We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Wellington hotels

Abel Tasman Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inns Abel Tasman)
Hotel amenities
Abel Tasman Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Abel Tasman Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
gg4vet Okaihau, New Zealand
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    70
    67
    16
    21
See reviews for
33
63
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Okaihau, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We stayed here for two nights in January for the Sate Capital Classic Ocean Swim. The hotel is tidy and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, an easy walk to CBD, shopping, Te Papa, the waterfront and restaurants. The weather was very hot and there was no air conditioning in the rooms but at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed here a couple of times before so we knew what to expect. for $109 for the 2 of us it's a bargain. It's not a flash place neither is it a dive. clean, tidy, nice decor and the receptionist ( french lady ) was very good. the only down side is the shower in the room s... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Centrally located within short walking distances to Cuba Mall, Lambton Quay and Courtney place isn't bad and good value for money. Happy hour in the hotel bar runs for a generous 3 hours. Car parking at the hotel is limited and you can't pre-book a space until you arrive???

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have to say, my first impression was good. Lovely lobby, with capable and friendly staff. I had a room with a double and single bed. However, the double felt like two singles pushed together. I couldn't "starfish" without having a mattress edge down my spine. The TV only had a few channels that were fuzzy - perhaps it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Almost stayed there last Saturday night on our way back to Sydney. We had to leave after one hour due to general uncleanliness of the room/shower-stains on carpets -see pictures- This was after we moved to another room. Could not talk to reception about this as they closed at 5 p.m and were only available for emergencies. Lost my money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

I would be very keen if you would kindly contact me. I find your feed back very concerning as our reception is open 24 hours. Also the photo you have posted is not of the Abel Tasman hotel Wellington. I would appreciate if I could speak to you direct regarding your feed back. If you could please email me a... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me my mum and three young kids came down for three nights. The room was small but we didn't book until three days before our trip so they where very accommodating. It was very hot and had no air con. The staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you found the staff helpful and friendly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small room, very expensive ($25) to park car per day and car parks are small, tight spaces, no air con, no where to put suitcases (had to drag out the ironing board for that purpose), loud street noises and a magnificent view of dirty down pipes (ugh). On the positive side - well located close to CBD. I personally will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the hotel for a night for a quick visit to Wellington. Reasonably priced rooms equipped with tea and coffee facilities, modern furniture, flat screen tv and comfy bed. Couple of small issues - there was no air conditioning in the room so decided to open the old fashioned window (gets warm in the room) - but was slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. The team will be delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is about a $30 taxi ride from the airport, and is situated centrally in Wellington so you can easily walk to shopping streets, museums, the cable car etc. There was really bad street noise overnight, especially early morning. I'm not usually one to complain about noise but even I had to purchase ear plugs! Wifi costs $10 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I apologise that you found the hotel noisy. We will make a note in your profile to ensure we allocate a quiet room on your next stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 4 nights, fantastic front desk service from Afzal, very friendly and helpful... would definitely stay here again for the service! Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a central stay in Wellington! So close to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

The team are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Afzal will be thrilled with your feedback and I will ensure he is acknowledged for your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to see you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Hotel

Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inns Abel Tasman)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay