We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Taupo hotels

Lakeland Resort Taupo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lakeland Resort Taupo to your Saves list
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #37 of 71 hotels in Taupo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Carl S Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (90)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
42
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here one night on way to Napier. Gill (reception) and Richard( bar) are great hosts and do the management proud. the food was good and the location is great. Rooms are a little dated but are fine in regards to required amenities. I would stay again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Yes we are very grateful for all our amazing staff here at the Lakeland. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall it was an average stay. The checkin staff was friendly and the resort serves decent breakfast. There are ample parking space at the premises. However, if you have a lot of luggages, then ask for a room on the ground floor. The room is ok although it does look abit tired. It is a big size room though. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your room as they have all been refurbished recently, still hope you enjoyed your stay in Taupo. More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the weekend we had a lovely clean room with wonderful view of the lake very comfortable bed. A great place to stay with a group as their is lots of room and plenty of space to park a trailer or boat. My only complaint was their was a group staying their who were very noisy with no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Yes you're right, heaps of parking here, great for boat trailers etc. Hope to see you again soon, and don't forget we offer a great loyalty programme. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Lakeland on a number of occasions because it is relatively inexpensive and all we wanted was a bed for the night. The service has generally been good, the rooms have been acceptable and the breakfast service is adequate. On this occasion, the first for a while, we found that there has been some refurbishment undertaken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruakaka, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for three nights with my wife for a break from work, Refurbished rooms comfortable. Only quibble was slightly noisy heat fan when it kicked in. No heat-pumps etc in rooms. Staff great attentive and friendly. Good meal in the restaurant and no complaints about the buffet breakfast. Good value for money. Only 45min walk along waterfront to CBD.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again one day. More

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Receptionist was lovely when we arrived quite late. The room was nice and clean and we felt it was well worth the price charged for the room. Would definitely recommend this Resort to others, and will be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you - we'd love to have you stay again soon, and appreciate your lovely comments. More

New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I think that calling Lakeland a 'Resort' is overstating the fact. It is a motel situated on State Highway 1 between Auckland and Wellington and I certainly wouldn't recommend it for anything other than an overnight stay. Not quite sure why other reviewers rave about the breakfast - pretty standard Buffett breakfast with cold bacon & cold rubbery scrambled egg.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We're really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us, More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stopped here in January as it was close to my friend. We couldn't have picked a better place! All the staff were very friendly, the buffet breakfast was always brilliant and the room had a fantastic view of the lake. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review, hope to see you again soon. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Superb staff and communication for bookings and enquiries etc. Rooms are comfy and clean - we booked for 9 people and somehow Jill & the team worked their magic to ensure we were next to or not far from eachother. MUST HAVE BUFFET BREAKFAST! :-) A great place to stay for a quick get away :) CHEERS LAKELAND RESORT! Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks so much, we appreciate your feedback and would love to see you again soon. More

Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Travelled from Wellington to Auckland and back on a visit home from Aus. Have to say that this was by far my favourite place to stay and the service was amazing. So good in fact, we stayed twice (once on the way up and once on the way back for two nights each). Each time we were greeted by amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments, and I agree, Gill is awesome! So pleased you had a lovely stay with us. Come back again, we'd love to me the new addition to your family when he/she arrives! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lakeland Resort Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer