We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Wellington hotels

West Plaza Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added West Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
West Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #22 of 50 hotels in Wellington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
mturn new zealand
  • Reviews (179)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    50
    8
    12
See reviews for
12
61
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have just stayed here again, for about the 7th or 8th time. As usual, I was able to stay in a nice quiet room at the back of the property. The room is comfortable, the bathroom has been recently renovated. The shower is great! Bed comfortable, and I enjoyed a quiet night. Breakfast is part of the deal, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were super helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. The location was perfect for getting around Wellington, everything at your doorstep. The price was good value for money, only thing wrong was the room was too hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my teenage daughter and it was the perfect location for exploring the city on foot. The staff, both at the front desk and the the restaurant, are so friendly and helpful it was easy to overlook any flaws of the hotel. For the price I don't think we could have done any better.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I regularly stay at West Plaza due to its proximity to my customers. After making a booking error that remained undiscovered until after the event, I was pleasantly surprised at how fantastically the staff handled the situation. A customer focussed approach is something so simple and effective, yet disappointingly hard to find at hospitality and retail spots these days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The central but quiet location, the comfortable rooms and appropriate facilities make the West Plaza an obvious choice for a business and pleasure stay in Wellington. A well priced hotel, with friendly helpful staff, I've stayed here before and will do so again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a mid-range value for money hotel in heart of Wellington city and your comments help others to choose West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Julie Wilcock General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The best part of the West Plaza is it's location, in the central city. My room was average but reasonably modern and clean. I have no complaints but nothing stands out either. I'd stay again if the price was right. The breakfast buffet is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Te Puke
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Checked into the hotel for the Sevens Tournament in February. The hotel location is good being close to the waterfont and after tournament party zone. The rooms are ok. Getting pretty old and worn out but then again the place is not expensive and this reflects the lack of quality. I suggest you dont use the back alley entrance to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We are aware of the incident and it was handled professionally at the time, we were not lying when we told you the reason why this happened. As we explained to you at the time there were two guests with identical surname’s in rooms very close to each other on the same floor on the night in question. When the... More

Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, the place was nice. We were given a small room but then opted for a suite. I guess this hotel is more for business guests. Location is good, service is alright. you have to pay for parking and wifi - so figure that out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Imagine Wellington CBD, I don't want to focus on the busy streets! Here I come from one of the most serene towns in New Zealand. I got a bit lost in the traffic where to find this hotel because when you are driving with a GPS, it won't understand that you are looking for the parking area side of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you positive comments it's always great to hear when guest have enjoyed their stay with us. I am so pleased that the reception staff could help you, we are lucky to have so many great staff at the hotel and we work hard to make sure they deliver exceptional customer service. We look forward to seeing you again... More

Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is excellent value if you are attending shows or theatre in the area. Prices are very reasonable, very well decorated foyer, staff welcoming, the place is always very clean with comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms, nice and quiet at night (no street noise to speak of). Restaurant and bar meals are good, happy hour with complimentary nibbles appreciated in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage West Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington #17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 7 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city Wakefields Restaurant and Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
102

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer