We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Taupo accommodations

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort to your Saves list
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
jolyon39 Auckland New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (293)
  • Photos (94)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    113
    32
    7
    11
See reviews for
131
82
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am sure that people have written many reviews about this place We, my extended family rented 3 chalets here for 3 days and all were really pleasant. The staff were super helpful, the grounds and amenities were superb and of course there are the hot pools. Great facilities for kids too, good playgrounds in safe places. Buy a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kai Ora Jolyon39, Thanks for your review of your three day stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the convenience our chalets have to offer. Our hot springs pricing reflex's admission to all facilities: outdoor/Indoor pools , dragon slide and water playground, you can return as often as you like until... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at De Bretts before.. sometimes successfully, sometimes not. Previously I had booked over the phone for that night and started a long drive there to use as a stopover point between destinations. When arriving I had found that there were no spare rooms, despite my card being charged. However the staff did refund my money and booked me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Travelbug66, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, unfortunately we do not have any records of your first booking, and could you please provide us your email and a date in which we can further investigate (reservations@taupodebretts.com). We’d like to apologise for any inconvenience you had experienced on both occasions,... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a bungalow in Taupo as a rest stop but really enjoyed our night here. The place was small but perfectly fine for one night. There is a kitchenette, queen bed, couch, two bunks, and a bathroom with parking right outside. You get a discount on the thermal spas which were really nice! I imagine this wouldn't be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kia Ora 685kelliew, Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our cabins, we're glad to hear that your enjoyed our facilities. Warm Regards Michellle More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in a cabin with our 2 little girls. It was a brilliant place to stay with kids. The place has a playground, big bouncy pillow, entertainment room and the hot springs. You get a 50% discount to the hot springs when you're staying there, so a 3 day family pass for us was $45,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Becky W, Thanks for your delightful review of your recent stay here at Taupo DeBretts, Great to hear you and your family enjoyed our thermal complex. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards Michelle More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had previously stayed at this resort about 20 years ago and I must say, the place has changed! This time we stayed in a Lake Villa, 2 bedroom. Cabin was nice, heating was more than adequate and the beds comfortable. The day we arrived was overcast with hail but the next morning we were presented with a beautiful view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Brett K, Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. Great to hear you liked the villas, the views of the lake and mountains are superb. Sorry to hear that the WiFi was not up to speed during your visit, the weather wasn't particularly helpful. Often we have deals on our website or third... More

Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here over night and thought it was a very basic room, old but clean. Parking great directly outside, the Hilton next door and if you wanted to eat their you can but much cheaper down town. Apartment had everything,kitchen shower TV in room. Just very outdated. A small grassed area out the back with a smaller deck. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello daibach999, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay recently, great to hear you enjoyed our thermal complex. We do have deals available on our website and third party sites that include entry into the mineral pools, otherwise all guest's get half price admission, which is a very generous rate for a thermal complex. We are in the... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was originally a bit hesitant to stay here based on some reviews I had read but it was so nice to stay at. Reception staff were really helpful for day trip information. Our chalet was fantastic and had views of Lake Taupo. It could possibly have been better with more microwave containers as we only had one small bowl... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello megsmel1 Thanks for reviewing Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, we appreciate your feedback. Great to hear the kids loved the bounce pillow, it's quite a popular feature with guests of all ages, we are delighted to hear your enjoyed our chalets, hope to see you again. Regards Michelle More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife, 2 kids and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May 2014. We had booked Lodge no 23. It was perfect for the 4 of us, with parking outside the lodge, a fully equipped kitchen, separate toilet and bathroom, a heat pump in the lounge and bedroom, heated kitchen and bathroom floors and a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Loyal-QPR-Fan, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Great to hear the kids liked the Air Pad and Playground. We are glad to hear that your accommodation meet your needs. Hope to see you guys again. Michelle. More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We traveled to Taupo & stayed here for 1 night only , and this was the only attraction we traveled to (located next to Hilton Hotel), we were very impressed with the pools, very nice, and the slide was one of my favorite LOL , I am 36 years old and still enjoyed this slide very much, felt like a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Vee555, Thanks for your delightful review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, we glad to hear you had a lot of fun on our dragon hydro slide and enjoyed our pools. we hope to see you again. Regards Michelle More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have stayed for 6 nights and cannot fault this amazing place! The staff were lovely and friendly, the resort spotless, the cleaners friendly and did an amazing job of servicing the rooms, the villas offer everything that you could think off and so much more! We are so impressed with this resort we will definitely be back! The pools... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kia Ora Basket10, We are super excited to hear that you enjoyed your six-day stay recently. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service, cleanliness and efficiency in all aspects of our resort. We would love to have you stay again in the future. Kindest Regards Michelle More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation – self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation – from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,big bouncing cushion,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer