We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Wellington hotels

InterContinental Wellington

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Wellington to your Saves list
InterContinental Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
79%
Ranked #11 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jase77 Auckland, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (620)
  • Photos (132)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (166)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    209
    97
    31
    11
See reviews for
61
229
61
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visiting Wellington for a course at the university. Stayed at the Intercontinental. Fantastic. The hotel was undergoing renovations. I stayed in a renovated room (worth the extra). Very comfortable, excellent service. I had breakfast and there was an excellent selection. Restaurant staff were friendly and remembered me the next day, so it was a nice personal touch. I enjoyed my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the hotel lobby was still undergoing renovation,I was lucky enough to stay in a renovated room.Just fabulous.Everything was where you needed it be ,power points everywhere,electric curtains,super comfy bed with pillow menu.Super comfortable.Yes,there are more trendy cool hotels in town,but this is a seriously good hotel- I think the best in Wellington.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a business trip. Was very classy with great serivce. Good central location with an amazing breakfast buffet which had a great view. Lots of facilities available although I didnt have a chance to use them

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary with friends,the moment you enter the hotel the huge smile and fabulous welcome by the front staff ...we had a large suite which overlooks the harbour,and access to the renovated club lounge...wow wow wow suite 5 star and the club lounge stunning...our friends loved their stay as well.many thanks to all the wonderful staff...

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Lyndzm, Thank you for your kind review and congratulations once again on your 35th wedding anniversary. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club InterContinental Suite's; in particular the beautiful waterfront views from your room and the Club InterContinental Lounge. The Team pride themselves on the level of service they provide so they were pleased... More

Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms, the upgrade cost $80/night but the room was lovely. The hotel is centrally located, the ongoing renovations are noisy at times but obviously necessary. The bed and pillows were fantastic...true comfort. There were a couple of design faults perhaps in the otherwise lovely bathroom. There was no shelf in the shower to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ohau
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked into the InterContinental as it was in the heart of the city and we had been there before, we had to go to a function at Dockside Restaurant and it was perfect as we only had to walk 10 mins to the Venue . The Hotel is under renovations so we really could not complain except the ground... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear WaipunaOhau, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review from your recent stay. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the service provided by our Team; please rest assured I will pass these kind words on. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, as you mentioned the extensive refurbishment of the 25 year... More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful beds and great bathrooms. The concierge was super helpful and booked us restaurants. I used the gym a couple of times too which was nice to do, although being so close to the waterfront, you're be mad not to run/walk around it instead of an indoor gym. Such a beautiful harbour. the pool looked lovely, even though I didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Jane C, Thank you for your kind review. The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay; in particular our waterfront location and attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable experience. Kind regards, Scott Hamilton General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

People had told me this was a nice hotel but I was not prepared for 1) the service from the moment the car pulled into the hotel someone took my bags , told us to check in which was effortless by the time I got up to my room bags there . 2) room service delicious well priced and speedy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sometimes there's nothing better than a weekend away, without actually going away - no travelling, no compunction to sightsee, yet no housework either. The refurbished InterContinental (not quite finished - the ground and first floor are still being done) has returned it to being Wellington's top big hotel. Last visit in Feb we stayed in a deluxe spa room on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here on business and quite frankly I was blown away with the quality and finish of the renovated rooms on level 7 and the funky styling and great service in club lounge. It was the best I've experienced in all my recent travels. On a personal note I'd like to thank Mattius and the team for their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage InterContinental Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Address: 2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
3:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wellington with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wellington #9 Family Hotel in Wellington #10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington #11 Business Hotel in Wellington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Wellington is at the centre of the capitals political, commercial and corporate worlds, and a comfortable walk from history, culture and shopping. Te Papa Museum of New Zealand; the Museum of Wellington City & Sea and a host of art galleries are nearby. The Wairarapa Wine Region and ZEALANDIA: The Karori Sanctuary Experience make interesting excursions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
231

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer