We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 51 Wellington B&Bs / inns

Acorns Wellington

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   97 Inglis St | Seatoun, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounts and FREE WiFi
Save Saved
You added Acorns Wellington to your Saves list
Acorns Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
100%
Ranked #1 of 51 Wellington B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jasbo13 Australian Capital Territory, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
66
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a delightful place to rest up and use as a base when visiting Wellington. The rooms and facilities are all first class; our hosts Emily and Tim welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the location quiet, private, handy to shops, good restaurants, interesting coastal walks and the airport. But it was the little extras provided that made this venue stand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A wonderful place to stay! Very close to the city and the beach and with everything that you could possibly need. Beautiful breakfasts every day as well as loads of home made treats. Nothing was too much trouble for Emily and I would really recommend staying here. Basically a home away from home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

You will read other reviews with reference to the outstanding breakfast, bread, and home-baking that Acorns provides, not to mention the blissful comfort of a great night's sleep, and I have to say Tim and Emily at Acorns are nothing if not consistent. It is so refreshing to stay somewhere that makes the time spent there genuinely feel as comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Oxford English Dictionary describes “excellence” as “surpassing merit”. What an apt description for the Pohutukawa Suite at Acorns. From the suite design and appearance right down to the detail of the continental breakfast – all surpassed merit. It is delightful accommodation that is a marvellous introduction for visitors to Wellington and a great escape for locals. An absolute gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here, and it was superb. The Kowhai suite is tastefully decorated, with a view of the entrance to Wellington Harbour. It felt like a boutique hotel! The breakfast, bread, baking and drinks are delicious. The double bed is comfortable and the room is spacious enough to add another single bed if needed, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in Wellington for business, Saturday through Monday. Staying in city hotels gets old, quick. I was looking for something different for a fair price. Where do I start? Emily and Tim are excellent. The location is great. Close to the city, airport, and beaches. Heated tile floors in the bathroom. Fresh bread,jam, fruit and granola every morning. Cable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Although a small 'B&B', Acorns' accomodation is more akin to a luxury hotel run by a friendly, well organised couple. Each room is fully self contained, beautifully furnished and the 'continental' breakfast is superb by Wellington hotel standards. We stayed in the rear room which although without sea view does have its own walled courtyard which is relatively quiet despite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dothan, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

When I arrived, my hosts were not there but as they said, there would be an envelope in the mail box with my name on it so I could get into my room. I can't say enough good things about my initial impression. There was fresh baked bread, several NZ jams, butter, fresh fruit, homemade granola, milk, two bottles of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thorold, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

B&B was lovely, but more like staying in a hotel then B&B. Was greeted, but just enough to get us into the room. Private courtyard, and semi-private entrance meant we didn't really see anyone for the nights we were there. A bit disappointing since we chose B&Bs for the reason of talking to other couples, or at least the owner,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily B, Owner at Acorns Wellington, responded to this review

So sorry you felt the service was impersonal. You were unwell when you arrived here and also during your stay , and we offered help and advice about a doctor. You told us you just needed to rest. We did try to catch up with you on a number of occasions, to make sure you had everything you needed, but... More

at home
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed for one night in December in the lovely Kowhai Suite with a small kitchen and a washing machine and dryer and a huge TV. We found this apartment an excellent value, Emily was very friendly and provided lots of information. We even got some freshly baked cookies. We would stay here again and recommend highly to staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Acorns Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Acorns Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Wellington

Address: 97 Inglis St | Seatoun, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Wellington 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Acorns Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wellington with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Acorns is the perfect base for your Wellington stay - stylish, self-contained and private bed and breakfast accommodation, just 10 or 15 minutes by car from downtown Wellington and five minutes from Wellington airport. Our property has two lovely studio suites, each with their own external entrance and private courtyards. Each beautiful studio offers: Breakfast kitchen with daily provisions,Queen bed,Quality furnishings and linen,Tiled bathroom with full amenities. Free WiFi and broadband, Sky TV, CD, DVD. Laundry facilities available. Safe on-street car parking.We offer you as much privacy as you want, with as much help as you need, to ensure you have a fantastic stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acorns Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer