We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Wellington

345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wellington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Wellington
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    291
    276
    91
    40
See reviews for
215
239
89
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (775)
  • Mar-May only
    (216)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (219)
All months
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I have recently had the misfortune of staying at the Mercure Wellington on the Terrace. Brought a grab one mystery deal for $99 (never again). Hotel was very old and beyond outdated, the tiny shoe box of a room resembled a backpackers. The room not only felt dirty but had not been serviced or if so only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Dorissa, C. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, I am very disappointed that some aspects of your stay has not lived up to expectations and our normal service levels. I have investigated the concerns you have made on about the room supplies and comments made by my team. The reason why the products differed... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late at night after about almost 6 hrs drive from rotorua excl. any stops that we made. We were so tired and we did not expect that the hotel turned out to have one of the best and comfortable beds we experienced in nz. The hotel is quite old but location is quite close to the city center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear JM, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Wellington and found the bed to be very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Rob Poole General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were put in a lower floor room which meant it was cold and dark, with hardly any lighting in the rooms to compensate for this. I guess it wouldn't be a problem if you were upstairs and had plenty of daylight. The windows didn't close properly which was a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Dorrit2015 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It was pleasing to read we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again the next time you are in the Capital. Kind regards Rob Poole General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a family (2 adults and 2 boys, aged 10 and 11), we travelled to Wellington recently and stayed at The Mercure on The Terrace for 4 nights. We booked a room that had 2 double beds. It was perfect for our needs and the room was big enough for us all to fit comfortably. We had a fabulous stay!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Bridget74, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and that the boy's had fun especially using the heated indoor pool. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel the next time you are up in the Capital.... More 

UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here before and remember being very happy with my stay then. Location: It is on a very steep hill but apart from that it is not too far from the town which is downhill, in particular Cuba Street where there is a good selection of pubs, cafe's and restaurants. It is also very close to Victoria University... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Zedbiker, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon the next time you are in the Capital. Kind regards Rob Poole General Manager More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was on the 6th floor and looked over the city. Whilst the weather was very bad during our stay, the view from our room would have been great on a good day. A comfortable room, although the bathroom was in need of a good upgrade as there was a definite damp odour noticed. Showers over the bath really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Jeff H, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Wellington. It was great to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel and also some of the attractions Wellington has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon. Kind regards Rob Poole General Manager More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly and always welcoming. They were giving boxes of chocolates away regularly. The room was more than adequate, having two young children with us, but the situation of the hotel was not the best and did provide us with a lot more walking than we thought, although saying that we did get a very good price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 442Iana, Thank you for taking the time to post your review we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and the chocolates!. I am also pleased that you managed to have time to enjoy our leisure facilities on offer. I have investigated your comments about the pool and the water temperature has been between 27-28 degrees. While the... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights to show our two kids the sights of Wellington. The Mercure meet our requirements however I was pleased we had a Grabone Deal and weren't paying top dollar. The rooms are tired and the bathroom was very cramped. The room was clean but housekeeping didn't turn up to service the room until 5pm by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Kiwimumx1, Thank you for posting your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. We very much appreciate the comments you made with regards to the service & breakfast during your visit and I have forward these on to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon the next time... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night for a work trip last week and I was a little disappointed. I don’t expect luxury on a work trip, but this room was very basic and out-dated. Reading the other reviews and looking at the pictures on the website, I'm wondering if I just got put into the worst room in the place, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Kelly-AZ, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The Hotel highlights that we are located in the Cuba Quarter of Wellington and is five minutes’ walk to Cuba Street which boost some of Wellington's best restaurants, bars, cafes and retail outlets. I am sorry that your room was cold, even though Wellington has been experiencing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Wellington
Ibis Wellington
#19 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#25 of 48 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#16 of 48 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top