We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Resort

4.0 of 5 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Reef Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    63
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
163
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (280)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This small complex is set right on lake no road in between so great views. Owners / staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good size apartments emaculatly clean and comfortable. Close to town but far enough away though I wouldn't worry about noisy night life here not that type of place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay here with us. It was our absolute please having your here. We do wish you all the best and hope to see you again the next time you are in Taupo. Erin and Amos Managers More 

Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked 4 rooms for a birthday with me and my family. The main room was a lake view apartment on the ground floor. The view from the lounge was amaaaaaazing, beautiful sunset to watch from the sofa. The entire room was spacious and had all necessities. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very tidy. The pool was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there Awhi001: Thank you so much for staying with us, especially as it was your 21st - a special milestone in one's life. We are so pleased that you had an amazing time, especially in our Luxury Lakefront Apartment. It is a definite winner being located almost literally a stone's throw from the lake. We had a great time... More 

adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Welcome was good Disability: no lifts, lug your own bags upstairs Small pool with bbq Room: clean, roomy, bright. Stove takes ages to boil water- not suited for cooking View: booked a partial view of lake. Given room facing wall/roof of next door motel. We complained & were told to see the partial view need to go to balcony &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Unfair Review Thank you so much for placing your review with us and taking the time to share you experiences with everyone on a public forum. We do appreciated that you weren't happy with the room that you had chosen, but the descriptions stated on our website and all 3rd party websites are pretty clear about the limited/partial lake view,... More 

Ontario
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was not as we pictured, but we enjoyed it anyway. We had pictured a spread out hotel on a long stretch of beach. Instead it was a boutique like hotel on a narrow lot, in an area of similar hotels. The hotels here seem to have lower apartment units at the beach, with the rest of the units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to place your review. Thank you for all your positive comments and for sharing some invaluable tips about our property. We wish you all the best for your onward journey and hope to see you again the next time you are in our wonderful country. Erin and Amos Managers More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

我們被安排在最靠近湖邊的公寓裏。一眼望去的湖光山色實在令人心曠神怡。環境清幽,一出門就可以沿湖邊散步到市中心。服務品質真的沒話說,只要一通電話,就有人來幫我們解決問題,房間及浴室又大又乾淨,完全沒有旅店的侷促感。It was the best motel we've ever stayed. My family really enjoyed the walk every morning and evening and came back sitting on the deck, looking at the Great Lake Taupo. It was really really great. Great service, helpful staff, clean rooms and kitchen, I even had a chat with the boss, who is totally friendly. Thank you. From Fran... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Fran C. Thank you so much for staying with us here at The Reef Resort. We are so pleased that you had an amazing time in our Luxury Lakefront Apartment. These are certainly our guest's favourite and with those amazing views from right on the lake edge, they take some beating. We do thank you for choosing to stay... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a few days while we were in Taupo. Great place. We were in a room with an ocean view. Slightly obstructed view as there is a apartment in from of you but a little lower. Staffing was friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Nice walk down to the lake. Pool was heated and clean. They forgot to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Goldrider. Thank you for your review, and taking to place your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our heated pools, found our staff friendly and helpful. We do very much appreciate your feed back on your room not being cleaned, during your stay, and this is something we will follow up on - bear in mind, we do only... More 

United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I highly recommend this hotel. It's not a luxury resort but it has everything you could possibly want while also having a prime location on the lake to see the amazing sunsets the area gets. Highlights include: - Very clean and well appointed rooms, including an excellent shower (great heat and water pressure) with jet tub - Private access to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your glowing comments and experiences while staying here at The Reef Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed every facility that we had to offer and also the fantastic location. We do agree that our parking spaces can be a little bit tight, but at least it is good getting some parking... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reef hotel is such a lovely place to spend a couple of nights. They are very friendly staff and just so lovely to talk with. They have a very good rooms that would suit your needs. A nice warm heated pool and a lovely spa pool. We really enjoyed our stay with them and would return back to them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for choosing our motel as your place of accommodation here in Taupo. We very much appreciate you sharing your positive comments with us about how much you enjoyed staying here. We do wish you all the best for your future travel, and hope to see you here again soon. Erin and Amos Managers More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came across the Reef Resort via Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed on arrival. It has great facilities, fridge and kitchenette in room, spa bath, nice products, two swimming pools, towels provided, free bikes, wifi, etc, etc. They have considered and thought of everything. The room was spotlessly clean. It is fair to say that we both felt our welcome at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Many thanks for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed you stay here with us and all the facilities that our property has to offer, like our heated pools. It is always our endeavour to have a spotless, clean, and welcoming motel for our guests so they can... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Facilities are nice. Staff are extremely friendly and super helpful. Apartment was quite clean. Maybe the kitchenette could be been better but still quite useable(trying to find fault). If you want a great place to stay on the lake a bit away from the CBD, this is it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Andrew P. Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We really appreciate all your feedback, and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do acknowledge our kitchenettes being very basic, but feel that this meets almost all of our guest requirements. We do have fully equipped lake front luxury apartments that are right on the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Resort

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#1 Family Hotel in Taupo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taupo

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay