We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Taupo accommodations

Silver Fern Lodge

118 Tamamutu Street | cnr Tamamutu Street and Kaimanawa Streets, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Silver Fern Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Fern Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
mainur_rahman Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I and my friend stayed there for one night in April 2012. The hotel was very quiet that time. They let us look the room first before we checked in. We stayed in a 4person shared room where there was no one else. The toilet and bathroom was very clean. The kitchen has lots of crockeries to cook your own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had arranged this accommodation 6 months ago due to the busy time of the year. We were a hens party of 14 people all of whom were 30+ professionals, which we had clearly addressed when booking (and the several times we reconfirmed). Upon arrival we were immediately confronted with aggressive staff stating they didn't accommodate hens parties. They did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverfern lodg... T, Manager at Silver Fern Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry if you thought we were abrupt but when one of your group told us that they had booked and there was nothing we could do about it we had to point out a few conditions as our other guest's comfort comes 1st. Not Hen parties as stated on our web page. As you can... More 

Seongnam
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
138 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With so many choices in Taupo, this is a safe bet...I was worried at first after checking in when there were scores of 20-somethings wondering around the halls with beers with loud music blasting out of their dorm rooms...like a flashback of my freshman year in college...was dreading an obnoxious stay...however, all the guests were considerate of others in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very comfortable and clean. Has everything you need in it and is in a perfect location. Staff at front desk could have been a little bit more friendly but they weren't rude so nothing to complain about. Would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The motto of Silver Fern is "Rest for Less". We received a very friendly welcome and shown to a comfortable, well-furnished room with a balcony, facilities for making tea and coffee and a pleasant bathroom. All was spotlessly clean. The lodge has a large communal kitchen and dining facilities, so it is probably a good place for families and young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This was our second overnight stay here and it was every bit as good as the first time. Location is excellent - a short walk to the shopping centre & restaurants and a couple of blocks to the Lake. We had an easy check in with a helpful host. Our studio unit was very spacious with tea & coffee making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed at the silver fern motel in August this year with our two children. It is a very basic clean and tidy accommodation. The owners of the motel were very helpful and friendly would highly recommend them about the knowledge of the area and suitable family styled restaurants. The rooms warm up very quickly after a cold day out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights. this morning we walked in and the first thing she said to us was "don't drink tonight" also telling us things that are irrelevant to us, telling us the kitchen was really dirty and it took her 4 hours to clean it when we never even went into the kitchen. Never coming here again there's 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverfern lodg... T, Manager at Silver Fern Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you have such negative things to say about myself and the Silver Fern Lodge. When you arrived I did ask you to be considerate of other guests and if you were drinking to please keep your noise down, this I do for all groups that arrive. At no time were you told you were... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

All round excellence offered at these facilities. Great value for money, open communication with Sue (very friendly) and smooth transaction throughout. Will definitely stay again! Thank you Sue for having us From the A1431 NZCC Officer School of Cadets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Clean and comfortable but only spoke to the female owner twice and both times she wasn't friendly, we locked ourselves out at 11.15pm so I rang her from outside our room and she sighed loudly then said "I'm in bed" not at all friendly, and she was the same when I rang a few days before departure, so won't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silverfern lodg... T, Manager at Silver Fern Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but was some what suprised as when your husband checked you out, he thanked me, said lovely place and will see you next time. Sorry that you felt I was grumpy, but being woken up after a very long day, I could have been a bit short, I apologies once again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Silver Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Lodge

Address: 118 Tamamutu Street | cnr Tamamutu Street and Kaimanawa Streets, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Hotel

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay