We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Lodge Motel

4.0 of 5 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Lodge Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colonial Lodge Motel
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice small lodging directly opposite the lake front across road. Rooms are private and you don't feel like you are intruding on other guests. Friendly hosts whom extended their knowledge and experience working in this environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had 5 nights at this Motel and could not have been made feel more welcome. Anthony checked on us regularly to see if everything was alright and gave us loads of tips of places to visit. We were sad to leave. Good value for the money and close to all attractions (cab ride or drive into the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I had just travelled from a friends house in Wellington, heading back home (Te Puke) and I wanted some time alone, kind of like a dirty weekend. When we had made our way to the front reception, the man there had just turned up, and friendly as he was, held the front door open to welcome us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
arundel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Good clean accommodation ,spa bath in room ,good size very helpful and friendly manager stunning location opposite the lake lovely views ,hard to fault sky t.v in the room free Wi-Fi fresh milk supplied

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Colonial Lodge Motel Revisited. It has been slightly more than a year since we stayed in the motel. We had such a fantastic time that we decided to re visit. We were not disappointed, the place has undergone a lot of improvement, our spacious room has been newly painted and lovely wall decorative features added. It is a great place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whangarei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial lodge Motel . I was driving along the lake terrace and went in and asked if I could be shown the rooms. what a great surprise Gone were the pokie little units i have previously stayed at and hello a nice big roomy room plenty of room to spread out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We booked 3 weeks in advance , they were supposed to take$30.00 deposit but took $300.00 !! They could not explain why when we checked in on the Friday and informed them that a phone call would have cleared it up.The room was old and dated with mould on the bath and shower , cracked tiles and worn out towels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Noel B, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Visitor 999 Actually you are the 1883 rd visitor to the property since we recently bought it. We appreciate constructive comments from Guests. If you had noticed, you would have seen that the property is undergoing renovations especially in the bathrooms.The interior painting has been completed, Tiles, Artwork and Furnishings have been delivered. It all takes time and as... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is the fourth time my wife and I have visited Taupo. Each time we stay at the Colonial Lodge Motel. Why don't we try somewhere else? Well when you are onto good thing stick to it. The reception manager Anthony speaks chinese so he and my wife hit off and I just leave them. Noel the manager wonderful guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Innkeeper_Taupo, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi. Many thanks for your review. We are now getting quite a few regulars that appreciate our property and our service and guest support. Loyalty always has it rewards in good and bad times. As you have seen, the property has changed considerably from your first visit. We intend to keep improving what we are doing. We don't mind the... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

"they say don't judge a book by its cover".. at first i thought i would not have a good experience of this motel by judging it from the front.. but i was wrong.. the owner was such a sweet guy. he showed us the room and it just made us feel at home.. you have a beautiful view of lake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sam Thank you for your review. Yes, we are a Hidden Treasure by the Lake as our return guests comment. Our Deluxe Spa Suites and Apartments on the Top Floor offer views from the balcony tables and chairs. Nice to sit and watch the activities on the lake in summer and catch the winter sun during winter. Yet they... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place would have been ok if it weren't for the front of house staff. They were rude and unhelpful. We were given about one and a half toilet paper rolls for the 2 night stay, which meant that we ran out on the first night just after the reception closed leaving us wiping with hands for a good 10ish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Madam Thank you for the Review. We always appreciate honest and/or constructive reviews. As per our website, the One Bedroom apartment you stayed in has 1 Queen Bed in the Bedroom and two Single Beds in the Living Room. It also has a Kitchen, large Bathroom with a Spa Bath and also a Dining Table and chairs as well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#22 Luxury Hotel in Taupo

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay