We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trek Global to your Saves list
Trek Global
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Yolande S Paris, France
  • Overview
  • Reviews (95)
  • Photos (5)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
4
10
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The kitchen was absolutely filthy, the room was so tiny we could not even fit our luggage in, and the bed was really uncomfortable with a massive sag so you were stuck in a hole all night. The atmosphere on the main floor was somewhat cold. All of the fridges/food storage areas were excessively packed (and it wasn't high tourist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review. The kitchens are cleaned three times per day, I'm sorry that when you came to use the kitchen it unfortunately could have been in between the cleaning schedule. The cheaper dorms are the smallest rooms and the rate reflects this, if you were not happy with your room we would have recommended you to... More

Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Trek Global is well located and it's cheap but it's definitely not the place to go if you need to get a good night's sleep... People are noisy and the beds are really uncomfortable. The kitchen could use more sponges and tea towels as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. As we are a busy hostel the beds undergo a lot of use, however we are currently in the process of replacing the mattress's throughout the property. Kind regards, The Trek Team More

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at Trek while I was waiting for my flat tenancy to start so really liked the fact that there were a lot of people staying long term, it made it really easy to meet people. The price was extremely reasonable for the location, rooms, cleanliness, social aspects etc but the best thing about Trek is it's reception staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for your review! The team are absolutely delighted to hear your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Wellington! Many thanks, The Trek Team More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in Trek for nearly 12 weeks as I was on a working holiday visa in NZ and got a hospo job in the city. The hostel is spacious and extremely clean. Housekeeping is vigorous and carried out 3 times a day. The front of desk staff are helpful and approachable. They'll offer help and local knowledge on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Wellington. Your comments have been passed onto the team who were thrilled to hear them. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand! Kind regards, Team management More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hostel is very big, and has different sectors which are indicated by different colors. We stayed at two rooms on the purple and blue area. One of them was just perfect and the other one was very basic and both for the same price, also the environment changes a lot on each different sector as the each has an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently restructuring the schedule of cleaning the kitchens, with 5 communal kitchens to clean three times a day unfortunately the schedule can fall behind occasionally so we are looking at ways to prevent this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your... More

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have checked some of Wellington's hostels and none of those offered better quality in similar price. To be fair that is one of the cheapest options you can get and still better room/space/cleanliness wise. the location is just great - a very city centre just 5 mins from cuba street, 2 mins from "metro" new world. not bad view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and your comments regarding our housekeeping team who do a great job! Thanks again, Trek Global More

Helston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, wanted to stay for 3 but when we arrived they were fully booked. We stayed on the 2nd floor, the kitchen and toilets here were both nice and clean. They arranged for a pub quiz one night which was very fun. The staff were also very friendly and the location is perfect. The only downfalls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the quiz night! Please come back and stay again if you're in Wellington, Many thanks, The Trek Team More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Liked: near to tourist area (te papa, etc.), friendly staff, free tea and coffee Disliked: cheep beds (when the guy sleeping under you in the bunk moves, it seems like an earthquake), no free spices in kitchen, lots of long term stayers who put their stuff literately everywhere, so it's dirty and messy, and wifi is expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review, sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. The housekeeping team work hard to ensure the hostel is kept as clean & tidy as possible so I'm disappointed to hear you didn't experience this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time around New Zealand! Kind regards, The Trek Team, More

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March. Wellington is windy and cold but the rooms are bright and clean and have a decent duvet out keep you warm. When we checked into our room it hadn't been cleaned yet and was still gross from the last guests, we went down and told them and they sorted it out immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! Kind regards, Trek Team More

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was impressed with the standard of cleanliness. I stayed in a four-bed dorm which was rather crowded, but fine for the price. More clothes hooks would be helpful. I slept well despite the thin pillow. I could not find anywhere to store valuables securely but my stay was just one night so this was not an issue. I appreciated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again! Many thanks, Trek Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trek Global, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trek Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek Global

Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trek Global 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer