We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richmond Guest House

2.5 of 5 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Offer
Free breakfast & wifi!!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Richmond Guest House
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    70
    23
    20
    30
See reviews for
23
76
66
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've had a relaxing week in this b & b. John, the manager, was friendly and filled with little nuggets of information and stories in Wellington to keep you entertained. Breakfast is provided every morning from 7-9 a.m. There is a good selection of cereals, spreads for toast and you get free coffee and tea throughout the day. Wifi is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This guesthouse has a long list of reviews, hence I will not repeat details. Suffice it to say that our experience matched most closely to the more negative ones, and was quite anomalous with the "warm, welcoming and helpful" comments from others. We were greeted with "attitude" and felt quite unwelcome. The room, however, was very clean and comfortable. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Richmond Guesthouse offers cozy rooms for fair prices. The owner, John, is friendly and takes good care of his guests. Continental breakfast is served complimentary every morning and the Guesthouse offers some free parking spots and well working Wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I honestly don't understand the negative reviews about this place. It was quiet, not far from city center, bed was really comfortable and breakfast had the best jam I have ever tasted. The owner was not rude at all as I read in some reviews, was friendly and happy to have conversation with guests in the morning. The first day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for two nights here and was a great place and atmosphere. It felt like home! A 10 minute walk into town is good and a drive up to mount vic for the look around is worth it. John, the Manager is welcoming guy and makes the place feel good. Great range of cereals for breakfast too. A reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

My overall experience was very positive. John was very warm and welcoming. A fountain of local knowledge with many entertaining yarns to share. Our room was clean,comfortable and the overall atmosphere was one of homliness and relaxation. I will definitely be back and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a real kiwi host and atmosphere. Thanks heaps John.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Nice and tidy rooms, close to city ,excellent breakfast. Close to city center, buss stop nearby Manager John was nice, honest and warm guy. In nutshell good value for money..............................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Comfortable good sized double room. Centrally located for wellington,we were visiting the city so spent most of the time out and about. Quiet nights sleep able to park a car for no extra charge. john is his own man and conversation flows freely

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Read all the reviews before booking. The rooms are basic and need updating. Beds very uncomfortable. There were hairs in the shower, and items on the floor from the last guest (like hair ties) . John is very very rude at times. His office is full of garden tools. I couldn't eat the breakfast. The cereals must have come from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely surprise'' to hear from you this way.. reading your reviews is quite interesting you reviewed a five star hotel that you stayed at in Frankfurt where today on this site there minimum price is $378 per night plus $47 per person for breakfast you gave it 5 / 5 Then you reviewed a four star in Townsville... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Awesome overall experience with great people coming and going. My room had everything you would need in terms of natural light and facilities. 10 minute walk max from anything you need. I would definitely use the Richmond Guest House again as the owner John was very accommodating. Cheers, Jasper

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay