We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Taupo hotels

Baywater Lakeview Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Baywater Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #30 of 71 hotels in Taupo
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Katy L
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very modern, classy and clean. Even had a hot tub in the lounge. It was a lovely stay. The staff were exceptional, location couldn't be better with a lake view, highly recommended. We travelled as a group of four, the bedding arrangement was perfect. Very suitable for families too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed many times with the Baywater over the years (and now with our two children) and we have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are looking fantastic after a great job of having them refurbished. The extra little touches have also been noticed and appreciated within the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jackie. The owners have gone to some lengths to refurbish the motel and with comments such as yours, they are very happy their clients are appreciative of what they have done. Again, many thanks for your review and hope to meet up with you again soon. More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife on our trip to Taupo and it Was honestly a fantastic experience. Manager was extremely friendly and hospitable. We arrived late on our trip from Waitomo and room was pre-warmed. Spa in the room was fantastic. The wife and I wanted to remain in-room a lot due to the weather and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Ramanem for your review. Christine had the pleasure of meeting you and ensuring you had a great stay of which she did an excellent job. Yes we did have a few problems with the hot water, we had a leak in the cylinder and needed fixing which happened during your stay. Another cylinder tank will be installed to... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Motel was absolutely fantastic! The staff were great, the rooms were exactly how they are pictured and the atmosphere was awesome. There was a group of us that went down from Auckland to stay for the weekend so there were 3 separate rooms that i ordered and all of them were presented so nicely and were warm (important for... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Maree. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again. More

Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Bayswater on an early weekend in june for a night, great service and the room was very comfortable. This made our weekend in taupe that much greater being lakeside with a spa bath and very clean tidy room. thanks team for making our taupe experience amazing!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again in the near future. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A lovely motel, with fantastic views of the lake. Great spa bath in the middle of the room. Has been a wonderful motel for me when travelling with business and personal. Unfortunately new manager does not seem to be interested in looking after clients. Have been made to feel second class, which considering I stay every month all year round... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was not rude to you when discussing the price increase on your arrival, I explained that the prices had been increased for Corporate Rates last year and to fall into line with all other Corporates we had to increase your rates also. Yes, in hindsight I could have phoned you to let you know,... More

Te Puke
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at Baywater Queens Birthday weekend, we had an awesome weekend in Taupo and Highly recommend this motel, service and staff were great, can't wait to go back again. We stayed 2 nights in an apartment with a spa bath , rooms were clean and well serviced, thanks team .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Their catch phrase "Enter as strangers and leave as friends" is so true. They are really nice units with a great view of the lake. We arrived late on a stop over on a trip from Auckland to Wellington.We had a hiccup with the hot water and Stephen went to great lengths outside his normal hours to help us out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been stay in this motel 3 times over couple of years. Love the moden room, spa and the amazing view. This time we stay 2 nights and have a little issue. We got a bottle of milk when check in at the frist day and didn't get another one on seconed day. So I asked the man at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here, the rooms are modern, clean, has everything you could possibly need and the spa gives it that little extra touch for that relaxing weekend away. The owners were very friendly and more than accommodating. With only a hop skip and a jump to the water and a short walk or taxi ride to town the Baywater is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Baywater Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#3 Spa Hotel in Taupo #10 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo #19 Family Hotel in Taupo #26 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fully Refurbished October 2013,We have the most picture perfect location in Taupo, situated on Lake Terrace and facing out to the Lake and mountains, Baywater Lakeview Motel has the luxury of being close to town, shops and cafes while still being just far enough away for you to wind down on the balcony, soak up the view and truly enjoy the surroundings and scenery before you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer