We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Resort Taupo

282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
DIF1891 Stockholm, Sweden
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a pretty nice stay at Lakeland Resort. There was a musty smell in the room and the bathroom was recently renovated. Three beds, refrigerator and free wifi in the room and a pool and tennis court at the premises. If you want to go to the city center a car is preferable. Altogether a decent hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Our apologies if the room smelt odd, we have been full most days so each room has been used regularly so shouldn't be showing signs of mustiness. We will certainly check that out. Thanks for your lovely review, much appreciated. More 

Te Kuiti
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wondering if we were at the same place as other reviewers!!!!!!!!!! The room was what you would expect when you book a studio room. It was spotlessly clean and well appointed. Everything looked new and almost unused. Bed was very comfortable and there was no noise even though the complex was almost full. The tennis court and pool were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, it can be disheartening when you get reviews that you feel are quite unjustified. We feel we are extremely good value for money, a great location, very clean rooms and fantastic staff. Oh and the food is great too! Hope to see you again one day! More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we stayed here for one night and NOT disappointed by our decision. Everything was in order and room was big and clean. We had a spa bath attached but couldn't use it as we had to start early the next day. It's a bit away from the city centre but we didn't have any problem as we had our car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Please come again, and dont forget we offer a great loyalty programme. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a family group we stayed here for 3 nights during the triathlon weekend. The rooms were small with terribly uncomfortable beds. The drains were sticking up from the floor of the shower causing a bad injury to the bottom of my foot. The staff were rude and unhelpful especially the breakfast waitress. The breakfast was overpriced and cold. Again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to read your comments regarding our staff. My sincere apologies that you were not happy with the service you received. Our customer service is something that we pride ourselves on here at The Lakeland and if we have let our guests down in some way then it is unacceptable. We are currently going through a bed... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had only booked for one night but we decided to stay in Taupo for an extra night. We are pleased we didn't book the extra night with Lakeland Resort, by the time we came to the next morning we were happy to pack our bags and find somewhere else for our second night. The place is poorly understaffed. Check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Please be assured that we do use good quality products on our breakfast buffet. We have fresh eggs which are scrambled, the coffee is fresh filter coffee, not instant, and we use a good quality shoulder bacon. Unfortunately we have no control over when our guests check-in, so if a number of guests arrive at the same time it may... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the bed really uncomfortable, was hard to get to sleep. We had a spa bath room but its only a regular size bath with jets so we didnt use it. A contiki bus full of people were there the night we stayed and were quite noisy coming in at 1.30am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We'd really appreciate it if you could let us know your room number so we can check the bed situation. Unfortunately if we are not advised of any problems we are unable to fix them. More 

melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travelled a fair distance and organised this motel in the morning and got a conformation. We proceeded there in the evening only to be told that they have been booked out and they tried to contact us but we didn't answer. They had no rooms and Taupo was almost fully booked. She said sorry and that was pretty much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Due to a computer error we received some double bookings on this day. Our receptionist did her utmost to contact you to advise the situation but was unable to reach you until your arrival. The whole our Taupo was extremely booked out on this particular weekend . Our sincere apologies that this incidence occurred. More 

Napa Valley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room was pokey, brown, with two beds (one double, one single) filling the small room and despite assuring us it had been refurbished in 2011, it looked tired. There was nowhere for two people to sit comfortably unless on one of the beds. Shower was weak and the fridge minuscule. Why oh why do motels think we need a double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

The reason we have the single bed in the room is so we can accommodate guests that are "twin share" not "double share". We do have a Superior Rooms that have a Queen bed only in them, which means they are more spacious. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights. Had a ground floor room opening onto the car park. Nice swimming pool. Tennis available. Room spacious double plus single. Bed was very soft and lumpy. Advised all were. A good laundry . Daily paper. Town 10 minutes away. Taupo itself and surrounds a grest place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Yes Taupo is a beautiful destination for a holiday. Hope you can make it back again one day. More 

Otaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I spent one night at the Lakeland Resort. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with a nice outlook on the lake. The big let down was the $18.00 optional breakfast which we elected to have in the restaurant. Everything on offer looked like the cheapest version available. Poor quality food is not acceptable. To cap it off the only coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

It's disappointing to read you views on our breakfast. We offer pure filter coffee, as well as instant sachets, all the food is fresh including wholegrain & white bread, We use a butter & margarine blend, as our guests find this easier to spread on toast than a full butter. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question