We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Wellington hotels

Amora Hotel Wellington

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Amora Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #12 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Tim B Masterton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (550)
  • Photos (92)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (139)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    262
    83
    24
    25
See reviews for
36
245
30
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An overnight stay from the Wairarapa - superb experience. We were heading off to a show at 2pm so rang to see if could check-in early, no problem! Upgraded to include evening meal which we had via room service, amazing including pre-dinner nibbles & dribbles in the bar where we were able to arrange our room service - too easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Tim B, Thanks so much for providing such an encouraging review, which I will share with my team. I am so pleased that we were able to assist in making your stay here in Wellington a pleasant one, and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the very near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell,... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights and we had a nice stay. Our room was clean with beautiful views of the harbour. Our main reason for choosing this hotel was the location - just a short walk from everything you need for a recreational visit to Wellington. Service was good and we enjoyed our stay, even if the hotel wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear roxdebruyn, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the convenient location that we are lucky to possess here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, with the waterfront, restaurant/bar/cafe district, and major shopping areas all within a short walking distance of the hotel. Thanks for your feedback, and I do hope you will give us... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic service here, all staff went out of their way to make my stay wonderful. Comfy bed, spacious rooms - only disappointment was a weak shower. Breakfast was great with an excellent range of continental items. Perfect location too with beautiful views. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Melissa B, I was delighted to read your comments, especially in relation to the service of our staff which seems to be a highlight for our guests and a real theme at the moment! I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with the water pressure of the shower, I will keep a close watch on feedback in... More

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay was pleasant I guess. Service was excellent, but we were a little disappointed with the room. We ate dinner in the restaurant, which was quite nice, but expensive for what we ordered. All the staff were exceptional, location was good, it is a shame a large building is currently being constructed in front of the hotel blocking what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Louise T, I have taken on board your comments and appreciate your feedback. I was happy to note that you found the service of our staff to be of a high standard, and I will share this with my team. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay, and I hope you will consider... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow extremely impressed with service from very first point of contact to final moments there..fantastic quality..consistent quinine friendly service including club lounge the grill restsurant housekeeping and reception. ..little slip up dry cleaning but they got right on to it giving no incident at all...brekkie was superb..even the chef obliged me with a recipe to his wonderful yogurt creation...x thanks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Debs H, I was delighted to read your review which highlights the service of our staff, as this is a major focus for us here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Thanks so much for your kind comments, and I hope this experience might entice you to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 3 nights here on a business trip. Well appointed room with super king bed, and large bathroom with bath & separate shower. The desk was a good size but getting onto my hands & knees to locate the sockets to charge my laptop wasn't very business-traveller friendly. Hotel had great amenities & I thoroughly recommend the relax and unwind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear EJTH, I very much appreciate your feedback and am pleased to read that you had a great night's sleep! I have taken on board your comments in relation to the difficulty you experienced in finding sockets to recharge your laptop, and will investigate this issue. Thank you for providing a review of your stay, and I hope you get... More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at Amora Hotel were friendly and professional. They made my family and I feel very welcome. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and there was a variety to choose from. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We will definitely stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear TKeo1, It is always such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback! Thanks so much for your encouraging comments which I will be sure to pass on to my team. I hope to welcome you and your family back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the very near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager More

Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent three nights in late June. Check in was quick and friendly. Our room was right opposite the lifts so had some noise from people in the middle of the night. The lifts were very quick and we rarely had to wait long for a lift. The room was spacious with comfortable chairs. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Ian58_12, Thanks so much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenient location we are lucky to have here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, and that the weather was kind to you! We do have some car parking available (a fee does apply) which we advise... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 715... great wake up views, quiet, service just the best, restaurant excellent, nothing too much trouble. Tried the Spa on this visit, had lovely relaxing massage. Central location and you can walk to any area of the CBD. Te Papa over the road. Free Wifi. Already booked again for Sept.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Carol K, I am delighted that you had a pleasant and relaxing time here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, and that you found the service of our staff and your experience in our Grill Restaurant to be of a high standard. Thanks so much for providing a review, and I hope to welcome you back again in the near... More

Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was spotless - which was very much appreciated. Good location. Walked to town and very handy to Te Papa. Large rooms. Bathroom was excellent. Large shower with great water pressure. Separate bath. Recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Erin C, Thanks so much for your feedback Erin! It is such a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests as it provides my staff with motivation and encouragement in response to all their hard work. I do hope you will visit us again at the Amora Hotel Wellington, in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Amora Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington #9 Business Hotel in Wellington #11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
192

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer