We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richmond Guest House

2.5 of 5 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Offer
Free breakfast & wifi!!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Richmond Guest House
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    22
    20
    30
See reviews for
23
75
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My overall experience was very positive. John was very warm and welcoming. A fountain of local knowledge with many entertaining yarns to share. Our room was clean,comfortable and the overall atmosphere was one of homliness and relaxation. I will definitely be back and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a real kiwi host and atmosphere. Thanks heaps John.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and tidy rooms, close to city ,excellent breakfast. Close to city center, buss stop nearby Manager John was nice, honest and warm guy. In nutshell good value for money..............................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable good sized double room. Centrally located for wellington,we were visiting the city so spent most of the time out and about. Quiet nights sleep able to park a car for no extra charge. john is his own man and conversation flows freely

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Read all the reviews before booking. The rooms are basic and need updating. Beds very uncomfortable. There were hairs in the shower, and items on the floor from the last guest (like hair ties) . John is very very rude at times. His office is full of garden tools. I couldn't eat the breakfast. The cereals must have come from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely surprise'' to hear from you this way.. reading your reviews is quite interesting you reviewed a five star hotel that you stayed at in Frankfurt where today on this site there minimum price is $378 per night plus $47 per person for breakfast you gave it 5 / 5 Then you reviewed a four star in Townsville... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Awesome overall experience with great people coming and going. My room had everything you would need in terms of natural light and facilities. 10 minute walk max from anything you need. I would definitely use the Richmond Guest House again as the owner John was very accommodating. Cheers, Jasper

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

John really makes this place a home for the time you're there. The rooms are clean, nice, and a bit dated. That being said, everything else is top notch. Breakfast was lovely, the location couldn't be better, and the beds were comfortable. If there are any negatives, it's that you have to park on the street and there are not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed with John at the Richmond Guest House for over two weeks while we looked around Wellington. We were so glad we found it - a great location, with very comfortable rooms. We enjoyed the snapshots of history on the walls & John's stories about times gone by in the Mount Victoria area. Our thanks go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I did not mind the rooms, they were clean and spacious, a little outdated but ok. I did mind the manager who was rather rude, unwelcoming and kept making sarcastic comments about everything. It felt like it was a school dormitory - the manager kept being sarcastic about keeping the doors closed, walking quietly on the outside and inside areas!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there And obviously I do remember you , trouble with this media form you brave folk can say what you like but to me its' simple if folk come to my B & B I expect them to respect other guests ie' shut doors that you know have to be shut ie' security and basic respect for other guests... More

Hong Kong Region, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This guest house is given a very personal touch by its owner who will greet you when you arrive and is present to chat to his guests during breakfast. The first floor room that we had was clean, well furnished and well heated. This bed and breakfast represents excellent value for money and is well situated at around 10 mins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay