We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richmond Guest House

Hotel website
116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Richmond Guest House
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    25
    24
    32
See reviews for
26
84
66
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (256)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Richmond guest house for five nights and found it to be clean and tidy,very comfortable bed,and a good continental breakfast. John (the owner) could come across as a little heavy at first,but take the time to talk to him and listen to some of the things he has to say,and he is really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vieille-Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling from France and stayed one week in the richmond guest house...We really enjoyed our stay : The bed were very comfortable, the rooms really clean..We also had a good breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices in muesli, toast made by John himself : everything you can ask for! Another good point about this hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here based on other travellers reviews from trip advisor. Although John the owner welcomed us at first, he became sulky and at times rude for no apparent reason. He offered us little or no information on Wellinton, appearing disinterested. The room we were given was dusty and the bedding was not fresh, the breakfast was very basic, some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

As you said, we are proud of our good reviews from other guests. Always, we welcome our guests and when they have not been in Wellington before, we give them a map and show the places they can visit. Our rooms are cleaned and prepared before guests come in; we are not sure of what you mean with "not fresh... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Give it a miss. Poor quality throughout, old and soiled bedding, room overloaded with large unusable furniture. No fridge or TV in room, but main fridge in dining room available for use. Area a bit noisy when we stayed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

To start with you are wrong from the beginning of your review.This is a guest house not a motel If you compare a guest house with a motel, of course they are differences, such as the absence of fridge and TV in the rooms, as you can see in our listing this is just a little two star guest house... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Richmond Guest House is well priced and in a very handy locaton to Wellington Central. The room I stayed in was well presented and the continental breakfast offered plenty to choose from. Also great to see gluten/ dairy free options! A 20 min walk to the Michael Fowler Centre put it in a handy position and there a numerous places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only pick this place as a last resort. The decor is nice, and it has all of the facilities you could desire, along with a good proximity to the CBD. This is all trumped by the proprietor, who is strange bordering on psychotic. Any noise louder than rolling over in bed after 9pm will result in a loud banging on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Have just read your review; on one hand, we appreciate you mentioned our comfortable facilities, good taste in decoration and wonderful location. On the other hand, you are only telling your side of the story. We have many guests and we do insist that they show consideration to other guests As you will see in the next review one customer... More 

North Yorkshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Well priced accommodation. Easy walking into the centre. Comfortable room and continental breakfast was just what we wanted. Host was very accommodating and welcoming. Free excellent internet access, newspapers each day. Quiet location on a bus route if you don't want to climb up the hill back from town. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I stayed at the Richmond Guest House recently and would have changed accommodation had it not been for other members of my party checking in before me. The room was shabby and cold with uncomfortable beds but I wasn't too disappointed with this as the price was cheap. On checking in, I just wanted to dump my bags and head... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

The couple you mention were caught smoking inside,(twice) something we do not allow. I was in the middle of their eviction when you arrived, that's why I tried to explain to you what was happening . As for registering i believe that its' not legal to check into a hotel in NZ without registering first name and address of staying... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This is the second time my daughter and I have stayed at Richmond Guest House. Both times it has been perfect for our requirements. We enjoy spending leisure time in the capital and this well priced accommodation is within walking distance to the centre of town and the waterfront. It's close to a bus route so we were able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent. UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Good position for visiting Wellington. The room was comfortable and breakfast was adequate. Unfortunately we were not made to feel very welcome by the owner which apparently was because of where we came from. We were however shown our room by a very sweet French student who was very helpful. Having stayed in various B&B's, guest houses and motels throughout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question