We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trinity Hotel

166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Trinity Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
PierluigiNZ Milan, Italy
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    95
    41
    17
See reviews for
34
119
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
dunedin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When this place first opened it was great but rapidly started looking slightly shabby and is often not cleaned that well. The price is reasonably cheap however there are probably others that compete on price. Terrible for people who use wheelchairs

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kris s Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear your room was not up to our usual high standard of cleanliness. My apologies for this. We are a 3 star plus mid range CBD Hotel and we take pride in our cleanliness of rooms and how our Hotel is presented. We have a wheel chair... More 

Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good position with a good price quality ratio. Room service is good. My room was small but clean only a little bit noisy. only a few block from a pedestrian street. Many restaurants at only few minutes walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PierluigiNZ Thank you very much for providing feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is fantastic and enjoyed by many guests. Thank you again - we hope to see you again soon. Regards - Andrew B More 

Blackheath, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had three rooms and they where all on the same floor, but unfortunately while we there the lift was being repaired and we had to walk, the management had let me know ahead of time, so apart from the four floor climb each time we came back it was ok. The staff where friendly but most seemed to not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PIKMH Thank you for the feedback you have placed. Yes, our lift was having maintenance so thank you for putting up with the climb up the stairs. I am pleased you were well informed regarding this. It is uplifting to hear positive comments about our staff, thank you for these. We look forward to seeing you again soon at... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel hallways are a bit of a rabbit warren so make sure you know your way to the nearest stairwell. Staff all super nice. Perhaps not very prepared for influx of visitors to the city fir ANZAC Day, in fact not sure one lass on front desk even knew what it us. Definitely pay for parking -they only have about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gypsytraveler1952 Thank you for providing feedback. Our small compact CBD hotel can have noise challenges especially during a really busy long holiday weekend. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and the comments about the new Arborist restaurant. We hope to see you again soon at our Hotel. Regards - Andrew B More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived to someone's whisker shavings all over the window sill which were subsequently blown all over the bed by the open window. Electrical fittings were duct taped onto the walls, real safe. Especially in the bathroom. Electrical wires exposed from wall and covered up by furniture. Mould in multiple places in the bathroom. Don't think the shower extractor vent has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny P Thank you for providing feedback. I am extremely disappointed to read your comments in regard to the cleanliness of your room. This has been addressed with our housekeeping team and the issues you have raised have been dealt with. We pride ourselves on a very high standard of cleaning and in this instance, we have let ourselves... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a week here with my grandson, we felt at home immediately This is my second stay and I will certainly be booking with Trinity again for future trips to Wellington. The free wifi was hit with my grandson, the free newspapers that were available in the foyer each morning, the slip of paper with the weather forecast and movie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Slinkyminky2015 Thank you very much for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us. We work extremely hard with our staff to ensure we provide the best possible experience for all our customers. I am delighted you enjoyed the free WiFi which is a real hit with our customers. Thank you again for your positive comments and we... More 

Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location of this hotel brilliant for middle of Wellington. Hadn't booked carpark and need to do so as limited (10-12) spaces however staff very accommodating. Rooms small but clean. No view at all and a little bit of noise as other doors opened and shut but apart from this, very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CamClan Auckland NZ Thank you very much for posting your feed back. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, our location is fantastic and we have many happy repeat customers staying with us based on our location and also our fantastic friendly staff!. We do look forward to hosting you again soon. Regards - Andrew B More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very noisy, mould around the windows, ripped blanket, the replacement blanket was obviously a single on a queen size bed, toilet door catching on the tiles, the toilet was the size for a pre schooler if you were over 6 foot your knees would hit the wall, the shower was fine until it stopped working leaving me all soaped up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AFL fan Thank you for providing feedback. I am disappointed to read your comments. The mould around your windows & ripped blanket are not acceptable. This has been addressed today with the housekeeping team. There was no issue with hot water over the weekend that we are aware of. If your shower did stop working for a while, we... More 

Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Stayed 4 nights, we did ask for a quiet room when we booked. So was not expecting any views etc..Quite a few rooms in a small area, hence the corridors are very narrow.You hear people opening and closing their doors at night.One time I was reading in Bed, when the person closed?/ Shut his door.Wow my head bounced off the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry-Jang Thank you for your feedback. Yes our rooms are compact & the window in your room has been fixed - thank you for bringing this to our attention and our apologies this window did not close properly. We work hard to provide value for money to all our customers and I am pleased you saw value in our... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Stayed on 2 different occasions for work (didn't chose to be there). Dirty, cold rooms, noisy at night (one side of the building the aircon units keep you awake, on the other side street noise is bad with trucks emptying rubbish maybe banging and crashing at 3.30am), mini bar food expired by over 6 months. Some staff are good (especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris O I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay. The rubbish trucks unfortunately do their rounds at this time of the day so like any CBD Wellington Hotel this noise is a constant challenge to manage. I must apologise for the room being dirty. Our housekeeping staff work very hard to ensure our cleaning is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay