We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington accommodations

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington to your Saves list
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
51%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Karhld Antwerp, Belgium
  • Overview
  • Reviews (128)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
3
28
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a whole day traveling we arrived here, location is great and easy to find :) The staff was very friendly at our check in!! Explained everything, got a voucher for a snack next door... We stayed in a private room which was great! So happy with a comfy bed after a few busy days. The card system to open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A bit of a noisy hostel with the Bar below, Nomads seems to think that every backpacker wants a bar on the ground floor of the hostel. There's more to see of Wellington than just the hostel. The key card system which powers the lights and power points is a hassle sort of thing you would find in 3rd world... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us and I'm sorry to hear that you thought we were nothing special. We work hard to create a good atmosphere about the place and ensure that all of our guests are happy and well looked after. I totally agree about there... More

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Its very central, so street parking and this means early morning 7am or before, 5pm if you catch someone coming out, or 8pm after the 'after work drinks'. But Oriental bay to the east (15min walk) is free parking. So is doable, even for this central location. Free breakfast (cook your own pancakes from their mix) is fantastic and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pancakes are a pretty new addition to the cool things we offer so really glad to hear that they are going down well, it's definitely nice to see a few more people up... More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights during December 2013. I was staying at Xbase earlier but I needed something closer to the ferry boat so it was time to change. The location is great if you want to be closer to the CBD (central business district) and there are heaps more shops. Food is abundant everywhere on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Front Office Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are proud of our hostel and you might like to know that we now offer a free pancake breakfast too! We hope to see you again some time. Thanks! More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here twice in the space of a few weeks. On my first visit I stayed in a 4 bedroom mixed dorm with an ensuite. The second time I visited I was upgraded to a private ensuite double room for the exact same price. Bonus! Helpful, friendly staff, clean rooms and free dinner in the adjoining bar every evening. Couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Front Office Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, So glad you enjoyed our stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nomads wellington is generally a nice hostel, it's very clean, the rooms are very spacious, not over crowded as most hostels are, the bathrooms are clean, and the lounge/kitchen area is great. Free meal is a great idea. My only issue was with certain members of reception staff who seemed to feel helping guests wasn't in their job description. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed our hostel and the facilities, found the place clean and were able to take advantage of the free meal. I'm really sorry to hear that you found the staff unhelpful and really unhappy that they made you feel stupid which is... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay was pretty good, rooms and bathrooms were clean and enjoyed the free dinners. However the customer service was terrible and the most unprofessional I have ever come across. Our room keys stopped working multiple times and the receptionist just argued with us saying we were wrong? after having to actually go to the room and show him they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay because of a member of our staff. As you can see from other reviews this is not the sort of feedback we usually receive so I can assure you this will be dealt with seriously.... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple nights in a six person ensuite. Not sure if the ensuite upgrade was worth it, but it was nice not having to walk down the hall. The shower had good pressure and hot water, but I couldn't turn it on continuously or full power or it would overflow. The beds were extremely squeaky, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review on your stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed our free meal and great location. I'm glad we were able to offer you a free upgraded room but I'm sorry to hear that you had some issues with the shower. Did you speak with the Reception... More

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed at Nomads with three other friends during Easter holiday. The ensuite room was a bit small and we need to tiptoed after we put our luggage on the floor. The bunk beds were fine but we could hardly get a sleep at night because of all the noises from the nearby pubs. The music went on and on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you found the room a little small, we usually find that there is enough room to store bags under the beds but I can understand if you are all getting ready together it might be a bit of a... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here last year with a mate for the Anzac Day AFL game between the Saints and the Swans (recent Anzac Day reminded me of our trip - so April 2013, not May 2013). We had a private room - cozy, but fine for what we wanted (ie, two beds, and our own bathroom). In fact, we went out both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for leaving your review and I'm really glad to hear that you were impressed with us. It was definitely a busy couple of days for us for the AFL last year (and this year for that matter!) but a great atmosphere around the place so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Really glad that you were... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wellington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer