We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington hotels

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wellesley Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
poppylover North Island, NZ
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
84
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
North Island, NZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night this month after arriving in Wellington from a long haul flight. We appreciated the assistance we received when we arrived and found the room large and the bed comfortable. A great bathroom and a quiet room. While the decor is a bit tired, its not a major concern - it adds to the 'feel' of this hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old fashioned hospitality in the center of the city. Spacious comfortable room and bathroom, delightful cafe and charming staff.Easy access to waterfront, railway station, shops and excellent bus service to all outlying areas. I was very happy here and made to feel most welcome for the whole two weeks I was there. Look forward to staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the first phone call to check out I found the people here truly hospitable. In Wellington for dental surgery, I was very well looked out for and looked after by all staff. Staff were caring without being intrusive and keen to show off this grand old dame of a building. Yes it's a little tired in places but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Our room was beautifully "old World" and the staff were all delightful. I loved the big claw bath. Perhaps a twin room needs two queen beds such as I have found in other parts of the world. A single is okay for a small person but I wouldn't want to sleep in one if I was a large person. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed two nights here and loved the location, close to the waterfront and shops. The reception was most helpful. The room was different - had lots of character. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom well appointed. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I got a reasonable deal (in comparison to other rooms) but I have to agree with other reviewers that it is overdue for an overhaul. I love atmosphere, and age, but not when it comes with peeling wall paper, wholes in doors, and creaking plumbing (I was glad I was sleeping alone, after bathroom trips during the night). I can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the kind comments about most of your stay. We are somewhat surprised as while we have had very few minor complaints regarding your room, most guests are aware that it is one of our smallest and cheapest rooms and indeed some of our returning guests specifically request it saying it is quiet having... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed one uncomfortable night at this hotel and that was far too long. The public areas are very nice, but they put us in a room that looked into a dingy pigeon-poop-covered light well. There was a terrible buzzing noise coming from a commercial-sized kitchen fridge compressor in the light well, which they said stops at night. It didn't,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had problems and are pleased you have brought them to our attention. As regards the lightwell pigeon problem this is being resolved with the building owners next door as it has only been a problem since they removed the pigeon protection cover when their building was renovated. They are in the... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Nicely decorated, clean and all the facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was lovely but I thought the shower was quiet weak. It did get quite noisy at times outside our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Central location, lovely staff, nice room and awesome bathroom. We would definitely go back again to this unique hotel. Older rooms but beautifully furnished. A smidgey on the noisy side with outside garage beeping a warning when cars come in or out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. It was once a club and it has retained an intimate, homely and personal feel. Beatrice at reception was outstanding and so were the breakfast staff, who handled an unfortunate mishap of mine with aplomb. The ambience of the place is stylish old world, with beautiful grand rooms. The cafe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. It is very rewarding to receive comments like yours. We are proud of our hotel and especially our staff. We endeavour to maintain a high standard and with a review like yours it seems we are succeeding. We hope you will visit us again. Regards Guest Relations More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay