We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington accommodations

Wellywood Backpackers

58 Tory St., Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Wildlife House)
Hotel amenities
Wellywood Backpackers

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    10
    14
    26
See reviews for
4
24
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really great hostel! The staff at reception were very friendly and went out of their way to help us out. I would recommend this hostel to my friends. It is also in a perfect location close to lots of restaurants and fun shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place gives backpackers a bad name. Such an awesome location, it really could have wonderful reviews. Not sure when the duvet covers get changed, but ours had stains all over it and smelt terrible. Carpet was filthy as there was something spilt but never ever cleaned up under the bed and the walls. Our room had not been cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great place to stay. BUT don't book it through HOSTEL WORLD.They will show you a picture of the room you want and when you get there it is a lower qual room. I then had to pay an additional amount to get the room I thought I had booked. Attempts to e- mail them to sort it out proved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff! It doesn't matter how often you ask for anything....they are polite and very nice! Nice little café and big kitchen area. Rooms and flors are quiet and clean. And they even sent me my portable charger, which I forgot there, back! Just friendly:D

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

positives: Clean bathrooms Central location Negatives: Reception staff not at all friendly or helpful Rooms and bedding are old and tired and smell pretty damp and sweaty Wifi patchy in rooms Stayed in desperation for 2 nights as no hotels free. Booked ensuite room even though none were available when I arrived. Given refund but disappointed by service levels and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robbie N, Manager at Wellywood Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Our reception are very friendly and helpful to all our customers, from the previous feedbacks we have received. It is unfortunate that you have found them not friendly. We are not a star hotel just a friendly budget backpackers. Our price is very reasonable compare to a motel or hotel. For a $26 per night bed we are giving... More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I travelled to Wellington for a conference and was late booking accommodation. Managed to book elsewhere for all but the first night. Wellywood had about the only room left in town, most likely due to the bad reviews. As backpackers accommodation it was fine, clean rooms and showers, large common room/ kitchen and friendly staff. The town was buzzing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robbie N, Manager at Wellywood Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we are still working hard to provide better service to our guest. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I've been travelling for over three years, in many countries, and I have never stayed anywhere as awful as this. I've never complained about a hostel, or written a review, but if I can steer just one person away, ill be happy. Absolute filth, horribly rude staff, over dodgy feel... the list goes on and on. All of which I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I must admit when I read the other Trip Advisor reviews I wondered what we had let ourselves in for. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff at Wellywood welcomed our family by allowing us to check in early. Our rooms with attached bathrooms were clean. Although bed linen is supplied you need to either bring your own towel or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tzur yitzhak
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

wellywood backpackers is definitely the worst hostel I stayed at. The beds was without sheets, the showers are small and uncomfortable, the kitchen is very Dirty and half the stoves did not function. Our clothes got wet and smelly out of the dryer and we felt we get no value for our pay at any aspect. If you wish to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place needs to be shut down and renovated properly. It was the worst hostel of our holiday and this is why: 1) The tiny shower cubicles had no fans so it became a heat box. 2) They had started renovating two floors... and then stopped. So there is rubbish and half pulled up carpet everywhere. 3) Rooms were shabby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Wellywood Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellywood Backpackers

Also Known As:
Wellywood Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Wellywood Backpackers Hotel
Address: 58 Tory St., Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Wildlife House)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Specialty lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wellywood Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellywood Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wellywood Backpackers to your Saves list