We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Lodge Motel

4.0 of 5 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Lodge Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colonial Lodge Motel
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Whangarei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial lodge Motel . I was driving along the lake terrace and went in and asked if I could be shown the rooms. what a great surprise Gone were the pokie little units i have previously stayed at and hello a nice big roomy room plenty of room to spread out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 3 weeks in advance , they were supposed to take$30.00 deposit but took $300.00 !! They could not explain why when we checked in on the Friday and informed them that a phone call would have cleared it up.The room was old and dated with mould on the bath and shower , cracked tiles and worn out towels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Noel B, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Visitor 999 Actually you are the 1883 rd visitor to the property since we recently bought it. We appreciate constructive comments from Guests. If you had noticed, you would have seen that the property is undergoing renovations especially in the bathrooms.The interior painting has been completed, Tiles, Artwork and Furnishings have been delivered. It all takes time and as... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is the fourth time my wife and I have visited Taupo. Each time we stay at the Colonial Lodge Motel. Why don't we try somewhere else? Well when you are onto good thing stick to it. The reception manager Anthony speaks chinese so he and my wife hit off and I just leave them. Noel the manager wonderful guy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeeper_Taupo, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi. Many thanks for your review. We are now getting quite a few regulars that appreciate our property and our service and guest support. Loyalty always has it rewards in good and bad times. As you have seen, the property has changed considerably from your first visit. We intend to keep improving what we are doing. We don't mind the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

"they say don't judge a book by its cover".. at first i thought i would not have a good experience of this motel by judging it from the front.. but i was wrong.. the owner was such a sweet guy. he showed us the room and it just made us feel at home.. you have a beautiful view of lake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sam Thank you for your review. Yes, we are a Hidden Treasure by the Lake as our return guests comment. Our Deluxe Spa Suites and Apartments on the Top Floor offer views from the balcony tables and chairs. Nice to sit and watch the activities on the lake in summer and catch the winter sun during winter. Yet they... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place would have been ok if it weren't for the front of house staff. They were rude and unhelpful. We were given about one and a half toilet paper rolls for the 2 night stay, which meant that we ran out on the first night just after the reception closed leaving us wiping with hands for a good 10ish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Madam Thank you for the Review. We always appreciate honest and/or constructive reviews. As per our website, the One Bedroom apartment you stayed in has 1 Queen Bed in the Bedroom and two Single Beds in the Living Room. It also has a Kitchen, large Bathroom with a Spa Bath and also a Dining Table and chairs as well... More

Wavendon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first motel in NZ after a long drive from Auckland was disappointing to say the least but we were exhausted from travelling for 24 hours. Don't get me wrong, the staff were very helpful and the studio suite was all it stated although very dated and tired which was not the complaint. It was the overpowering smell of old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review. We understand that after a continual 24 Hours of plane travel and then a 3 plus hours drive from Auckland is quiet a feat to carry out at your stage of life. We note you had problems sleeping and admit it is difficult after flying for 24 hours in different time zones and then... More

San Francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This lodge was randomly chosen by an i-site center, and I'm so happy to have stay at this wonderful place. There is no view of the lake from the rooms, but it's certainly lake front in that it's just across the street. It is a little ways away from the heart from town (about 10 minutes), but that means parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Flashpacker. Thanks for the review. Much appreciated. Yes we offer something quite different to our guests than they would expect. Our Suites and Family Apartments are much larger than others in the area and we have beds in the Apartments and Suites so guests do not have to pull out Sofa Beds for the additional family or guests. Our... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I chose this hotel by other Trip Advisor reviews and value for money. It was clean and a good location by the lake front but if you do not have a car, it is too far from the town. Comfortable beds and a quiet location so good nights sleep, one of my main criteria. Could do with more than the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Layerliz Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found us adequate and that you would stay with us again. We strive to accommodate all guests tastes and needs. Being only 1.3 Klms from the centre of town it is not all that far to stroll. Many of our guests, of Senior Years, love the pleasant walk... More

Harnosand, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had booked Baywater Motor Inn just a few metres down the road. When we got there we found out that the previous owners had left the place, no reservation for us and no idea if we’d get our prepaid money back. However the owner of this hotel managed to save our last week in New Zealand. Very friendly, home... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Anki. It was great to have you stay with us and hope that your return home was pleasant. Back to the cold must have been a shock to your system after our windy but pleasant weather. We are happy to hear that your stay with us ended your trip in a pleasant way. Nice to leave wiht good memories... More

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hi Guys. We wrote a review as we promised we would but it must have gone astray. Great Apartment, Great Sleep, Great Location right on the main beach. Very friendly Hosts. The home Made Cookies delighted the kids. Easy access to a lot of the attractions around Taupo. We found the walk to the shopping centre an easy pleasant stroll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Hobbitman. We were wondering what happened to the review as some time had passed since you notified us you had written one. Glad we could be of service to your and your family during your stay. We look forward to your next holiday stay with us. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay