We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found the staff very helpful and the restaurant food standard fare, however our hotel room was tired, the mattresses uncomfortable and the laundry dryer did not work. Good car parking but a bit tricky with a camper van!

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very handy location to stay. Local amenities were within walking distance, as were attractions such as the cable car and te papa museum. The hotel offered self service laundry facilities so we didn't have to go looking for a laundromat around the city. Staff at reception were extremely helpful with all matters, including suggestions of great restaurants. Free parking was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Serena D
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Wellington. The team will be delighted to hear you found them friendly and helpful. I am also pleased to report we have purchased additional fans for the rooms. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hallway and room smelt of paint very strongly, we got to our room and it was hot and quite small, no air conditioning or fan,and very loud due to having to open the window, which they had complimentary earplugs which was good,the double bed was just two single beds pushed together so they kept slipping apart but all round... More 

Helpful?
Thank nessiexx
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologise that you could smell paint. A refurbishment of the hotel has just been completed and this involved painting a number of our rooms. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Our beds are King split beds and definitely should not be splitting apart. I apologise and will investigate why this was... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would not recommend we have stayed in many Wellington hotels and this was disappointing for us. We arrived after 7pm on a Friday and stayed 2 nights. The receptionist continued what she was doing as we stood there and then was surprised we were checking in. Room and hotel was clean but dated, white stains on the top bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank CheekyChic0
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay. As you will note from other feedback it is very unusual to receive this feedback regarding our receptionists. We normally receive great feedback. I have followed up with our receptionist and she sincerely apologises that she not notice you were waiting... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really amazing stay here. Great cooked breakfast and great wifi. Great value for money as well. The hotel is in the middle of everything and walking distance to Cuba street and the te papa museum. Windows and walls are thin but they provide earplugs for you which really helps!

Helpful?
Thank themusicalyogin
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team will be delighted to hear you had a great stay. I have passed your comments onto the chef. We have recently upgraded our wifi system so I am pleased to receive great feedback regarding wifi. I am also delighted to announce that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme. I am... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is never a 3 and half star hotel. From not being informed no restaurant or bar to no air conditioning or fan. had to sleep with the window open to stay even slightly cool thus had lots of noise from the main road below. Complimentary drink was a tiny bottle of red wine 200ml. I don't even like... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank paulllll527
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I apologise we did not meet your expectation on this occasion. I regret the inconvenience caused with the restaurant being closed for refurbishment. I am pleased to report the restaurant and bar are open again and look great after the refurbishment. The team would have been more than happy to change the complimentary bottle... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a site on line based on some obviously very biased and delusional reviews. When we got the re we immediately left. Lily, at Mercure went out of her way to find us lodging. We would have been deliriously happy to have one night and she pulled off a magician's juggling act to get us the same room in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marietta O
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We have an internal programme for our team that acknowledges good service. Lilly was delighted to be acknowledged. We are very pleased to have Lilly on our team. I am pleased to announce the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme so you will see even more improvements on your next visit. Thanks again... More 

Surabaya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is nothing special at all about this hotel. Even, I think it's a bit below standard for Mercure brand. This hotel is used to be Abel Tasman Hotel and it was taken over by Accor Group become Mercure Wellington. However, I just feel that the service and facilities are not the same standard as Accor Hotel yet. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sudarto Y
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Your feedback is very helpful. I am delighted to report that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme. Two guest floors and the restaurant have been completed and further work is continuing. Your comments regarding breakfast are unusual as we normally receive great feedback about breakfast. Our... More 

Nuneaton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay here for 4 nights. Superb location and lovely rooms!! Would be a deffo yes to stay here. Staff were friendly. room was big and clean. 5 mins walk into centre and harbour 10 mins away. Couldnt fault anything

Helpful?
Thank scoff
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme so I am very confident you will notice even more improvements on your next visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Your feedback is very valued. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson... More 

Papamoa, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very small room but was clean and adequate as we were only staying for one night. Would not have wanted to stay here if staying for a longer period of time. No air conditioning and room was very warm. Couldn't keep window open as Bar across the road was very busy and noise drifted up to our room. Really friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank ycart93
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you found the team friendly and helpful. The team take pride in providing high levels of service. I will pass your comments onto the team. I apologise you found the rooms warm. We are looking at solutions. Your feedback is extremely helpful and valued. Thanks again. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington
Mercure Wellington
#35 of 49 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#34 of 49 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#22 of 49 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#25 of 49 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#26 of 49 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay