We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Wellington

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2 Grey St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Wellington
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    409
    275
    109
    38
    14
See reviews for
88
318
74
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (845)
  • Mar-May only
    (216)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (203)
All months
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the very minute we arrived we felt special. Everyone, but everyone who works there made the experience for my young Granddaughter something she will never forget. We had two double rooms for the four of us. No view except the night lights. Beds were divine. Bathroom excellent. Walking distance for lots of things and events in Wellington. Restaurant atmosphere,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel. Great central location close to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. Quick, efficient check-in and check-out. Large, spacious room. Everything you would expect from a very good business hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The regular rooms are horrible, everything is very old. While I was there renovations were underway so hopefully the room are better now. I think the club rooms had already been renovated because they were excellent. The club experience was greatly let down by the demeanour or some of the staff in the club room. The complimentary food was weak.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear ThripAdffiser, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment from your stay last year. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your visit to Wellington. I have read your comment, you were right the hotel did undergo refurbishment. We have stringent Health & Safety in place, you can contact me directly should you wish to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Intercontinental. It's right in the middle of town with shops (Lambton Quay), restaurants (Courtenay Place) and the waterfront all just a few minutes walk away. The rooms are pretty special and highly deserving of the 5-star rating. Super comfy beds. Room service is quick and good eating at a decent price (for room service). The gym is well fitted-out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Andrew M, Thank you for you feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during you recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We strive for high level of service in all aspects, to make sure that your stay with us is comfortable and relaxed. I... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1,625 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,023 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. The hotel is very central and is located within a couple of minutes of walk from most attractions in Wellington. Check in was quick, personal and lovely. As Platinum Ambassadors, we were upgraded from a deluxe executive room to a club room with club benefits. We were assigned room 920. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear TheShis, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I are pleased that you chose to stay with us recently. I am happy that you were upgraded to one of our newly refurbished room, nice comfy beds and big TV in the room. The Club Lounge on the 7th floor, its beautiful view of the harbour, fireplace, great... More 

Fiji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my sixth stay at the IHG in Wellington and as usual exceptional service by everyone from the floor to management. There was nothing i could not fault which is why i just love staying here. Twice on my last stay i ordered room service and both times concierge mentioned it will be ready within 30mins, however both were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear nesiangirl, Thank you for your lovely comment. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment, and I am pleased you that you enjoyed your stay here, the complimentray bottled water delivered in the evening, the handling of your booking. The central location and within walking distance to the... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a weekend at the Intercontinental in Wellington for a winter escape. Unfortunately by the time our weekend came around we were both sick with colds and coughs. We were thrilled to be upgraded to a newly renovated room in the hotel, which was fabulous. The entrance and lobby has also been renovated and is comfortable and stylish. Front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Flicks, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us. I have read your comment, and I am pleased that you get to experience our newly refurbished room. The staff extended great friendly service to you whilst you were staying with us. Being in the central of Wellington gives you the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived (me and my GF) we were told that we have to put a $100 deposit on the room, we were not aware of this as no one had told us before we arrived, this wasn't too big of a deal however when we checked out the money I had put down wasn't in my bank, so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Tom F, Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at InterContiental Wellington and reflect on the service you received. I am certain our staff will be delighted to read your kind words about their friendliness. However I was certainly disheartened to find out that your stay was affected by the authorisation procedure, requested upon the... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This establishment is over rated and no where near 5*. The service is very average in particular the lobby bar, I'd recommend alternative accommodation. The rooms are tired and service leaves a lot to be desired for the price, it's a shame given the location and opportunity they have.

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear ColinT82, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment, and thank you for pointing out the average service received whilst in the lobby bar, but I am saddened that we did not exceed your expectations. Rest assured, I... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything from the Concierge greeting on arrival to our dedicated check out in the Club Lounge was perfect. All staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the bed absolutely divine. Best nights sleep we had experienced in a long time. The gym and pool looked great but unfortunately we didn't have time to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review

Dear AdventureLady9, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. As always the dedicated concierge team greeted you on arrival, ensuring that everything goes smoothly for you. The friendly, helpful and professional attitude from staff ,the comfortable room and divine bed just made it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

521 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (174)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
3:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (347)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (114)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (98)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 48 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 48 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Wellington
Ibis Wellington
#20 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
#7 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay