We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington hotels

Trinity Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Trinity Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Trinity Hotel to your Saves list
54%
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Frances M
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    96
    80
    33
    13
See reviews for
29
99
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a very handy location in central Wellington. The charges are reasonable for such a location. It is fair to say the rooms are a little tired but I found it clean overall and comfortable. The staff were eager to please and helpful. It is due for a refurbishment but I would not let that put you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrancesM, thank you very much for your feedback. Our Hotel is a 3.5 star Qualmark rated hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed the location and our friendly staff. We look forward to having you stay again with us soon. More

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was run down the bathroom was growing mould, dusty corners and skirting's, marks on all the walls and window sills, furniture run down and dirty, carpet was revolting. I would not recommend staying here. I checked out 3 days early because it was such a dive. To there credit they only charged me for the night I stayed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline 54654, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative comments. I am very disappointed to read your comments about the standard of cleanliness in your room. I have spoken with our housekeeping team, we have inspected the room you were in and immediately resolved the issues you have detailed. I can say where the carpet... More

Mangonui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has an excellent location and on the surface looks great, but there was dust on all the skirtings, the corners of the bathroom were very grungy and it was definitely not cleaned to my standards (and I don't think I'm that fussy). I didn't want to walk barefoot across the carpet because it did not seem clean. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garry L, thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed our location. I am very disappointed to hear your comments regarding cleanliness of your Hotel room. Our housekeeping team are very proud of their work however in this instance there appears to be areas they need to improve on. Our Hotel is older,... More

Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in September 2014. Got a room on the sixth floor so street noise wasn't an issue. Yes the double room was small but didnt fall short of our requirements. The room was clean and comfortable and i guess the main reason I picked this hotel was location and price (got a discount with a groupon voucher). Reception staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob from Auckland, thank you for your feedback. Our Groupon voucher was a very popular deal so I am pleased you were among the many that enjoyed this great value for money. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More

Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location walking distance from Cuba street. Our room though was small and looked very old. Windows couldn't open, radiator did not work, furnishing was dark and old fashioned. Gave the whole place a rather creepy feeling. Had a car but parking was not free. Upside was the electric blankets which were quite nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chermayn, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your constructive criticism. Yes location is fantastic. Our Hotel is 3.5 Qualmark rated. Car parking is amongst the cheapest in Wellington at $15 per night and is booked in advance. This is well documented on our website. We only have been afforded a small amount of carparks so this is real... More

Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Wellington for the Wearable Arts and stayed for 2 nights in the Trinity with 2 other groups of friends. Our room was 311, very small and with no room to move. The bed is very close to a very large cabinet which contained a ironing board that was suitable for "childs play". a fan for cooling, but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda B, thank you for your comprehensive review. Our Hotel is a 3.5 star Qualmark rated centrally located CBD Hotel. The rooms are all the same size and the ironing board, cooling fan are standard in all rooms. I did inspect the tea cups and agree, they were slightly discoloured and these have been replaced. The tea and coffee... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great location for exploring Wellington! The bar was a fun place to hang out together at the end of each night (special mention for Shane, the girl behind the bar, who was terrific). Easy walking distance to Cuba, Courtney, and the waterfront - the main 3 areas worth checking out in Wellington, We had a 3 night stay with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Shayne is great and we are very proud of our bar! Location is a major reason our customers like staying with us. I have spoken with our housekeeping team as their standards are very high so the room not being completely clean is disappointing. My apologies for this. Again, thank you for taking the time... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

our party of four had a fabulous time and part of that was the Trinity Hotel.The staff were very friendly, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms lovely. While the rooms were small and the carpet a bit tired, the price was unbeatable and everything was clean. We also had quiet rooms. It was fantastic being able to park the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback. We are constantly looking to provide fantastic value for money at the Trinity Hotel. Our staff are the best, we are very proud of them! We look forward to seeing you back again at our Hotel soon. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the location is the very good!! and staff is very friendly, there are heaps bars and restaurants around. the room itself was small and noisy. the heater was making funny noise, when it was on. lucky me and my boyfriend are fast sleeper. bathroom is clean. OK hotel, if you are a light sleeper, not recommend. if you just stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for providing feedback. Our location is fantastic and our staff always try to make sure our guests are well catered for. Thank you again for the positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Trinity Hotel. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very small room with bare facilities. 4th visit to Wellington, but worst stay. Constructive criticism/suggestions: Bathroom - needs work. The shower was awful. Room 402, from memory. Please get someone to fix the shower. The water poured out of the shower hose & very little made it to the shower head. Thank god it was only one night. Toilet... so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter J, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time at the Hotel. Our Hotel is a 3.5 star centrally located Hotel. Your comments around the toilet are interesting as most of the toilets are the same in the hotel and we have not had any issues previously with the design of these. Our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay