We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quest Wellington

33 Hunter St | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Quest Wellington
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 52 Wellington B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
iwontsleepanywhere Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    21
    15
    11
See reviews for
20
29
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is located in a great area, within walking distance of all the sites of Wellington and close to restaurants and stores. It had a very large and comfortable living room/ kitchen area and the bedrooms were spacious as well. The bathroom was large with a washer and dryer. The 1/2 bath was fine. The front desk is only manned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Booked in as 2 couples for a 2 bedroom room. 1 bedroom OK but other bedroom an after thought. Great location & recommend the cable car to the top of town & walk back down through the botanical gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I checked in and found this place to be so convenient. I liked the size and the location although I wish there was air conditioning as it was a bit warm. I liked the fact that I could walk to all my meetings from here. I accidentally made a mistake when booking Wifi and am hoping for a refund.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stayed with wife and a baby, brought our own porta-cot for two nights. Good location with walking around the city. Parking is in TSB arena which is about a 4-5 min walk. Not far at all, it is expensive though - $30 per day! The rooms (1bed apartment) were good and very spacious, remember it is an old building. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldavilla, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I hadn't checked Trip Adviser on this one unfortunately as it was at the end of our trip. Now I can vouch that the comments prior to mine are absolutely accurate. The NOISE is phenomenal! No Air Con or fans so forced to leave window in lounge area open which of course only contributes to the all night noise. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear of your negative experience here at Quest Wellington. Our objective is to cater to all guests, and unfortunately we have fallen short of our goal on this occasion. Being in the centre of Wellington City, the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital can be confounding for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Total disappointment after staying here some years ago. I purchased the Lazy Sunday package back in Sept. 2014 which included a stay in a 1 bedroom apartment, with a late checkout of mid-day and delicious cooked breakfast for two at the nearby (Smiths the Grocer). I also booked carpark at $29.00 for the night. We arrive just after 2pm, to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, I am sincerely sorry to hear of your recent experience at Quest Wellington, which was not to your or our expectations. Quest Wellington is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance. In regards to parking, unfortunately we do not have... More 

Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stayed in a 2br apartment and it was very roomy and well located with the wharf area nearby and close to shopping. As we were on a fly-drive holiday it was unfortunate that we had to pay $60 for 2 nights when we hardly used the car at all. It was also a bit inconvenient that the reception desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Graham, We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback on your experience here at Quest Wellington. We do have apartments situated at the rear of the building which are ideal for lighter sleepers, we hope to host you again upon your next trip to Wellington. Thanks again for your comments. Scott Bellingham More 

Lancefield, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The hotel was clean, comfortable and very well located. However, it is a little bit dowdy and in need of renovation. If there was air conditioning, we couldn't find it, and had to opening windows on a noisy street. Reception staff were very helpful when the wifi misfunctioned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear JohnJoA, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We apologise if the decor in the apartment was not to standard, we are in the process of refurbishing the corridors, and have also planned the interior refurbishment of the apartments. We expect this to be competed as soon as possible. We hope to see you back... More 

Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This apartment was really spacious, and had everything you would need for everyday living whether on holiday or as a permanent resident. The reason I didn't give it top rating was because of two things, firstly the room had no view, it looked onto an internal space that was there only to bring light into the room, and secondly there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear JackoMiddlesbrough, Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you back here at Quest Wellington on your next trip to the capital. Safe Travels, Scott Bellingham More 

Hamilton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. The rooms are large, the furniture is looking a bit tired but it was clean and the shower was good. The place is an old building with large windows which made it noisy. There seemed to be some dump truck that would start working about 4 in the morning. My room faced out onto Hunter Street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Hi golfingkiwi, Thank you for your review. We do have quieter rooms known as 'G' apartments situated in the rear of the building, ideal for light sleepers. We are currently also looking into soundproofing options for the property. We hope to see you back here at Quest Wellington on your next trip to Wellington. Many Thanks, Scott Bellingham More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay