We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amora Hotel Wellington

4.5 of 5 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amora Hotel Wellington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amora Hotel Wellington
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    288
    91
    26
    26
See reviews for
42
262
31
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (614)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (151)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice rooms ... we'll presented. Unfortunately though the restaurant was a little short of the image. Was pricey but bland ... maybe it's my pallet but the flavors of the meal fell short. Having a waitress constantly yawning while serving probably didn't add to much to the experience. All up would definitely stay here again just choose somewhere else... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 407Ange, Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay; I very much appreciate your feedback and I have taken your comments on board. I do hope you will consider a return visit in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I checked in this hotel, the receptionist requested a deposit of room charge plus $50 per day. I paid this deposit using my credit card. When I checked out, I paid the room charge using the same credit card in the belief that the deposit of the first day would be cancelled. However, to my surprise, I found in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 494kuma, I am very sorry to read of your experience with our billing procedures and late response to your initial query. I have addressed this issue with our Front Office Manager and I will monitor this area closely. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel on 04... More

Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights at the Amora as part of our NZ tour. We were impressed with this hotel. It is in an excellent location - easy walk to great cafes and to shops. Rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant breakfasts were great. We would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear SuzyBSydney, I was delighted to read that your stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington met and may even have exceeded your expectations. I am very appreciative of your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager More

Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights last week...Thursday through Sunday. ALL the staff were terrific, from reception, concierge, housekeeping and restaurant. Smiling makes a difference and they certainly know how to smile, and mean it !! The room was spotless, the king-size bed incredibly comfortable ( I wanted to take it home), the breakfasts were great with an extensive selection and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear mrfrito, I very much appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your stay here at the Amora Hotel, highlighting the friendliness of our staff, the cleanliness of your room, the quality of your breakfast and the superb location we enjoy here in the heart of Wellington. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to... More

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked well in advance for my twin sister and myself, and got a WOW (World of Wearable Arts) two night special. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room with two double beds was very comfortable. Waterfront just a very short walk, close to venue and to cafes and of course shopping. Would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear BevR4414, Thanks so much for a very encouraging review of your stay here at the Amora Hotel. Your comments are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Wellington. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at the Amora Hotel in Wellington and could not fault the staff, hotel or the cleanliness of the room. Rooms were spacious, modern decor, super clean and smelt fresh too! We didn't eat at the hotel only because we had a long list of places to eat at in Wellington. Would highly recommend this hotel for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Nina F, I was delighted to read of your pleasant stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Your feedback is very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Zealand. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager More

Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I had a fabulous stay at Amora and will be returning in the near future hopefully,The restaurant and room service were superb as was the room standard.The beds were comfortable with the option of a pillow menu and there was limited outside noise.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear rosieg66, I was delighted to read your feedback in relation to your recent stay! It is such a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours, and our team will be very encouraged by your comments. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great stay here for 2 nights. room was perfect, location spot on and nice view of harbour. Close to cafes for breakfast and walking distance to main drag. Staff very helpful and nice. Will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear LeahThomo, Thanks so much for providing a very encouraging review of your stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, which I will share with my team. Your comments are much appreciated, and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit New Zealand. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location - easy walk to Te Papa and views from the hotel are great. Service was good and would definately stay there again. Afternoon tea has to be tried - delicious. Rooms comfortable and bathrooms ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Puzzler13, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, highlighting the service of our staff, the great location of the hotel, and your afternoon tea experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and I hope this visit might entice you to stay with us again here in Wellington,... More

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here last week for the night as had an event so we were not in the room much. The bathroom really needs an overhaul as it is quite grotty & the tiling actually put me off enjoying my shower. There is something wrong with their water as well so a dribbly shower. The king bed was good though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear joelandcharmaine, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. I have taken note of your comments and appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations; if you would like to discuss these issues further, please don't hesitate to contact me on 04 473 3900. I do... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay