We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
76 Napier Taupo Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3310, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A nice, modern Park with great facilities and free WiFi. Only negative, we had to pay $11 each (extra $8 for slides) to use the pool and hot water spas. Great place to stay though. We would stay there again if in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed because of the hot pools but my daughter soon discovered the air pad (think of a massive blown up air bag that works like a trampoline but can fit heaps of people on it). Every holiday park needs one of these. We had a chalet and found it very modern and comfortable for a overnight family stay. The hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank aarono849
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Tidy campsite with excellent clean facilities. Stayed for one night in our campervan, if staying for more than one night the rate drops down to $16 per person, per night staying in a campervan. There is building work going on and the builders were hamering away at 07:30 in the morning, not really what you expect for paying $50 a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Northumbrian2014
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We came here especially for the pools, slides etc for our two boys. Yes they did enjoy it for our middle of winter visit. We stayed in a park over camper which had all the amenities close by. Great stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wommet
Bulls, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After looking around for cheap tent sites in Taupo we resigned to the fact that the tariff that Debretts were charging was the best value for money. Yes, it is a little "up there" when you compare to some regional locations, however the facilities that Debretts offer make it totally worth it! For example you might save $10 per head,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank quickbuck
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had visited de bretts on our first visit to NZ some 25 yrs ago. the place has changed but the experience was still great. we stayed in a cabin which was perfect for a family. The 3 day pass to the springs was worth getting. the staff where very helpful in recommending things to do and directions.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in the modern suites that overlook the lake. We stayed in Suites #37. Room was very tidy and modern. Beds were very comfortable. Very convenient to the hot pools. Only feedback would be a better discount for the use of pools as a hotel guests.

Helpful?
Thank Marietta S
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We rented a lovely cabin over looking the lake. It was a great 2 night stay. Was a bit disappointed that we had to pay (even if it was discounted) to go to the pools when we paid a decent amount for our stay per nite, but otherwise no complaints. Will stay again 😊

Helpful?
Thank ShaznShane1
Nortampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a King Cabin. I knew this was attached to another cabin, although I didn't appreciate quite how thin the wall was. The first night 3 young lads were in there. They arrived home from the pub after midnight and were awake before 6am. I could hear a lot of swearing, burping, etc. It felt that I was sharing... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnru
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi johnru, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at Taupo DeBretts. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay however you are correct; this is a family holiday park and we have just been through a very busy, summer holiday season. We do hope to see you again in the future.....perhaps... More 

Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was disappointed staying here. The cabin we stayed in was good, comfy beds and well-appointed, but we arrived at 5pm and had to leave by 8am. I had booked here because of the thermal pools, and after a long day of driving, the 5 of us were looking forward to a nice warm soak. There was a $4 reduction in... More 

Helpful?
Thank sola_ani
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#15 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.9 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#21 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay