We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trinity Hotel

166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Trinity Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Hazel M
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    108
    94
    38
    17
See reviews for
33
115
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights, we did ask for a quiet room when we booked. So was not expecting any views etc..Quite a few rooms in a small area, hence the corridors are very narrow.You hear people opening and closing their doors at night.One time I was reading in Bed, when the person closed?/ Shut his door.Wow my head bounced off the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed on 2 different occasions for work (didn't chose to be there). Dirty, cold rooms, noisy at night (one side of the building the aircon units keep you awake, on the other side street noise is bad with trucks emptying rubbish maybe banging and crashing at 3.30am), mini bar food expired by over 6 months. Some staff are good (especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris O I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay. The rubbish trucks unfortunately do their rounds at this time of the day so like any CBD Wellington Hotel this noise is a constant challenge to manage. I must apologise for the room being dirty. Our housekeeping staff work very hard to ensure our cleaning is... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed for three nights at the Trinity Hotel and were pleasantly suprised. The reception staff were all very friendly and had good knowledge about things to see and do in Wellington. The room was clean and modern - no complaints from us! Great central location and would definately stay here again. Good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel M Many thanks for your feedback Hazel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are very friendly & I am delighted that this shone through. We look forward to you staying with us again soon! Regards - Andrew B More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I planned on staying here for 3 nights but the sheets were dirty, the room was hot and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep for most of the night and we ended up moving to a different hotel ASAP. Don't waste your money here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seanyboy2009 Thank you for providing feed back. I am very disappointed to read your comments. Our receptionist advised me last Thursday of your comment regarding dirty sheets. I accompanied my receptionist to your room to inspect the sheets as we treat this feed back as extremely serious. I can report that the top sheet was pristine clean. The bottom... More 

christchurch nz
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is good for walking to the waterfront and Te Papa. It is a basic hotel, cost $129 a night, and for this you got a comfortable bed, 1 bedside table only,small room, good shower pressure,no toiletries after the first day, no tea and coffee replenishment, poor housekeeping and 2 medium size towels. I did ask for a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelpro5 Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed your room condiments were not replenished, my apologies for this. Our location to Te Papa is great however the Ferry or Rail is a bit far from our Hotel. I do hope you give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Regards - Andrew B More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were wanting a Convenient and cheap hotel to stay in to attend a wedding. It's location and price was fantastic for a wedding at queens wharf. When we got to our room the first thing that hit us was a very musty smell. Once we opened the windows it did seem to disappear. We were in a street side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hunter G Thank you for providing feedback. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the shower cleanliness and I have passed this through to housekeeping to fix this immediately - my apologies. I am pleased however the bed was comfortable. Thank you again for taking the time to place your comments. Regards - Andrew B More 

Santa Clara, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here for a night, but the lift was out of order so we received a discount on the room. That made the price great, especially since we only stayed for a night. Our room didn't have a good view, but the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Feedthesnake Thank you very much for providing feedback. We are delighted your enjoyed our Hotel and that our staff were welcoming and friendly. We do hope that you can make it back to Wellington again soon and see some of the wonderful attractions we have to offer. If you do, please contact us at the Trinity Hotel as we... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like everything else in Wellington it is difficult to get to and if you pass it, it is an ordeal to get back to. I had read an earlier review the mentioned free parking. Not so. I parked down the street in a Wilson garage; the only experience in Wellington worse than the hotel. Overall this is a second rate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill_and_Janet_13 Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback. Directions to our hotel are documented on our website. I have spoken with the young lady who assisted you at reception and we attempted to solve your car parking for you. The Hotel does not have free car parking and car parking needs to be booked... More 

london
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The biggest selling points of this hotel are the location and price. Great central location in Wellington, walking distance to most attractions, shops,bars, restaurants. This hotel is good as a base to explore the city from not for a romantic weekend/ night away. We are tourists therefore it was prefect for our needs as we were not expecting a fancy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L_K1509 Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and staff excellent. The central city parking can be challenging and you did very well to get your car parking all sorted having not booked car parking with us originally. Thank you... More 

London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel is in a good location near restaurants and bars. Easy to get to Wellington sights. To get parking request ahead direct to hotel. We were lucky to get free on street parking close by but this is very limited. Good room and friendly staff and we would use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Dear richardwkirk Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased you enjoyed our Hotel especially the location and great staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yes, the car parking is challenging in Wellington if not pre booked, please contact us prior to your next stay so we can book a car park for you. Regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question