We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Taupo hotels

The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo to your Saves list
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
96%
Ranked #4 of 72 hotels in Taupo
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
kate_adams_1993 Wellington
  • Overview
  • Reviews (345)
  • Photos (77)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    78
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
197
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here in a lake-end room in August for my birthday. The room was spotless, clean cosy and just perfect for what we were after. The downstairs had the bedroom, bathroom and spa. The upstairs the kitchen, table & lounge. Watching the sun set over the lake while having dinner was really amazing. The kitchen is getting renovated in August... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, we only stayed for one night in Taupo and didn't expect a lot... However, our accomodation took us by surprise! For our trip throughout NZ we haven't come across any hotal, appartment or place we enjoyed more. We had the cheapest room and it was lovely. Such a warm and cosy environment was not expected. Our host... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

So good to have you stay. It is always exciting to see a past exchange student come back to visit their host country. Hope that the rest of your visit went really well and that your health picked up quickly so that you could enjoy every minute. Thanks for your lovely review. More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay at the Cottage Mews on our trip to NZ in celebration of our Golden Wedding Anniversary because its quaint architecture reminded us of our younger years in Yorkshire England. Julie, our hostess, was warm and welcoming and gave us many tips on where to go and what to see in the local area. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

So nice to have you both here for your golden wedding celebration. Did you get to see the Aratiatia Rapids on your way back to Auckland? I hope your day in LA gave you a chance to catch up before heading home. Thanks for your suggestions and your generous feedback, I really enjoyed meeting you both. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cottage Mews is a "superior" motel and we paid a premium for a lake-end one-bedroom unit. The welcome and service was excellent. The fittings and furniture were above average - even though we thought it odd to have a spa bath right in the bedroom! We probably shouldn't have paid for a premium room because, even by expensive Taupo standards,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hello Tim. Yes, the bedroom spa baths in the lake-end apartments are quirky, but the view from the bath to the TV is great! Good to meet you both on your trip south. The blossom trees are not quite flowering yet, as they were in Russell, but they're not far off. Our miniature daffodils suggest that spring is about to... More

Kerikeri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed here while passing through on business. The room was very clean and well presented, hosts Terry and Julie were really nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We have now stayed twice. The rooms were awesome, great spa baths and the view from the room with the upstairs was really lovely looking out at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Look forward to seeing you next time you're down our way, Mike and Julie. Our new kitchens are almost done in all units and we're excited about the busier months ahead. Thanks very much for your review, we appreciate it. More

Adelaide Hills, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Cottage Mews in July. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable, warm and reasonably priced. I would like to thank Julie for being so helpful and friendly. She gave us lots of local tips and was more than happy to help with any requests we had. We had a fantastic afternoon with the push bikes they had for... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

You're very welcome, Rokaco. We feel lucky to live in such a beautiful part of New Zealand and we're always keen to show off the special places around the lake. Glad you enjoyed your bike ride - the path along the lakeshore is really popular, in summer and also on these cold but clear and calm winter days. The view... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cant fault this place. We stayed here a couple weeks back and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was warm and comfty on the cold winter nights. Hosts were welcoming and helpful in recommending places to dine out. Would stay here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hi whiterabbit1. Your first Trip Advisor review! We're grateful. Thanks for staying and especially for posting your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again - maybe for a warm weather visit next time. More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were warmly welcomed on a cold wintry day and were given great recommendations for dinner as well as for activities around the area with maps and pamphlets all provided with a smile.The unit had a nice kitchenette and a lovely spa bath in the upper floor.The laundry room near the reception area was also well stocked and very neat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Min 158. It always seems a shame to need a laundry on holiday, but it's one of those unavoidable things! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and taking time to give us your positive feedback. Best wishes. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely and helpful welcome by Julie, great little unit...(loved the spa bath!). Very close to lakeshore and a gentle 30-min walk in to town. Good value. Plenty of parking. Kayaks available to rent. Breakfasts and snacks available on request.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Great to have you stay Bloomers 26 - you definitely fitted a lot in during your time in Taupo. A shame it was a bit cool for kayaking - the geothermal areas were a warmer option! More

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The unit was clean and we were warmly welcomed.Lovely view of the lake from our unit and we were able to nice and warm on a cold winter's night. Enjoyed the spa bath. An early morning walk on lake edge was great. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you D and L - glad you were warm as we have had some cold frosty nights through winter. Hope you enjoyed the family time and will visit again. We appreciate you taking time to review your stay with us. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Taupo with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taupo #2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo #2 Romantic Hotel in Taupo #4 Family Hotel in Taupo
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer