We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

5.0 of 5 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    37
    22
    14
See reviews for
3
35
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

- Nice private room for 85$. - Big bathroom but the shower splashes everywhere the place with a tiny curtain. - Small kitchen with very limited room for placing food and np freezers. - No free parking around but one 25 min walking and only available from 0600 to 0800 (people in the hostels said til 1000 but the ticket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had had a recent stay in another Nomad so chose this one and was not too disappointed. The staff and other residents were social minded and the place was clean and had everything I needed. I had one minor issue at the start but the staff immediately sorted it for me. I got a good sleep. In the end,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two nights in a double room with ensuite on 3rd floor. The only issues we had with noise was at 6am on Sunday morning from a couple of male guests chatting loudly on our landing for about 10 mins -but you get those types everywhere. The facilities are clean and it's great that a pancake brekkie is included.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice hostel that offers a free breakfast of pancakes and a free evening snack in the accompanying bar. Only issue i had was the key cards for the doors were a little sporadic in their functionality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast and dinner of course! I completely take your point about the key cards, the system is getting quite old now and the keys can be a little high maintenance sometimes. Good news... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Staff were super friendly. We booked a double room with its own bathroom facilities. We don't usually do backpackers, and were quite surprised. Rooms were a good size, extremely clean and fresh. The bar/restaurant next door had great meals that were very cheap. Right in the heart of shops and walking distance to the bay. Only real downside was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us and I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed it. We have a great team here so I will be sure to pass on your comments and I'm glad you found the room clean and fresh and gave you a good... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

I booked my stay online on the website and paid with my credit card a day before I arrived in Wellington, then when I arrived and went to check in they said I had only paid a deposit online and the balance was due, being midnight and I'd been awake for 36 hours I agreed and paid cash. A few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review on your stay with us and I'm sorry about the issues that you experienced. I have contacted you directly with regards to the overcharge on your card but unfortunately have not received a reply as yet, if you could get in touch then I will happily arrange... More 

United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed here with a group from the Kiwi Experience bus, the man on reception was very helpful and checked us all in the same rooms together even though we hadn't made any reservations. There are free pancakes in the mornings and also a free dinner in the bar attached in the evenings, there are also free coffee and tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and get people who are travelling together in rooms together when we can so I'm glad we were able to look after you guys. I do take your point about the kitchen, it's... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

all the staff are so helpful, martijn, clare and angie! cant remember other workers names. close to everything , best hostel in wellington!! get a free dinner in evenings and free pancakes in morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Front Office Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're really proud of our team and hostel and I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you in Wellington again soon. Thanks, Lisa Reception Manager More 

Christchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Not a bad hostel. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, and no issues with noise on the top floor. Kitchen doesn't wow, but not too bad. There is a no alcohol policy (not even 1 glass of wine - it is enforced :P but staff were good about it) which is a wee bit of a pain, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave your review and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will see you back in Wellington again in the future. Kate, Hostel Manager. More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The welcome we received was brilliant. The beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was great. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with ANY queries we had. We booked a Lord of The Rings tour through them and that was fantastic too! The one downside is that the wifi is rather costly. Free meal between 6-7 every night too!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review on your recent stay with us and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your time here. We have an awesome team so I'll be sure to pass your comments onto both our Reception and Housekeeping teams. Glad you enjoyed the Lord of the Rings too, we're huge... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay