We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

5.0 of 5 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    35
    21
    14
See reviews for
3
33
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Nelson New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had two nights in a double room with ensuite on 3rd floor. The only issues we had with noise was at 6am on Sunday morning from a couple of male guests chatting loudly on our landing for about 10 mins -but you get those types everywhere. The facilities are clean and it's great that a pancake brekkie is included.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice hostel that offers a free breakfast of pancakes and a free evening snack in the accompanying bar. Only issue i had was the key cards for the doors were a little sporadic in their functionality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast and dinner of course! I completely take your point about the key cards, the system is getting quite old now and the keys can be a little high maintenance sometimes. Good news... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were super friendly. We booked a double room with its own bathroom facilities. We don't usually do backpackers, and were quite surprised. Rooms were a good size, extremely clean and fresh. The bar/restaurant next door had great meals that were very cheap. Right in the heart of shops and walking distance to the bay. Only real downside was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us and I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed it. We have a great team here so I will be sure to pass on your comments and I'm glad you found the room clean and fresh and gave you a good... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked my stay online on the website and paid with my credit card a day before I arrived in Wellington, then when I arrived and went to check in they said I had only paid a deposit online and the balance was due, being midnight and I'd been awake for 36 hours I agreed and paid cash. A few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review on your stay with us and I'm sorry about the issues that you experienced. I have contacted you directly with regards to the overcharge on your card but unfortunately have not received a reply as yet, if you could get in touch then I will happily arrange... More

United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with a group from the Kiwi Experience bus, the man on reception was very helpful and checked us all in the same rooms together even though we hadn't made any reservations. There are free pancakes in the mornings and also a free dinner in the bar attached in the evenings, there are also free coffee and tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and get people who are travelling together in rooms together when we can so I'm glad we were able to look after you guys. I do take your point about the kitchen, it's... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

all the staff are so helpful, martijn, clare and angie! cant remember other workers names. close to everything , best hostel in wellington!! get a free dinner in evenings and free pancakes in morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Front Office Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're really proud of our team and hostel and I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you in Wellington again soon. Thanks, Lisa Reception Manager More

Christchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Not a bad hostel. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, and no issues with noise on the top floor. Kitchen doesn't wow, but not too bad. There is a no alcohol policy (not even 1 glass of wine - it is enforced :P but staff were good about it) which is a wee bit of a pain, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will see you back in Wellington again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager. More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The welcome we received was brilliant. The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was great. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with ANY queries we had. We booked a Lord of The Rings tour through them and that was fantastic too! The one downside is that the wifi is rather costly. Free meal between 6-7 every night too!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your time here. We have an awesome team so I'll be sure to pass your comments onto both our Reception and Housekeeping teams. Glad you enjoyed the Lord of the Rings too, we're huge... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

excellent!! very clean and have great facilities! private room is like a hotel room tv ensuite clean bright quiet and peaceful,brand new mattresses plug sockets at sides of beds.staff are the most helpful I've ever met.the kitchen facilities are very spacious with loads of quality utensils and always space plus a well stocked vending machine.location is excellent not a typical... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's so great to hear your comments about the staff, they are an awesome team and I will definitely be passing your comments onto them. Feel free to tell all your friends about us and of... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 via mobile

Advertise free breakfast and dinner. Breakfast: 7:30 to 9:30 All food gone by 8:30 dinner = vegetarian option 2 times per week, oh that's great, I'll just eat twice per week then. Also breakfast and dinner not free as this hostel is $6 per night more expensive than other hostels in the area and I've had bigger snots than the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the free meals offered to you during your stay. This is very surprising as you will see from many of the other reviews these meals are usually very popular. Pancakes are free between 7.30 and 9.30am and I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay