We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   33 Hunter St | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Quest Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Wellington to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 51 Wellington B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015
Graham L Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    19
    15
    11
See reviews for
18
29
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Aldavilla, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I hadn't checked Trip Adviser on this one unfortunately as it was at the end of our trip. Now I can vouch that the comments prior to mine are absolutely accurate. The NOISE is phenomenal! No Air Con or fans so forced to leave window in lounge area open which of course only contributes to the all night noise. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear of your negative experience here at Quest Wellington. Our objective is to cater to all guests, and unfortunately we have fallen short of our goal on this occasion. Being in the centre of Wellington City, the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital can be confounding for... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Total disappointment after staying here some years ago. I purchased the Lazy Sunday package back in Sept. 2014 which included a stay in a 1 bedroom apartment, with a late checkout of mid-day and delicious cooked breakfast for two at the nearby (Smiths the Grocer). I also booked carpark at $29.00 for the night. We arrive just after 2pm, to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, I am sincerely sorry to hear of your recent experience at Quest Wellington, which was not to your or our expectations. Quest Wellington is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance. In regards to parking, unfortunately we do not have... More 

Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stayed in a 2br apartment and it was very roomy and well located with the wharf area nearby and close to shopping. As we were on a fly-drive holiday it was unfortunate that we had to pay $60 for 2 nights when we hardly used the car at all. It was also a bit inconvenient that the reception desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Graham, We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback on your experience here at Quest Wellington. We do have apartments situated at the rear of the building which are ideal for lighter sleepers, we hope to host you again upon your next trip to Wellington. Thanks again for your comments. Scott Bellingham More 

Lancefield, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The hotel was clean, comfortable and very well located. However, it is a little bit dowdy and in need of renovation. If there was air conditioning, we couldn't find it, and had to opening windows on a noisy street. Reception staff were very helpful when the wifi misfunctioned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear JohnJoA, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We apologise if the decor in the apartment was not to standard, we are in the process of refurbishing the corridors, and have also planned the interior refurbishment of the apartments. We expect this to be competed as soon as possible. We hope to see you back... More 

Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This apartment was really spacious, and had everything you would need for everyday living whether on holiday or as a permanent resident. The reason I didn't give it top rating was because of two things, firstly the room had no view, it looked onto an internal space that was there only to bring light into the room, and secondly there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear JackoMiddlesbrough, Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you back here at Quest Wellington on your next trip to the capital. Safe Travels, Scott Bellingham More 

Hamilton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. The rooms are large, the furniture is looking a bit tired but it was clean and the shower was good. The place is an old building with large windows which made it noisy. There seemed to be some dump truck that would start working about 4 in the morning. My room faced out onto Hunter Street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Hi golfingkiwi, Thank you for your review. We do have quieter rooms known as 'G' apartments situated in the rear of the building, ideal for light sleepers. We are currently also looking into soundproofing options for the property. We hope to see you back here at Quest Wellington on your next trip to Wellington. Many Thanks, Scott Bellingham More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights and it was okay. The room was clean. The bathroom could have been cleaner but was ok. There was a lot of noise coming from the street so I was woken a couple of times. The interior of the room was worn and there was a hole in one of the chairs. You have 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear TinaB3334, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are sorry to hear your experience here at Quest Wellington was satisfactory. We are currently in the process of looking at sound proofing options and new furniture for the apartments. Given we are in the heart of Wellington City, we understand that the commotion below can be... More 

North Richmond, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Our final two nights in New Zealand, my husband decided to book Quest Wellington for it's central location, as we were going to hand back our rental car. As usual Customer Service is excellent. Lady was very helpful with the detailed instructions. We had a 2 bedroom Apartment on the 8th Floor, nice, clean and roomy. Had washing machine and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 828Sachi, Thank you so much for taking time to leave us feedback. We hope to see you both on your next trip to Wellington. Safe travels, Scott Bellingham More 

Richmond, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Ended up booking this one when we realised we wouldn't need the hire car and could give it in before we checked in (thus removing the problem of having to find and pay for parking). Quest Wello is priced according to it's location which is in the dead centre of town. Forget it if you have a car. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Paul, We would like to thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wellington. Kind Regards, Scott Bellingham More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Older building, needs a bit of update but clean and comfortable. Stayed in one bedroom apartment and was reasonably roomy with washing machine, dryer and basic kitchen with dishwasher. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location with plenty of shops around. Received free passes for City Gym which was less than 1min walk away, used it 3 times and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review

Dear MKozzie, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback about your stay here at Quest Wellington. You will be pleased to know that Quest Wellington are currently in the middle of a refurbishment. We have thus far completed two floors with the rest to come. We look forward to having you back. Many Thanks, Scott Bellingham More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Address: 33 Hunter St | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay