We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Marlborough

5.0 of 5 Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast upgrade
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chateau Marlborough
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    96
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
170
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the penthouse at the Chateau as it was a fun but economical way for our friends and us to stay together, and it was a fabulous experience. The apartment is spacious with a fully functioning kitchen, and an outdoor deck, perfect for entertaining. Perhaps a clothes washing machine in the kitchen could fill some of the unnecessary cupboard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you, the Penthouse is always a treat for our guests. It was disappointing to read that your venison was not tender, this is a very popular dish in Quench Restaurant, I will be sure to pass this onto our Executive Chef. The pop you heard when the wait staff opened the bottle of Shiraz was from the bottle being... More

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while in the area. I picked this hotel on Trip Advisor just over 171 on high because the rooms were upgraded. Though I would still give the other place a try. We ended up meeting the owner who was pretty cool. When we checked into our room, it definitely did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and upgrading from our lead in room to a suite. The pillow menu is warmly welcomed by our guests. I wasn't pleased to read your comments re the stain on the comforter, I... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was very happy with the experience overall. The standard rooms are let down by the bathrooms. Shower over bath with a sad looking shower-head and a shower curtain. Worth paying for the superior rooms if staying. Not far from Motel prices but a much better experience. Food was good but room service menu does not include desert. Restaurant staff failed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed your experience at the Chateau Marlborough. I note your comments re the bathrooms , we are in the process of bathroom upgrades in the classic room type and we have reflected this in the room rate. We have many accommodation options with luxury bathrooms. The pillow menu is... More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The chateau Malborough is an interesting little hotel. Upon arrival, the facade, lobby and restaurant give the impression of a contemporary hotel with an upscale style, but the rooms, although nicely appointed, still have the bones of an older hotel, including a key. When you arrive, you are met by a friendly staff who understand the hospitality business. They are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you, it was lovely to read that you found the staff met your expectations with their knowledge and customer service, they work hard to achieve this. We are always in the process of updating our accommodation facilities and servcies to improve the guest experience and take all feedback given to the discussion table. We do hope you are able... More

Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in the heart of town. The rooms were huge with a kitchenette and living space. We didn't eat at the hotel at all because there were a number of bars and restaurants a short walk away. There was a Count Down (Supermarket) around the corner that sold everything from fireworks to alcohol. The hotel was quiet, the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location and facilities met your expectations. Being so close to the CBD everything is accessible. I do hope you get to stay with us again. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon... More

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We found a blood stain in our pillow case and a damp smell in the room. Since it was just a night and it was a bit late we didn't bother to complain and made do but we were disappointed as we had high expectations since this was meant to be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your feedback. It was extremely disappointing to read your comments . It was also disappointing to read that we had not been notified at the time of your stay so we could of rectified any issues that you had . These are not the standards that we set here at the Chateau Marlborough Hotel . Certainly... More

christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great staff and lovely room. We were upgraded due to a minor issue with our room into a suite. Clean, comfy bed and great location. Had the best night sleep! The staff were very helpful, i would definately stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed your suite upgrade and that the staff made your stay a pleasurable one , I will be sure to pass this onto the team who do work hard to achieve this. We would love to see you back... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in an Executive Suite for a weekend getaway, very clean and tidy. The size of the room was great we had a corner room which made the room feel even bigger. Huge bed & good size bathroom with big shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We didnt eat at the restaurant. Good location would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. The executive suites are very unique and I am so pleased that you enjoyed. I will be sure to pass your comments to our team who work hard to achieve this. We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marlborough. Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon General... More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place in a great location. Staff were helpful, the hotel is very well presented, clean and tidy. The room was lovely, the bathroom was a little dated but functioned just fine. The pool looked beautiful however I didn't use it myself, same for the in-house restaurant. I would happily stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your stay with us. The Chateau is a lovely place to stay and exlore the Marlborough region. The bathroom upgrade on our classic suites is in progress and we look forward to a completion on that very soon. We do hope to see you again at the Chateau. Kind... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything honestly described, no surprises. Good, clean and comfortable. Great location for town centre and restaurants. Very good experience, would definitely stay again. Bed may be a bit soft for some.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Highly recommended is always a satisfying heading for myself and my team here at the Chateau Marlborough. We do try hard to achieve these results and certainly on this occasion we did. I will be sure to pass this onto the team. Please stay with us again on your... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay