We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Wellington hotels

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wellesley Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Geoff M London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
6
90
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars NEW

Unfortunately we had the infamous room Budd 204 and the nice bathroom could not make up for the gloominess of the room and the noise from the air extractor outside the window. We had to have the window and the room door open, as the air conditioning was not up to the job. Other rooms in this hotel may be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on a wet rainy day having spent a few days in the Auckland sunshine. Wellington isn't one of my favourite cities due to the propensity for wind and rain so I had low expectations of our few days. It being a public holiday weekend with a near empty City didn't help. The hotel cheered us up however, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry the weather wasn't kind to you but it is beyond our control. Wellington has just had 3 weeks of of calm, sunny hot weather but you missed it. However pleased that our hotel made a wet stay enjoyable. That is what we endeavour to provide. We hope you will... More 

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely decorated room and a large bathroom. But: when you turned on the warm water in the sink it made a terrible noise! It was difficult to adjust it to where the squeeking would stop and you would not disturb your neighbors. Speaking about neighbors, it seemed like we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel was closed over the holiday period except for accommodation and you rightly say not many people around. You mention movies. In fact the hotel has been the location for various movies. Because of it's heritage classification we are restricted to what we can structurally change but we have plans underway for renovations which... More 

Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed at the Wellesley Boutique Hotel last year for a brief few days away to spend time with our daughter who lives in Wellington. The Wellesley Boutique Hotel is an old gentleman's club built in 1932 but was exceedingly comfortable. We loved the ambience of the place… it was much nicer than staying in a shiny marble five star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your kind comments are appreciated. We are glad we were able to meet your needs. What you describe is what we aim to provide for guests. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future. Regards Kathleen Brooker Guest Relaions More 

Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We arrived on Christmas Eve and were let in by the night manager who was very accommodating. I expected something different with "boutique" in the hotel name. The property was built in 1932 as a gentleman's club and doesn't appear to have been updated much. The toilet didn't flush and the lights went out while we were out for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you found the staff welcoming when you arrived. The definition of a "Boutique Hotel " is that it has a small number of rooms which are usually individually styled and decorated. This describes our hotel as it has 13 rooms each decorated differently. We believe this adds to the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We got a good deal and so stayed for the night to take the ferry crossing. The room was good (perhaps a little dark), generous portions of tea/coffee in the room, nice antique style bathroom. Free wifi (nice for hotels who usually want to charge you). If you arrive after 4 pm, you can pay for 2 hours parking directly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very encouraging review especially about the parking. Cities are notorious for parking problems so we are lucky in that we have parking as described. There is also parking that can be arranged in a building nearby. We agree with you about our location being very near the ferry, other transport and many attractions. We hope you... More 

New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Don't stay here if you are after a bright, shiny five star experience because you will be disappointed. If you love older hotels with bags of character then this is your kind of place. We stayed in 301 which was a deluxe room. It really was huge and had a view of the harbour plus a wonderful bathroom with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
miami
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

We got to this hotel in a January afternoon and unfortunately there was no staff to help us with the luggage. After checking in we were shown to a room that was ok but not what we expected when you describe yourself as a boutique...look at the pictures of the rooms in tripadvisor and you will understand what I mean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. You are entirely correct. Twenty years ago the building was the Wellesley Club. They have ceased operations but have yet to depart their part of the building. The hotel (except for the accommodation was "closed" between December 23rd and January 5th operating with a reduced staff and supplying guests with a free continental breakfast.... More 

Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Staff were on slow pace. They weren't too helpful and everything was on go slow mode. Faded glory. Shame as it has do much potential!! The rooms were dark but comfortable. Air conditioning in my son's room didn't work. Bathrooms were clean and functional! Overall experience was just up to expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. The hotel (except for the accommodation was "closed" between December 23rd and January 5th operating with a reduced staff and supplying guests with a free continental breakfast. We are sorry that you were not greeted properly and apologise for this. We are a "listed" Heritage Building with 13 rooms. While we are constrained we... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We made something of a whistle stop at this hotel - one night only and early ferry out meant we didn't even stop for breakfast. Reception was good and the girl who looked after us was really helpful. The room was a tad dingy - deliberately so I think (atmosphere?), but I didn't find it particularly welcoming. Lack of car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing hotel for your "quick" stay and are pleased you were made welcome by our reception staff. Plans are in place for renovations to our 13 rooms over the next year. We are a "listed" Heritage Building" and as such are somewhat limited to what we can do but hope that if you return it will not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay