthouse at the Chateau as it was a fun but economical way for our friends and us to stay together, and it was a fabulous experience. The apartment is spacious with a fully functioning kitchen, and an outdoor deck, perfect for entertaining. Perhaps a clothes washing machine in the kitchen could fill some of the unnecessary cupboard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you, the Penthouse is always a treat for our guests. It was disappointing to read that your venison was not tender, this is a very popular dish in Quench Restaurant, I will be sure to pass this onto our Executive Chef. The pop you heard when the wait staff opened the bottle of Shiraz was from the bottle being... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while in the area. I picked this hotel on Trip Advisor just over 171 on high because the rooms were upgraded. Though I would still give the other place a try. We ended up meeting the owner who was pretty cool. When we checked into our room, it definitely did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and upgrading from our lead in room to a suite. The pillow menu is warmly welcomed by our guests. I wasn't pleased to read your comments re the stain on the comforter, I... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was very happy with the experience overall. The standard rooms are let down by the bathrooms. Shower over bath with a sad looking shower-head and a shower curtain. Worth paying for the superior rooms if staying. Not far from Motel prices but a much better experience. Food was good but room service menu does not include desert. Restaurant staff failed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed your experience at the Chateau Marlborough. I note your comments re the bathrooms , we are in the process of bathroom upgrades in the classic room type and we have reflected this in the room rate. We have many accommodation options with luxury bathrooms. The pillow menu is... More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The chateau Malborough is an interesting little hotel. Upon arrival, the facade, lobby and restaurant give the impression of a contemporary hotel with an upscale style, but the rooms, although nicely appointed, still have the bones of an older hotel, including a key. When you arrive, you are met by a friendly staff who understand the hospitality business. They are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you, it was lovely to read that you found the staff met your expectations with their knowledge and customer service, they work hard to achieve this. We are always in the process of updating our accommodation facilities and servcies to improve the guest experience and take all feedback given to the discussion table. We do hope you are able... More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Lovely hotel in the heart of town. The rooms were huge with a kitchenette and living space. We didn't eat at the hotel at all because there were a number of bars and restaurants a short walk away. There was a Count Down (Supermarket) around the corner that sold everything from fireworks to alcohol. The hotel was quiet, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location and facilities met your expectations. Being so close to the CBD everything is accessible. I do hope you get to stay with us again. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon... More 

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We found a blood stain in our pillow case and a damp smell in the room. Since it was just a night and it was a bit late we didn't bother to complain and made do but we were disappointed as we had high expectations since this was meant to be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your feedback. It was extremely disappointing to read your comments . It was also disappointing to read that we had not been notified at the time of your stay so we could of rectified any issues that you had . These are not the standards that we set here at the Chateau Marlborough Hotel . Certainly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#8 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Business Hotel in Blenheim

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay