We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Wellington hotels

InterContinental Wellington

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Wellington to your Saves list
InterContinental Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #11 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Robert B Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (609)
  • Photos (132)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (162)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    207
    96
    31
    11
See reviews for
61
226
60
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the InterContinental during the Football United Tour in July 2014. Brilliant service received over the course of the stay, making our time there an absolute pleasure. The hotel was undergoing a major upgrade, with the Ground Level and part of Level 1 hoarded up with works due for completion in mid-to-late September. All services were still available, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have had reason to stay in Wellington for extended periods over the last few months and have stayed in pretty much every hotel in the CBD. Don't bother with any of the others. Part of this is due to the service at the Intercontinental and part of it is due to the fact that the other hotels are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My experience of the Intercontinental varied from exceptional to dismal. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are luxurious and little touches like a pillow menu and a coffee to accompany your wake up call were all appreciated. But the impact of the renovations was really negative. A cramped entrance, a reduced cafe and an inadequate temporary restaurant marred... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel needed a refurb so when we saw it being done we thought we would have a night in town and see what it was like. The beds are great as always with IC but some attention to detail is really lacking and the new decor is boring and I would argue already out of date. Beige everywhere has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First stay since the refurbishment – we were welcomed on the first floor and the concierge recognised us from our previous stays and immediately took us up to the Club Lounge to check in. We met the Club Intercontinental Manager Jenna Abramowitz who also showed us to our room We were given a room on the 5th floor where the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Sebcat14, I was delighted to read your feedback and would like to thank you for your kind words. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us in one of our new Club InterContinental Guest Rooms and the additional benefits included. Please rest assured I shall pass your comments onto the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think it is important to have stayed in a variety of places and levels of property before commenting but our stay was marred by a chaotic welcome, the renovations, a noisy air conditioning system which was rattling when being stressed and poor administration. Having stayed at a B and B just prior, the difference in the service and value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear saskiacromwell, I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are currently in the final phase of our major hotel refurbishment and are excited to unveil these changes to our guests. As of late we have been receiving some wonderful feedback regarding our current progress; so I was disappointed to hear of the recent... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have been fortunate enough to stay at the Intercontinental. This time we opted for a club room and were not disappointed. The hotel room itself was lovely in every way. Great roomy shower. The highlight is the club lounge. The buffet breakfast was excellent the staff are so professional, they look smart and attend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Marjorie R, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of Club InterContinental Guestrooms and had the chance to relax & indulge in our Club InterContinental Lounge. The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to... More

North Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have read in feedback that some people are upset at the renovations taking place at the Intercontinental and must say I am somewhat surprised at the angst expressed. Its a multimillion dollar redevelopment and they have already completed the outstanding new Club Room with 180 degree views over Wellingtons beautiful harbor. The level of service my wife and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 3shepherds, On behalf of the Hotel Team, I thank you for your lovely review. As one of our valued guests we appreciate you sharing your honest feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I am thrilled you and your Wife enjoyed your recent Club InterContinental experience and the beautiful views of the harbour from your guest room. We look forward to... More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff of this hotel were excellent with nothing too much trouble and the food and conference facilities were impressive. The administration was surprisingly poor. We had booked online for a conference I was attending and thankfully I arrived at reception with the printout of the reservation. The hotel had the wrong dates in its database and my wife was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Graham W, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy you found the food selection and hotel facilities commendable. However, I am deeply sorry the service you received and room amenities you encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We are always working to be the best... More

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I upgraded to a room on L7 to escape renovation noise which wasn't that bad in fact. Now almost complete I believe. Was there on business for 6 nights and found the room very comfortable, large and with a lovely, modern bathroom. Very clean, excellent choice of food via room service and very friendly, helpful staff at Reception, the concierge,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage InterContinental Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Address: 2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
3:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wellington #8 Family Hotel in Wellington #10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington #12 Business Hotel in Wellington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Wellington is at the centre of the capitals political, commercial and corporate worlds, and a comfortable walk from history, culture and shopping. Te Papa Museum of New Zealand; the Museum of Wellington City & Sea and a host of art galleries are nearby. The Wairarapa Wine Region and ZEALANDIA: The Karori Sanctuary Experience make interesting excursions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
231

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer