We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Wellington hotels

Abel Tasman Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inns Abel Tasman)
Hotel amenities
Abel Tasman Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Abel Tasman Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Ellie H Rotorua
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    68
    60
    13
    20
See reviews for
31
58
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Rotorua
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Central to everything, superb full cooked breakfast, and we found the hotel dining in the evening was of high restaurant quality. Staff friendly, obliging and courteous - and hard working - and the room, while dated, was very comfortable with flat screen TV and bed also comfortable. Bathroom spotless. Had part of a conference there at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed there early december and I loved it. I was in a single room on the 6th floor. The room was very nice and the bed comfortable. The staff was very curteous and efficient.Plus the hotel has a great .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel has a good location, parking in the garage underneat it, its clean, staff is friendly, breakfast is also OK. So for a couple of nights its a godo choice. (the beds are really great) But eat dinner somewhere else. Restarant looks nice, but food is just tasteless and boring, the rare steak comes in as almost well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the end of our South Island trip. Having 2 rooms with young adult children was ideal however the rooms are in need of an update. The beds are too soft and there is a need for a comfy chair to sit on watching TV at night. The bathroom shower had a curtain which is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room we were in was on the road frontage with Dixon Street. Even though we were on the 5th floor it was very noisy at night with vehicle traffic as there is no double glazing. We asked to be moved to an inside room the last night due to two nights disturbed sleep - this was done by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in late november 2014. The room was basic and not as nice as the photos (maybe the photos are of an upgraded more expensive room?) but not bad. The reception staff at checking were friendly. The next morning I noticed the pillow I had slept on had large blood stains on it, I guess it had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a basic hotel with a good location . 10 min walking from the center. The rooms are nicely decorated, the staff are welcome and helpful. The breakfast is rich and delicious. There is a parking for your car at the hotel. Close to good restaurants nearby. You can try the bistro 169 of the hotel and you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good part is I found the room spacious, functional, clean and tidy, and the limited interaction that I had with the staff was good. The internet was quick and cheap ($10 for 3 days). The lobby looks ok, but as soon as you step into the creaky elevator, you know the place needs a renovation - carpets (7th floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in this property before and the decor has definitely been updated since then. However I got put into a room that was next to the street, which resulted in VERY little sleep. This was because of the party going on the street going on until 2.15am, the road sweeper starting at 3.30am and the construction starting at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you chose to stay at the Abel Tasman hotel again. Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking at ways to improve the hotel and your feedback is very appreciated. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next stay and I will personally ensure you are allocated a quiet room. I hope we have... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Didn't stay here myself but some family who were visiting did. The young female receptionist was rude and unwelcoming both to them and myself and other visitors. She tried to refuse them free wifi when it was included in the booking. The room was average, but one day we were out for the day and came back at night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very keen to speak to the guest directly regarding their stay. As you will see from other reviews this is very unusual feedback regarding our staff. Unfortunately because you have written this review on behalf of another guest I am not able to track who stayed. I would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Hotel

Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inns Abel Tasman)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay