We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   66 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ohtel to your Saves list
Ohtel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (54)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    47
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
135
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This small boutique hotel in Wellington is close to the nightlife area and has beautiful views. I have stayed here several times before and am always greeted by very friendly helpful staff. I stayed in room 4 which was very well appointed. I prefer the studio though as it has a huge bath (no view though). Ohtel is always my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ohtel promised a fantastic night away and certainly delivered! My girlfriend and I were celebrating our one month anniversary and our room (room 2) provided a secluded, romantic and charming night away in the 'big' city. We were both treated to a lovely morning breakfast, featuring french toast and banana which was to die for. I'd recommend this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Location great, walk away from bars. Great staff, clean rooms that are very spacious. Few points the ground floor room had a tiny window in the corner that doesn't open... would have liked bigger windows. Sure there are nicer rooms in the hotel. Also TV was not opposite bed but at a strange angle on the wall and was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The place to stay in Wellington, OHETL ....This small boutique hotel is awesome from the location, view, decor, design to the service and cleanliness. I stayed in the junior suite which has views of the harbour and park which was nice. The decor was perfect,will stay there again ... 5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In our recent trip around NZ I have got to say this was the worst part. We stayed here for two nights and quite frankly I would have left but we had paid in advance and there was no refund. Wellington is not going to be on my agenda again. NZ is lovely but this place was a definite low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Niall and Marian, I'm really disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy Wellington and Ohtel - both are generally well regarded by visitors. I'm a bit puzzled by a couple of your comments and your expectations referencing '5 star'. We are a 4.5 star self-rated, owner-run, boutique hotel with just 10 rooms. As you have pointed out, our small lobby... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We did and loved it! Very helpful staff, and a quiet intimate feel to the place. Rooms were well appointed and we had a fantastic roomy bathroom. Loved the cafe at reception (good breakfast!), and loved the location. If you are a Kiwi you'll get the cultural references, if your not then its a great chance to break from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Yellow_Eyed, I hope the kids were well behaved while you got some well-earned time out with each other. Ohtel is the perfect place to escape from life's daily commitments ! Thanks Alan More

Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Checked into the deluxe room for the night with my wife, now kicking myself for not staying longer. Let me sum up my stay in a few words or the best I possibly can - great location, clean, quite, spacious, secluded and beautifully decorated with rustic furniture which is rather refreshing compared to all the other places I've checked-in previously...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Zealnz, I'm glad you found us and enjoyed tucking into the minibar.. Being only 4 hours drive away, I'm sure you'll have reason to come back some time soon ! Alan More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel that does everything really well. Great staff, great coffee, great food, great location, great decor. Ohtel just nails it. 10 rooms makes this an intimate experience, you are respected, remembered and obviously valued. Stop looking elsewhere!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Ado ! Thanks for the high praise ! We really love it when people 'get' our place. Appreciate your review - hope to see you back soon. Alan More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Beautifully decorated unique boutique hotel on the waterfront. Rooms and bathrooms are huge in size and would highly recommend this accommodation. The staff where very friendly and go that extra mile to make your stay great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Nice to hear from you BJC - and great that you enjoyed your stay ! It's policy here, (well with all 3 of us), that we are committed to making your time not just inside the hotel, but in our great little city, the best it can be. We like to get to know our guests and what they are... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend getaway in town. Right on the beach at Oriental Parade, beautifully decorated and great bathrooms, and the huge bed was very comfortable with great bedding. I can highly recommend this place, quielty tucked into Oriental Parade. Close to many restaurants and you can go for a walk on the parade/beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Frieda, The location is handy as you say, to a lot of great eating houses and the seaside promenade. Our back rooms are a little cheaper, but spacious and quiet, so perfect if you are going to be out and about a lot. All the best ! Alan More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ohtel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington #3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington #3 Business Hotel in Wellington #8 Family Hotel in Wellington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer