We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Taupo hotels

Baywater Lakeview Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Baywater Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Baywater Lakeview Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
72%
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Taupo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tanya S
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
34
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the in room spa, view of lake, two tvs and location. Would definetely come back. Our only gripe would be that walls are a bit thin and we had terrible neighbors. Plus rooms very light at night perhaps dark curtains as be very light in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel was very well appointed' clean tidy and a close walk to the township. Would certainly stay here again. Good parking, great view across the lake. Bed was comfortable and having a spa in the room novel but nice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great stay, great view, lovely comfortable beds and nice unit ..however the people above us got up at 6am & we could hear footsteps and water pipes very loudly Which woke everyone in our room. weren't impressed with this on a saturday after a long drive to Taupo the night before and a ccompetition to compete in = ended up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to find the unit quite modern and the location good with nice views. We came to relax and after turning in early were disappointed to be woken by hearing all the movement in the unit above. The volume of footsteps and water taps kept us awake throughout the night and woke us in the morning. We sadly didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon our stay with Baywater Motel, we were very dissatisfied with our experience here. To start of with, when arriving at the motel we were treated with no customer service at all and seemed like the staff member was in a grumpy mood that we had arrived late even though we has notified the office we were coming late. Then,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve D, Manager at Baywater Lakeview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. In response to your dissatisfaction, we found you very rude and arrogant on arrival in that you thought that you were better than us. You did phone at 7pm stating you were not far away and we did state that closing time was 9:30. When you were not here... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and value. Affordable and decent price for everything you get. Exceptional service, clean, great location as close to shops and restaurants as well as taupo attractions, comfortable beds and room space, great facilities- 42 inch tv, movies channel, in room spa, fan heater in bathrooom, heat pump in room, patio. Would loved to have stayed for longer but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The unit was warm with a great heat pump. Everything was clean and tidy. We were well off the main road and we thought it was very quiet. There great amenities and the Motel is very close to the town centre. Our kids loved the spa bath (okay the adults did too LOL). Awesome view of the Mountains and lake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Recently i stayed there with my partner for a weekend away, and it was perfect ! Warm, clean, comfortable room with a great spa bath. It was so nice to relax in such a wonderful place with an amazing view.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights on business, nice room with spa bath and lake view acroos lake terrace rd, had the odd noisy car going past at night so would probably choose to be further back with the same view

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good location, friendly staffs, very clean rooms, lovely spa, free WiFi. I am very appreciated with the pre-warmed room; clean up frosted car windscreen in the morning and telling us the slippery roads to Whakapapa ski field. They were so hospitable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Baywater Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Baywater Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywater Lakeview Motel

Address: 126 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Baywater Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baywater Lakeview Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Baywater Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywater Hotel Taupo

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Taupo with
any amenities