We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Hotel website
Napier Taupo Highway | PO Box 513, Taupo, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    132
    40
    11
    13
See reviews for
164
99
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (363)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were travelling South and decided De Bretts would be a good place to stay for a night. Rang and asked for a room; they couldn't tell me if they had a vacancy for that night and asked for phone number so they could call back. They didn't! We did find alternative accommodation in the Taupo area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived around 8.40pm at night and booked through Agoda - an ensuite cabin (no 30). However, agoda did not mention how many guests are staying. The cabin is really small plus old beds. We are Asian, and i'm small in size, and there are 4 of us (myself, husband, 6years old plus a 10month old baby). We need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Gohvincci, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spas Resort. We apologise for any inconvenience you and your family experienced during your nights here, we will investigate the Agoda listing to see if we can fix the guest number problem. We do our absolute best to make our guests happy, we glad... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here after a concert and it was a great place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was clean and tidy. Loved the pools and the taxi service was quick to get to the concert. I will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi TanyaFarrant, Thank you for review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and service while in Taupo. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards Michelle More 

Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were checked in by a very friendly staff member who took the time to personally show us where our unit was. We loved the clean, quiet motel unit with its private outdoor seating area. Our bed was comfortable, the refrigerator was a good size. Kitchen had two hot plates, a microwave and sufficient crockery and cutlery for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello NZtraveller726, Thanks for reviewing your stay in Motel 4, we're delighted to hear your enjoyed the facilities. We have recently renovated these particular rooms as apart of our commitment to provide clean and well maintained rooms for our guests on holiday. We wish you all the best in your travels ahead. Warm Regards Michelle More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with friends during the ironman weekend. Great location for this event! (Right on the cycle leg) Room was tidy, big, warm and well equipped! Great playground for kids and big kids. Friendly staff and overall a great weekend here with friends. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kia Ora Stiffynz, Thank you for your delightful review of your stay over Ironman Weekend. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your Chalet and children playground. Look forward to your return. Kind Regards Michelle More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an excellent place to stay. The staff were exceptionally helpful and gave great advice about what to do while in that region. The cabins were clean and well kept and i loved having plunger coffee as one of the drink options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Shaughn F, Thanks for your lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team took great care of you. All the best in your future travels. Kind Regards Michelle More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a lovely 2 Bed Cabin for 3 nights! Very clean and nicely self contained! The staff were so friendly and accommodating as well! The hot springs were beautiful and relaxing. Could spend a week there easily! A little bit out of the main shopping/restaurant area if you don't have a car, but the walk in isn't to difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello samarajane13, Thanks for your review, were absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your cabin and amenities and hope you see you again. Kind Regards Michelle More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and helpful on arrival, however I was so disappointed that I considered finding somewhere else to stay for the night. My 'room' was more like a caravan split in 2 with a paper thin dividing wall. The room wasn't that clean. Also there is a central amenities block rather than en suite in your room. Perhaps it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Richard D, Thanks for reviewing your stay here recently, apologies if you weren't satisfied with your room, we do offer a 100% refund if your not happy with your room within one hour of arrival. All of our rooms have descriptions of what we have available. We are in fact a 5 star holiday park rated by Qualmark, with... More 

San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had great customer service and really enjoyed being just a short walk away from the hot springs, slides, and children's play area. We were prepared for the extra fee, so that was no big deal. We were sad to not have air conditioning, but it cooled off before we really had to go to sleep. Our particular room, Motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Janis S, Thanks your lovely review of your stay in one of our Motels recently. Were glad to hear you enjoyed our hot springs and water park. We have a maintenance plan scheduled for our motels in the near future, as apart of our commitment to modernise and refresh our existing units. We wish you all the best in... More 

scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and 2 year old son and I spend sadly only one night at the DeBrett resort. When we arrived the staff where so friendly and helpful, we even got an upgrade from the one bed motel into a fantastic lodge that was truely wonderful and completely made our stay. The lodge was amazing, it had everything you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Shazzy_mack, Thanks for your delightful review of your one night stay in one of our Superior Lodges. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodation upgrade and facilities. Fab to hear you experienced the Ernest Kemp, one of Taupo's most popular steam boat cruise's and Wairakei Terrace's. We look forward to your return in a years time. Kind Regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question