We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Taupo accommodations

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Save Saved
You added Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort to your Saves list
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
84%
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Mallyjo Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (300)
  • Photos (98)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    116
    33
    8
    11
See reviews for
135
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I chose this when looking at motels in Taupo, and although this has world class pools and facilities, our studio was nothing like the standard I would expect of a motel. In truth, it was closer to a really nice camping ground cabin and the pools were an extra charge. We had to drive up to collect our breakfast (no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello awapuniNZ, Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort is a 5 star Holiday Park rating by Qualmark, which is New Zealand’s official star rating system, we work really hard to maintain our rating and appreciate your concerns. We have an on-going maintenance plan to upgrade our existing rooms in our Holiday Park the near future as well as the addition five new... More

Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

8 of us stayed for the second year in a row for out family get together we booked 3 units and we were in the 2bdrm motel which has pretty basic facilities, no dishwasher. The bathroom has a wet floor which caused the whole area to be soaked, they gave us extra towels to mop up but very annoying. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in one of the Lake Villas for a weekend trip recently. Very impressed with the accomodation. The villa was very clean and had some nice touches in the kitchen and bathroom. What was truly excellent was the warmth of the room due to the heating. There was underfloor heating and a heat pump so we were never cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello tommybanny Thank you for your review of your stray recently at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. It’s lovely to hear that you had a enjoyable holiday with us in one of our Lake Villas. We aim to provide a positive relaxing experience to all our guests and we are so pleased to hear that we are maintaining our goal. We... More

Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was really impressed with DeBretts - checking in was a breeze, the staff are very friendly and are always happy to answer questions. Our accommodation was excellent - we stayed in Villa One - two bedrooms, lounge, kitchen bathroom. It was closest to the main road, but we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. The accommodation looks brand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Kiwi-Honda Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay in Villa 1, it is great to get feedback about getting what you pay for. We are constantly working on ways to improve the park so it is maintained to a high standard. We look forward to seeing your again. Warm Regards Michelle More

Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our trip through New Zealand and I have to say it was one of the best Holiday Parks we came along. The staff was very very friendly and took wonderful care of us. I really liked the facilitites, especially the kitchen area which was very clean and spacious. Unfortunately we didn't have time to go to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Emellmydear, Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review on your recent stay with us. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our 5 star holiday park, we wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you again. Warm Regards Michelle More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having only ever stayed in motels while in Taupo I didn't know what to expect here but was constantly and pleasantly surprised :). We booked a two-bedroom family chalet online which was going at a discounted rate. In arrival, the staff at reception were lovely and helpful. The room is compact but more than adequate for our family of three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello CTS29, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay in our Chalet recently. We are so delighted to hear that your were satisfied with our accommodation facilities. We work very hard at maintaining a Qualmark 5 -star rating (for a holiday park) and Enviro Gold awards (environmental and social sustainability), we pride ourselves in providing the... More

Auckland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at DeBretts for a little family get away for my sons 7th birthday so we could take him & our daughter to the Happy Valley. My parents who came loved their view from their room which was of the snow topped mountains & we all found the place very clean upon arrival. Sadly our thermal heater wasn't going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora RKZK-BZONCE, Thanks for your review of your stay with us recently, we hope you and your family enjoyed your time up Happy Valley in celebrations of your sons 7th birthday. We happy to hear your parents enjoyed their views of the snow capped mountains from their accommodation. We are currently upgrading all rooms with wall mounted geothermal heated... More

Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am sure that people have written many reviews about this place We, my extended family rented 3 chalets here for 3 days and all were really pleasant. The staff were super helpful, the grounds and amenities were superb and of course there are the hot pools. Great facilities for kids too, good playgrounds in safe places. Buy a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kai Ora Jolyon39, Thanks for your review of your three day stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the convenience our chalets have to offer. Our hot springs pricing reflex's admission to all facilities: outdoor/Indoor pools , dragon slide and water playground, you can return as often as you like until... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Have stayed at De Bretts before.. sometimes successfully, sometimes not. Previously I had booked over the phone for that night and started a long drive there to use as a stopover point between destinations. When arriving I had found that there were no spare rooms, despite my card being charged. However the staff did refund my money and booked me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Travelbug66, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, unfortunately we do not have any records of your first booking, and could you please provide us your email and a date in which we can further investigate (reservations@taupodebretts.com). We’d like to apologise for any inconvenience you had experienced on both occasions,... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in a bungalow in Taupo as a rest stop but really enjoyed our night here. The place was small but perfectly fine for one night. There is a kitchenette, queen bed, couch, two bunks, and a bathroom with parking right outside. You get a discount on the thermal spas which were really nice! I imagine this wouldn't be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kia Ora 685kelliew, Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our cabins, we're glad to hear that your enjoyed our facilities. Warm Regards Michellle More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Taupo with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation – self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation – from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,big bouncing cushion,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer