We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Resort Taupo

282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
HarryJM88 Auckland
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lakeland is a solid performer. The rooms are large, well heated with large flat screen TVs. The spa baths are a great bonus - especially in winter months. The beds aren't the most comfortable and the shower pressure isn't great - but I've had much worse in better places and I managed a good nights sleep. The staff are excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a late check-in and the staff were very accommodating and friendly, and I felt totally welcome on arrival. The rooms themselves are clean & tidy, but are not particularly noteworthy in terms of style. The shower was fantastic. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. See you again! More 

Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight while on a one-month tour of New Zealand. It was a busy hotel and we felt kinda lost in all of it. Not quite in city center but still nice views of the lake. The room was clean, there was a refrigerator, ironing board, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. What more could we ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had our room serviced but i think the room service staff forgot to vacuum the carpet as the floor was visibly dirty. Friendly staff and location is good as it is near the town centre. We were at room 133 and the wifi was useless as the signal drops every time. They need to have a new access point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We are currently in the throes of upgrading our internet services with Ultrafast Fibre being installed as well so that problem will be rectified. Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a pretty nice stay at Lakeland Resort. There was a musty smell in the room and the bathroom was recently renovated. Three beds, refrigerator and free wifi in the room and a pool and tennis court at the premises. If you want to go to the city center a car is preferable. Altogether a decent hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Our apologies if the room smelt odd, we have been full most days so each room has been used regularly so shouldn't be showing signs of mustiness. We will certainly check that out. Thanks for your lovely review, much appreciated. More 

Te Kuiti
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wondering if we were at the same place as other reviewers!!!!!!!!!! The room was what you would expect when you book a studio room. It was spotlessly clean and well appointed. Everything looked new and almost unused. Bed was very comfortable and there was no noise even though the complex was almost full. The tennis court and pool were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, it can be disheartening when you get reviews that you feel are quite unjustified. We feel we are extremely good value for money, a great location, very clean rooms and fantastic staff. Oh and the food is great too! Hope to see you again one day! More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed here for one night and NOT disappointed by our decision. Everything was in order and room was big and clean. We had a spa bath attached but couldn't use it as we had to start early the next day. It's a bit away from the city centre but we didn't have any problem as we had our car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Please come again, and dont forget we offer a great loyalty programme. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a family group we stayed here for 3 nights during the triathlon weekend. The rooms were small with terribly uncomfortable beds. The drains were sticking up from the floor of the shower causing a bad injury to the bottom of my foot. The staff were rude and unhelpful especially the breakfast waitress. The breakfast was overpriced and cold. Again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to read your comments regarding our staff. My sincere apologies that you were not happy with the service you received. Our customer service is something that we pride ourselves on here at The Lakeland and if we have let our guests down in some way then it is unacceptable. We are currently going through a bed... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We had only booked for one night but we decided to stay in Taupo for an extra night. We are pleased we didn't book the extra night with Lakeland Resort, by the time we came to the next morning we were happy to pack our bags and find somewhere else for our second night. The place is poorly understaffed. Check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Please be assured that we do use good quality products on our breakfast buffet. We have fresh eggs which are scrambled, the coffee is fresh filter coffee, not instant, and we use a good quality shoulder bacon. Unfortunately we have no control over when our guests check-in, so if a number of guests arrive at the same time it may... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We found the bed really uncomfortable, was hard to get to sleep. We had a spa bath room but its only a regular size bath with jets so we didnt use it. A contiki bus full of people were there the night we stayed and were quite noisy coming in at 1.30am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We'd really appreciate it if you could let us know your room number so we can check the bed situation. Unfortunately if we are not advised of any problems we are unable to fix them. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question