We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Resort

#6 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reef Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Reef Resort
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    65
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
168
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Birmingham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Noted for the general welcome given this is a small hotel and is very clean as others note. The views are great is a little blunted by the intervening block at the lake side and the small pool and jaccuzi. Some visitors have been caught out by noisy guests using that but we had no such problems out of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We very much appreciate you constructive feed back and experiences here at our motel, and around Taupo. We wish you all the best for the rest of your holiday, and hope to see you again soon. Erin and Amos Managers More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed the modern comforts of a one bed unit that had small kitchenette and lounge with balcony. Service was very friendly. Guest laundry worked well - no extra charge and soap powder sachets in the room - breakfast was available but we didn't try it preferring to self cater. Wi-Fi was not protected ( insecure) but unlimited and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Memsahib: Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are so glad you had a great time here at the Reef Resort. We have had many guests enjoy our free wifi like yourselves and also the views over looking the lake with the mountains in the background. We do say in all our descriptions that these rooms... More 

LBI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were originally booked for 2 nights but had to go back to the USA early. Erin changed our booking to 1 night without a fuss. She put us in an upstairs room with a view out over the Lake and down to the mountains behind Turangi that was spectacular. Sitting on the balcony peacefully watching the sun go down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Heisler49: Thank you so very much for your review. It was great having you stay and we very much enjoyed meeting you. We are glad that you enjoyed our magnificent lake view rooms and got to relax taking in the awesome views of Lake Taupo and the mountains in the background. Do come and stay again when you are next... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 3rd time back to say at Reef Resort but new to trip advisor. This time we took our adult daughter, our room was not as described to us and having visited before we were disappointed. We contacted the front desk and Julie was very pleasant about the mix up and we were up-graded to the upstairs lake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Delwyn2015 We thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on trip advisor and are so happy that you enjoyed the lake front apartment. With this apartment right on the lake edge, it is like a peaceful and relaxing haven for many people that stay.. especially with the private mineral spa and the view over the... More 

Wales UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a large establishment. It is spotlessly clean and everything is in good working order. Checking it a Reception was painless. The receptionist was very friendly, welcoming and very enthusiastic She had lots of helpful information concerning the area. Our accommodation had a spacious balcony with a partial view of the Lake. The bedroom was large with lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Jennifer259: Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and we were able to help you out with all our local knowledge. The heated swimming pool and mineral pool are always a bonus and are always super happy when people are making the most out of it.... More 

Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I say this place is weird, because it manages to pull of the qualities of a luxury resort, yet with a real homey, inviting, and safe atmosphere. No, it's not actually a fancy luxury resort, but I preferred it to other more fancy and corporate feeling hotels. My parents were also booked here on a separate trip by their Canadian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

ARose_ - Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We loved having you all to stay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed checking out our views, cruising in our robes and making yourselves all very much at home here. It was so lovely to see. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays.... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This small complex is set right on lake no road in between so great views. Owners / staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good size apartments emaculatly clean and comfortable. Close to town but far enough away though I wouldn't worry about noisy night life here not that type of place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay here with us. It was our absolute please having your here. We do wish you all the best and hope to see you again the next time you are in Taupo. Erin and Amos Managers More 

Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 4 rooms for a birthday with me and my family. The main room was a lake view apartment on the ground floor. The view from the lounge was amaaaaaazing, beautiful sunset to watch from the sofa. The entire room was spacious and had all necessities. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very tidy. The pool was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there Awhi001: Thank you so much for staying with us, especially as it was your 21st - a special milestone in one's life. We are so pleased that you had an amazing time, especially in our Luxury Lakefront Apartment. It is a definite winner being located almost literally a stone's throw from the lake. We had a great time... More 

adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcome was good Disability: no lifts, lug your own bags upstairs Small pool with bbq Room: clean, roomy, bright. Stove takes ages to boil water- not suited for cooking View: booked a partial view of lake. Given room facing wall/roof of next door motel. We complained & were told to see the partial view need to go to balcony &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Unfair Review Thank you so much for placing your review with us and taking the time to share you experiences with everyone on a public forum. We do appreciated that you weren't happy with the room that you had chosen, but the descriptions stated on our website and all 3rd party websites are pretty clear about the limited/partial lake view,... More 

Ontario
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was not as we pictured, but we enjoyed it anyway. We had pictured a spread out hotel on a long stretch of beach. Instead it was a boutique like hotel on a narrow lot, in an area of similar hotels. The hotels here seem to have lower apartment units at the beach, with the rest of the units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erin W, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to place your review. Thank you for all your positive comments and for sharing some invaluable tips about our property. We wish you all the best for your onward journey and hope to see you again the next time you are in our wonderful country. Erin and Amos Managers More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

167 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question