We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington hotels

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wellesley Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dellgaye Tauranga, New Zealand
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
81
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room was beautifully "old World" and the staff were all delightful. I loved the big claw bath. Perhaps a twin room needs two queen beds such as I have found in other parts of the world. A single is okay for a small person but I wouldn't want to sleep in one if I was a large person. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights here and loved the location, close to the waterfront and shops. The reception was most helpful. The room was different - had lots of character. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom well appointed. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I got a reasonable deal (in comparison to other rooms) but I have to agree with other reviewers that it is overdue for an overhaul. I love atmosphere, and age, but not when it comes with peeling wall paper, wholes in doors, and creaking plumbing (I was glad I was sleeping alone, after bathroom trips during the night). I can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the kind comments about most of your stay. We are somewhat surprised as while we have had very few minor complaints regarding your room, most guests are aware that it is one of our smallest and cheapest rooms and indeed some of our returning guests specifically request it saying it is quiet having... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one uncomfortable night at this hotel and that was far too long. The public areas are very nice, but they put us in a room that looked into a dingy pigeon-poop-covered light well. There was a terrible buzzing noise coming from a commercial-sized kitchen fridge compressor in the light well, which they said stops at night. It didn't,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had problems and are pleased you have brought them to our attention. As regards the lightwell pigeon problem this is being resolved with the building owners next door as it has only been a problem since they removed the pigeon protection cover when their building was renovated. They are in the... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel. Nicely decorated, clean and all the facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was lovely but I thought the shower was quiet weak. It did get quite noisy at times outside our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Central location, lovely staff, nice room and awesome bathroom. We would definitely go back again to this unique hotel. Older rooms but beautifully furnished. A smidgey on the noisy side with outside garage beeping a warning when cars come in or out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. It was once a club and it has retained an intimate, homely and personal feel. Beatrice at reception was outstanding and so were the breakfast staff, who handled an unfortunate mishap of mine with aplomb. The ambience of the place is stylish old world, with beautiful grand rooms. The cafe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. It is very rewarding to receive comments like yours. We are proud of our hotel and especially our staff. We endeavour to maintain a high standard and with a review like yours it seems we are succeeding. We hope you will visit us again. Regards Guest Relations More

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

A bit of old world here. We come back on a regular basis. The environment has you relaxing as you walk in the entrance. The dining room and lounge area on the ground floor was used recently for a bit of ambience for a docu-drama on Nancy Wake (NZ / Aust WW2 heroine). The hotel was represented as a French... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We love to hear from satisfied and happy guests. It is lovely to welcome you back on repeated visits and we look forward to doing so again. Regards Guest relations More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in New Zealand. From the entrance way, the grand piano and the dodgy old lift it screams class. The standard of the food in the restaurant is very high. The wine list is even better. Enjoy a pre or post dinner drink by the fire....gorgeous. the rooms are generous if a little tired, but it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that it is your favourite hotel in New Zealand. We hope you will come back again. We have plans to upgrade the rooms and we certainly want to keep their unique characture. Regards Guest Relations Manager More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Lovely unique boutique hotel located in Wellington heritage district, with superb ensuite rooms with TV, phone, minibar, quality towels, dressing gowns and slippers, that are furnished differently & have an individual names. so much better than staying at a large hotel chain. The hotel is within short walking distance to the Wellington's waterfront, main shopping district and goverment centre. Whilist... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you were pleased with your choice to stay at our hotel.. Like you, so many guests comment about our fantastic location and its "old Charm". We are currently negotiating with Molten Brown so we may have their toiletries back.Thanks for taking the time to write a review! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Wellesley Boutique Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay