We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Resort

#6 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reef Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Reef Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    224
    67
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
177
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (301)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful three bedroom apartment for our family of six. We never wanted to leave although we did make it up to the hot tub and did use the cruiser bikes twice!! Lovely rooms with a great living room fireplace. Fantastic !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on our property We are so glad you enjoyed our lakefront 3 bedroom luxury apartment. It really is a home away from home. Was great to see the cruiser bikes getting such good use! Was lovely to meet you all. Julie and Khan Managers More 

Dominican Republic, Caribbean
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived after a hair raising drive in blinding rain, wind and precipitous hilly winding roads at Taupo to find our accommodation booking did not exist. The Information centre sourced us Reef Resort- 3 bdr,3bth, excellent kitchen,living area with fantastic views of enormous Lake Taupo with hot stream flowing in front of apartment steaming - forget tawdry Rotorua! We enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our property. Our lakefront 3 bedroom luxury apartment sure would have been a great place to find comfort after your hair raising drive!! It is such a beautiful scenic walk on the lakefront in to town. We are glad you got to make good use of our cruiser bikes. Thank you for choosing to... More 

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Lovely to go to accommodation and be content to just stay in and not feel the need to go explore . Even the boys stayed home to relax while we did girls day out. Barbecued two out of three nights. Kitchen was better than home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our property. We are glad you all got to enjoy our lakefront luxury apartment. It really is a home away from home. With the boys out in the private courtyard cooking on the bbq I'm sure you girls were creating something delicious in the kitchen! We hope to see you again. Kind regards Julie... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at The Reef Resort, I wish it was longer. A very short drive to the City Centre, but just far enough away for a serene relaxing little getaway spot. And a short drive to beautiful Huka Falls and the Geothermal Walk at Craters of the Moon. Staff could not be more helpful, bright bubbly and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Halle & Rob Thank you for you raving review! It sure was lovely having you as our guests. Our cruiser bikes are pretty cool huh. An awesome way to travel the scenic path in to town. (love the photos) Our poolside rooms are fantastic for being able to slip into the thermal heated pools. So glad you got to... More 

Auckland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Even though there was a property infront there was still a great view from our top floor apartment. There was a comfy pullout bed for our son to stay on - in our spacious studio style room. Very friendly front staff and rooms were beautifully clean and well equipped. We had a large spa bath in our room which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back on our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. So glad you got to make use of the large spa bath in your luxury studio, it's quite something huh. We love seeing guests use our thermally heated mineral pool. Unfortunately it is hard to set it at a temperature that... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We had booked a lakefront apartment and there were views but not absolute waterfront as promoted. The apartment was well set out for self catering and clean and comfortable. The parking was a little pokey. After travelling for a week we were grateful for access to a laundry within the complex. Staff good, helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. While our property is on the lakefront, we do say in all our descriptions, along with photos' that some of our units are lake view and not lakefront. We do however have 2 luxury apartments on the lakefront. There is a 2 bedroom luxury apartment and a... More 

Hawkes Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

First time staying at the reef resort as soon as we arrived we were upgraded to a better room with a view. Very nice and tidy, beautiful big bath with jets and Friendly staff.Loved our stay we will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Abbe Thank you for your feedback. So glad you loved your stay with us. Is was an absolute pleasure to have you and to be able to upgrade you. The big spa baths sure are luxurious. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Taupo More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Absolutely blown away with everything about the reef resort taupo! The amazing, friendly, knowledgeable staff are rare to come by! Loved the poolside villa we stayed in so much we can't wait to go back!! The bikes were an awesome bonus, location is fab and the outdoor spa is Devine! I love this place!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Alanah E, Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on our property, We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and we do try to be personable to everyone that is staying and help them out in everyway possible. We are glad you made full use of our cruiser bikes as the track along the lake front... More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We stayed here over Easter and it was wonderful! Staff were all lovely and helpful, room was clean and comfortable and the pool and thermal spa was the best! My fiancé and I will be coming back again next time we come to Taupo!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nic, Thank you for your feedback on our property and we are so glad you made full use of the mineral pool and the heated swimming pool. We are currently painting them both so when you come back next time they will be looking bright and fresh. Regards Erin and Amos More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

On our drive home we were looking for somewhere to stay for the night. We arrived late and managed to get a "studio room". This didn't offer a view, but that wasn't what we were looking for. The room was really appealing, comfortable and clean. The hotel has a lovely outdoor thermal spa and is on the edge of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Sandy B: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our humble motel. We are so pleased that you found your room to your liking as with our heated swimming pool and thermal pool. We are also glad that you took advantage of our free bikes on offer as do many of our guests. Riding along the lake front... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay