We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   66 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ohtel to your Saves list
Ohtel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
88%
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (229)
  • Photos (44)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    47
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
137
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like it says - beautifully furnished with mid-cent mod. Gorgeous sideboard which I couldn't fit in my suitcase. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent facilities and security. Very comfy bed. Lovely sheets and towels. Will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With only one day and night to explore Wellington and an early start the next morning this was perfect, central location, a short walk from the picton ferry terminal, in the middle of the city and 20 mins drive from the airport. Awesome room with some very cool little touches, relaxed, friendly and really helpful staff who gave us some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Wellington during a stormy squall so we were delighted to get checked in. We were given room 5 which was a very stylish room with some artworks on the walls. It is Very stylishly decorated. It also had the Most amazing spacious bathroom with huge corner bath and separate shower. The mini bar was the biggest and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great place this is! Right across the from the water on Oriental Parade this boutique hotel plays above its weight. With only ten rooms it has a very intimate feel. All of the staff are very professional and well briefed in the art of service. We had a room on the 3rd floor, not a suite but close.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This small boutique hotel in Wellington is close to the nightlife area and has beautiful views. I have stayed here several times before and am always greeted by very friendly helpful staff. I stayed in room 4 which was very well appointed. I prefer the studio though as it has a huge bath (no view though). Ohtel is always my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Thanks Sampdog for being a regular. Some guests like to try a different room each time, others discover a favourite and stick with it. See you again soon ! Alan More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Ohtel promised a fantastic night away and certainly delivered! My girlfriend and I were celebrating our one month anniversary and our room (room 2) provided a secluded, romantic and charming night away in the 'big' city. We were both treated to a lovely morning breakfast, featuring french toast and banana which was to die for. I'd recommend this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Braden, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others, and congratulations on your 1 month anniversary ! I have just been filling out an on-line request for a government congratulatory message for my parents' upcoming 50th wedding anniversary.. A long way to go to match that for both of us ! Alan More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Location great, walk away from bars. Great staff, clean rooms that are very spacious. Few points the ground floor room had a tiny window in the corner that doesn't open... would have liked bigger windows. Sure there are nicer rooms in the hotel. Also TV was not opposite bed but at a strange angle on the wall and was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review James, and good advice reminding guests to confirm room location before finalising your booking as they all offer something slightly different. There are pdf floor plans of the hotel on our website, or if you are not good with pictures, please give us a call with any queries you may have. Alan More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The place to stay in Wellington, OHETL ....This small boutique hotel is awesome from the location, view, decor, design to the service and cleanliness. I stayed in the junior suite which has views of the harbour and park which was nice. The decor was perfect,will stay there again ... 5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Tan E, Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the view from your room. Hope to see you again soon ! Alan More

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In our recent trip around NZ I have got to say this was the worst part. We stayed here for two nights and quite frankly I would have left but we had paid in advance and there was no refund. Wellington is not going to be on my agenda again. NZ is lovely but this place was a definite low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Niall and Marian, I'm really disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy Wellington and Ohtel - both are generally well regarded by visitors. I'm a bit puzzled by a couple of your comments and your expectations referencing '5 star'. We are a 4.5 star self-rated, owner-run, boutique hotel with just 10 rooms. As you have pointed out, our small lobby... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We did and loved it! Very helpful staff, and a quiet intimate feel to the place. Rooms were well appointed and we had a fantastic roomy bathroom. Loved the cafe at reception (good breakfast!), and loved the location. If you are a Kiwi you'll get the cultural references, if your not then its a great chance to break from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Yellow_Eyed, I hope the kids were well behaved while you got some well-earned time out with each other. Ohtel is the perfect place to escape from life's daily commitments ! Thanks Alan More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ohtel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wellington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington #3 Business Hotel in Wellington #3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington #7 Family Hotel in Wellington
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ohtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer