We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Wellington hotels

Bay Plaza Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bay Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
NannyLyn2013 Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    55
    79
    25
    22
See reviews for
24
85
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Blenheim, NZ
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying in the City for a conference, our organisation put us all up at the Bay Plaza (I'd stayed there a couple of times over the past 5 years) - boy does it need some work. Rooms are tiny, mine backed onto the carpark at the same level so i had to have the blinds pulled, and got to hear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cheap and clean.Great advantage of being on the edge of the city and so within walking distance of everything! Bathroom and the furniture are dated, but comfortable bed and good water-pressure in the shower. Opening windows are a big plus, and view from rooms at front are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel Wellington for another memorable stay. Regards Eileen More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed 3 nights. We were on the top floor(11) facing the harbour with an excellent view. The room was older style but clean with a queen and a single bed and adequate space. Loved the fact you could open windows. Bathroom was compact and old style tiled shower with curtain but the shower pressure was good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for your fantastic comments - We are a mid range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington. Your comments will help other to choose Bay Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington We look forward to welcoming you again, to Bay Plaza Hotel. Regards Eileen More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed over night. Room not very big. We were on the 8th floor and overlooked the back. Kettle and fridge in room. No free wifi. Parking available at a cost. Nothing fancy - just a room. Staff friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for posting your feedback, we really appreciate the comments you made. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed many of the hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel again the next time you visit the Capital. Regards Eileen More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This was a good hotel in it’s time. Unfortunately there has never been the investment required to maintain any part of the hotel. All facilities and locations are in a poor state and to their credit, the staff carry out a difficult job well with this tired old hotel. There is nothing we could say in favour of this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning t was a shame to read your comments online regarding the hotel and the services. We are a mid-range hotel located in the heart of the city, we provide a value for money experience with an excellent location in Wellington. I am sorry that we were not the style of hotel you prefer. Your comments have been noted... More

Waipukurau, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

WE stayed here because of the tour we were on, to go to WOW. The staff were all very friendly and our breakfast was wonderful. The room was comfy if a little over heated for my taste, however the opening window meant we could soon fix that particular problem. Great location within walking distance of our show and the shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We are well located for the TSB Arena, and glad you enjoy the show. We look forward to welcoming... More

Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We stayed with our three children and an au pair in interconnecting rooms and it was perfectly comfortable. Kids loved breakfast and staff were so friendly throughout the hotel.... The only hiccup was the horrendous noise from the wind in the night... Ok it's wellington but I think the windows need replacing. The bathrooms are older style but the showers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Kate Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and understanding our commitment to offer value for money. We are glad to hear that our restless effort to provide memorable experience was noted and appreciated. We would love to welcome your back in near future, to the Bay Plaza Hotel when you need a central city, affordable... More

wellington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Very tired rooms are pokey corridor very smelly first room was also musty here for a conference as lots of happenings in Wellington this weekend so shortage of accomodation so had to take what was available! $145 per night & $18 for parking !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We initially chose this hotel as they accepted flybuys and they also had carparking. But now we have stayed here, we will be coming back! Fantastic location, so close to everything, shopping, restaurants, cafes and of course our daughters accommodation! Staff were very helpful and servicing of rooms was great. Comfy bed and room had everything a hotel room should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Vicki Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff members, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel, and your comments have been passed on to the staff members. Yes we are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views, in... More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Each time we go to Wellington we end up near the Terrace somewhere, which can be a bit of a trek and after hours you end up going into these weird closed off mall areas to get back to your hotel. Decided to try this place, the location handy to the Courtenay Pl end of the CBD and therefore all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon SamArgh Thank you for posting such great feedback, we really appreciate the comments you made. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed many of the Hotel facilities. Yes we have a great central city location within walking distances of all the main attractions, with wonderful views. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Plaza... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay