We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Gourmet Stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gourmet Stay to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Liena_V Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
54
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the double room which turned out to have a private bathroom separately across from our room instead of an en suite which was a bit convenient. The room itself was tiny and very basic; the interior is plain and unimaginative. There was nothing "gourmet" about the place apart from the name. The "off street parking" that cost $10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Much nicer than the big hotels - warm welcome, great service and the king room on the roof with a spa pool is fabulous. There is a cafe downstairs and it's walking distance to all the great sites in Wellington.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Had to ring a bell for service, as the cafe was shut. Clean and tidy. The owner cooked sweets which were free for the guests to eat. A very nice and helpful owner. Not many car spots, we had to park on the street. Short walk to the main streets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Super little boutique hotel tucked away on a side street in Wellington. Minimalist decor well done, and rooms thoughtfully outfitted. Within walking distance of Te Papa museum and Cuba Street restaurants & art galleries. They offered many suggestions for good places to eat. The cafe was closed between Christmas & New Year's, when we were there (sadly, no scones on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy M, Manager at Gourmet Stay, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review Gourmet Stay. It's so enjoyable for us to have family groups like yours stay. The only thing i need to clarify is that the sign on the door was only offering the cafe space for lease. This has been resolved and it is business as usual. The hotel is not... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Sheets weren't clean, had stains on the pillow and blankets. Stuffed up our booking. When is a private bathroom not a bathroom? When its not connected to your room. Sound insulation was very poor, could hear doors closing and people talking in other rooms. Checked out early and got a better deal at a proper HOTEL with better standard amenities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy M, Manager at Gourmet Stay, responded to this review

We appreciate feedback on guests experience, however we also appreciate it when the entire experience is revealed. In this case the guests booked with Expedia, but contacted us directly to ascertain the exact set up with the private bathroom, shared bathroom and ensuite bathroom options that we have. We informed them that they had booked one of the rooms that... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I am writing this from the comfort from my three bed dorm room bed before I leave and the buzz of my next stop distracts me so I do not get a chance to tell you what a smashing place I thought Gourmet Stay was. Single traveler wanting something good value for money, central, off the track of your knees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at gourmet stay and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is quaint and very clean. We were worried about a shared bathroom but it was actually a really nice bathroom and was kept clean all the time. The only negative thing id say is that there wasn't a toilet brush so sometimes it was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Room 3 at this delightful accommodation which was located very close to Cuba street. We travelled with a 2 year old toddler and she loved the extra large sized rooms compared to the tiny capsules you usually get at hotels. The room was also very very clean and equipped with cutleries, plates, bowls, fridge and microwave. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Treated ourselves to the Penthouse with Hot Tub for the last 2 days of our NZ adventure. Small room, large balcony, but the memory of enjoying Fireworks Night on a cold Spring evening in the tub will linger for a long time. Lack of parking was a bit aggravating, especially with Wellington being do-able on foot, and the street was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Always moving...
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

The location is very central and you can walk all over Wellington from there. I stayed in a dorm room. There were three beds and it was a shared bathroom. The room was spotless. Super comfortable and quiet. Just what I needed. Staff are helpful kind and polite. There are tips about where to eat on a board as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay