We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington accommodations

Base Wellington Backpackers

4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Base Wellington Backpackers to your Saves list
Base Wellington Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (153)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • More
true
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    27
    32
    44
See reviews for
1
32
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed there for only one night. Thank goodness I checked in late and out early. The room was a shambles, I got a complete shock when I arrived. Bunks creaked at every movement and the one I slept on had no safety rail. Level 7 showers were much much nicer than level 2's. The kitchen shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The kitchen was absolutely disgusting and was way to small. If you are younger than 25 or you want to party a lot you could consider this place. We choose this place only because YHA was fully booked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at base backpackers Wellington. we really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. We will work through your feedback and improve our facilities provided. Thanks agian, Timo Hummel More

Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Standard base hostel, cheap, stayed on the 6th floor so luckily there are two lifts. Kitchen's ok but had the same people sat in their all day everyday which seemed like people who worked at the hostel. Staff where ok, room was clean, bathrooms are average, although there was a disabled toilet/shower room which was always free and clean. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at base backpackers Wellington. we really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again, Timo Hummel More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at Base Wellington for a weekend away. Location is perfect, just around the corner from the main drag. Staff were super friendly and helpful, and the building has so much character. The room was clean and spacious, and the views were amazing, could see the whole city. Basement bar is a great place to spend an evening, always something... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the windy capital of New Zealand, Timo Hummel More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is without a doubt the worst hostel I have ever booked into. After a long day traveling we were so excited to have showers and relax in our room. Firstly, the staff member checking us in was so rude, we overlooked that and went to our room (6 bed dorm) There was mould covering the wall next to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at base backpackers Wellington. we really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am sorry that you had such a bad experience with us, be assured I am taking your feedback very serious . We are currently refurbishing Base Wellington and hope to see you one day again to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were very disappointed to check in the double ensuite room, we were tired after the long day, but I saw the bathroom light were on and the half of bottle shower(blue color) gel and the soap still in the shower room, no bath mat, no toilet roll, water still in the kettle, broken windows, and the back door still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at base backpackers Wellington. we really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am sorry that you had not the best experience with us, be assured that changes for improvments have been made, Thanks again, Timo Hummel More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we were not impressed at all with this hostel. Although its location is fine, the building is very old, the rooms extremely small and the sheets and toilets quite smelly... we had a 6 bed dorm and we barely could move around with our bags on the floor. The kitchen area was not very organized and we had not room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at base backpackers Wellington. we really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. We will investigate a few comments from your feedback and be assured improvements will be made to decrease the waiting times for the cooking space in the kitchen. Thanks again, Timo Hummel More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was here mostly for business and the location is perfect. I have stayed here for a total of 7 days within a 3 week period. I stayed on the 7th and 8th floors which offer amazing views! If you can stay on the top floor and be there for the sunrise, it is the best view in the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at base backpackers Wellington. we really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am glad you enjoyed our lovely Heritage Building in the center of Courtney precinct , Thanks again for the great feedback, Timo Hummel More

Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The secure women only floor is a fantastic idea! As a more mature traveler I felt very comfortable and safe. Very clean, good facilities and warm as toast. Location is fantastic, right next to Courtney Place restaurants and the harbour. A bit of noise at night but nothing major.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the windy capital of New Zealand, Timo Hummel More

Heerlen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It's a big hostel and there's probably always space if you're looking for a place to stay, but it is not very clean and the atmosphere is quite depressing (dark colours and old furniture). The service is all right, comparable to all the other base hostels in NZ.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Base Wellington Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Base Wellington Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wellington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
285

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer