We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Wellington

Certificate of Excellence
75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Wellington
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    426
    134
    38
    12
See reviews for
149
431
48
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1021)
  • Mar-May only
    (314)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (175)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (263)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (269)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very noisy - room 801, was kept awake for most of the night. When we checked out we were asked how our stay was, we said average and the room was noisy, the front desk staff never blinked an eyelid - they didn't give a damn or maybe they knew the room next to a cupboard and elevator was noisy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed four days for a weekend away. The staff are friendly. The food is amazing. The view is incredible. The location is ideal. Short walk to shops and water front cafes. Have to throw in a special mention to the chefs. The food was incredible. This is where I will be staying when I return to Wellington.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua District, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well kept tidy hotel, we stayed in the 17th floor which offered great views of the water front. Parking is over priced at $30 a day - it would be OK if you could quickly park your vehicle but the loading area out frount where you leave your vehicle is full of taxis, you have to keep circling the block.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Jim, Thank you for the review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - the 17th floor definitely provides an amazing view! We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our parking services however. Unfortunately the loading zone does often have taxis, but we do try and move them along as soon as possible so... More 

Levin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in room with King size bed with views over the harbour, very clean. walking distance to shops, restaurants, railway station. Only issue is car parking. I can highly recommend staying at this Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay with us, and could make the most of our prime location to explore Wellington. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, ^CH More 

Kiwi Kid, Auckland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have stayed here a few times now as a Priority Guest Rewards member and things are slipping. It was 2pm and we couldn't get in to our room (policy says 3pm so not a complaint) so left bags with desk. Room was on the 14th floor - had issues with cards not working (as did others in the queue for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a wholly enjoyable experience, and for this please accept our apologies. We take feedback very seriously, even more so when it comes from a repeat Guest such as yourself. We will be... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our 6 night stay did not live up to our expectations of a hotel of this price. We had a twin room and loved the 2 queen size beds, but the angle of one of the beds (due to shape of room) was odd. We had difficulty getting some of the special requests. It took 4 nights to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I think is a good hotel. Good instalations. The pool is in a space something closed but its good. A very good restaurant. In the night try to be hosted by Camila. The romos are quite small but they are fine. Good quality for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and made full use of our award winning restaurant Portlander. I will pass on your kind words to Camila, who I'm sure will be pleased to hear them! Thank you again and we look forward to... More 

Auckland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

stayed the weekend a week ago. As expected room was clean, not particularly spacious and comfortable. Didn't use any of the hotel facilities. Having a fridge, micro and hot plates is very good. You can walk most places from Rydges and that is its distinguishing feature. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and were able to make the most of our convenient location to explore Wellington on foot. Looking forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, ^CH More 

Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rydges .... Wellington. The room was comfortable with a Harbourside view. But what it lacked was a couple of things. The room was dirty in places, the staff haven't cleaned too well the mini bar tray, this had dust that you could write your name in. Lack of tea towels, sink cloths, none. My partner had special things organised for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
auckland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently stayed 2 lots of 2 nights for Business Rooms are clean but not terribly spacious - addequate I would say. Front desk are polite and helpful. Parking is much easier than usual inner city hotels - easier to get in and out (costs extra) Room service was good though desk take a while to answer - I did hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us, but we are disappointed that you weren't 100% happy with your time here. We do hope you'll stay with us again and give us a chance to redeem your view of Rydges! Thank you again for the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question