We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 713 South Island hotels

Glacier View Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   State Highway 6 | Franz Josef, 7856, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Glacier View Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Glacier View Motel to your Saves list
78%
Ranked #369 of 713 Hotels in South Island
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014
barossabazz Tanunda
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Tanunda
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Only stayed 1 night and the weather was terrible but the room was ok, good bed, clean and tidy, plenty of space, helpful staff, nice and quiet, close to the town. Its certainly no 5 star hotel but for what it is was more than good enough for a short stay. would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this beautiful motel. Lovely rooms in a very quiet position. Plenty of room for the kids to stretch their legs without bothering other guests. Short drive into town and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again and we would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Fox Glacier for a heli hike activity. It was just what we needed. The room was clean and the perfect size - it even had a small kitchen area which would have been fabulous if we were staying longer. The bed was specious and complete with a TV. The best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Glad you had a pleasant stay with us at Glacier View Motel and found everything in place to make you feel comfortable and rested. As our refurbishing continues we endeavour to include as much as possible for the guests consideration. Hope your NZ holiday has provided you with heaps of happy memories. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We arrived at this motel on 27th jan 2014. Booked in,sat outside our room and immediately got heaps of sand fly bites. We went in the room where it was quite warm and stuffy so we naturally assumed that there would be fly screens because it was obviously a sand fly area. There weren't.. There was no extractor fan in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Glacier View Motel.We have given this much thought and have decided to leave it to our reviewers/readers to form their own opinions of Glacier View facilities and management.However, we have included an ancient Maori myth which you may find interesting. "Early Maori legend even has it that the god Tu-te-raki-whanoa... More

Banff, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Such a lovely couple that own and operate this business, would recommend, it was exactly what we wanted and a amazing view of the Glacier!!! Would return in a heat beat and next time i may steal there cute dog.. Just as a hint to the business they may want to invest in some non stick cook wear.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Glacier View, appreciate your comments.Kate usually manages to become everyones friend.We have in the past supplied non stick cook ware but unfortuately it does become very easily damaged when sharp knives etc are used on them!! Hope the rest of your holiday was a wonderful experience. More

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

LOCATION: A short 3 min drive / 15 min walk to the townsite. TIDINESS: Very clean STYLE: Traditional, compact rooms. Somewhat dated but comfortable. STAFF: Sue is very friendly and talkative. She offers excellent excursion and dining options based on your budget and will even book them for you upon request. COMMENTS: The motel doesn't offer a view of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our stay was in a comfortable good sized room which was clean and quiet and the staff (owners?) were very friendly. We were a little disappointed that there wasn't actually a view of the glacier from any of the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
glacierviewmotel, Owner at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and glad you had a comfortable time, however we are a little alarmed at your comment regarding "No view from any of the rooms" when in fact all but three rooms have stunning views of the Cruz Glacier and upper region of the Franz Josef Glacier.The solution for... More

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had been camping in Milford Sound and the coast then stopped at this place. The owner was nice and informative, a bit more talkative. The rooms were clean, modern and quite. The owners even had a nice dog, she stayed with the owners, not in the rooms. Town was a short drive or a 20 minute walk. The glacier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nevada City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent two very comfortable nights at the Glacier View Motel earlier this month (February 2014). The room was clean, well serviced, and quiet. Bruce and Sue, our hosts, were warm and friendly - but the real charm of the place goes to the house lab, who seems to take pride in saying hello to all the guests. The motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glacierviewmotel, Owner at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and glad you found everything satsifactory, the distance from the town centre works to our advantage in offering a restful setting. Hope the remainder of your NZ hloiday was an enjoyable experience. More

Manchester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked this place last minute - was disappointed. For the price we paid I thought the motel was very poor, room was old fashioned, bed linen old, pillows ancient and damp smelling/old/very well used. Bathroom was like a plastic drop in module ... Basic The motel has no view of the glacier ( I understand why ... But that's not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
glacierviewmotel, Owner at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for commenting on your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments and shall endeavour to address the issues raised. Hope your time in NZ was all you hoped for. More

Do you own or manage Glacier View Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Glacier View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier View Motel

Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef, 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glacier View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier View Hotel South Island

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Glacier View Motel