We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Resort Taupo

282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lakeland Resort Taupo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for the taupo summer concert with friends. While this place was a little too far from the centre of all the action it was lovely, clean, comfortable and affordable. Reception staff were friendly allowing us to check in early. The pool and tennis court looked inviting but we didn't have time to take advantage of these. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank christine l
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We aim to please and whenever we can allow an early check-in we do. The staff enjoy looking after our guests, I am so pleased you were able to use some of our facilities, next time come back and use some of the ones you didn't get a chance to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Interior of the queen room was a little dated, but it was tidy and large. It was a Good price and there was a nice girl at the reception. I Would go there again as for the price it was good. They also had a spa pool and sky in the rooms. So overall happy.

Helpful?
Thank Blair R
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to assisting you again in the future. More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice location, friendly staff, nice affordable breakfast buffet, quiet at night, comfortable beds, clean rooms. However, very hot in the summer - only a small low powered wall fan to cool the entire room - needs proper A.C./heat pump. And WiFi reception was spotty, and speed was very slow during peak times (6pm-10pm).

Helpful?
Thank kieran776
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Great you came to stay with us and experience our Hotel. The Wifi is getting an upgrade, because it's unlimited and Free, it gets a lot of use and doesn't cope with the volume. So pleased you ate at our Buffet Breakfast and enjoyed it, do come back and try again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Old lady at reception was rude and condescending (although the young girl was helpful). They gave us a triple single room after we booked for two adults and a child. When we asked to change, she said we shouldn't have booked the cheapest room and charged us an extra $10. Although the website gave no indication that it was three... More 

Helpful?
Thank nckbrdfld
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property, its just a shame you chose the wrong sort of property for your needs. We clearly advertise in all different forms of our advertising that we are a Hotel, which means that we do not have any kitchen facilities in our rooms - therefore there are no plates etc. Sorry... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

The staff was very nice. The room was quite roomy. Toilet was super clean and new. Not too far drive to get food. The night we stated was raining, couldn't try the swimming pool. Have a huge tennis court too. Couldn't connect to free WiFi cos too many ppl were using it at the same time. We had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amykyle
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review, we love hearing how great the staff and property are!! (I will pass this on). Now that our busiest time here in Taupo has passed our WIFI is able to keep up, come and try it again as it is Free and Unlimited and Fast. More 

Havelock North
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

The reception are is far more impressive than the rooms to be fair, but the rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Restaurant was great, amazing views and had a very nice dinner here and a buffet breakfast the next morning also very nice. Staff were very good, went the extra mile.

Helpful?
Thank pmb535
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, it's great you used all our facilities and that the staff looked after you well. I will pass on these lovely comments to them as they try hard to please our guests. More 

Punaauia, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We came to that place on a one night only stay in Taupo on our way to Wellington and I must admit the place even if needing some renovation is great staff was nice and realy helpful, room was tidy and bed comfortbale and we had a superb weather on Lake Taupo that morning. Will come back again when in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean W
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

It's great that you took the time to review the property and lovely that you had a great time in Taupo, our staff love giving hints on where to go etc. We hope you come again to stay, and enjoy more things that Taupo can offer. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Good place for families. Clean, all good facilities. Pool, spa, laundry facilities. Food good for the price. No complaints and happy to stay again, staff very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Good all round.

Helpful?
Thank 55skippy95
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time and expressing your satisfaction while staying at the Lakeland, I will pass this on to all the Team members and congratulate them for their attention to our guests. We look forward to you staying again with us. More 

Waitomo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I like lakelands so much i stay there everytime i visit taupo. The rooms have everything you need, including giant tvs! The bathrooms are light and airy. It is always clean and the staff are very friendly. Its situated on the lake so you can easily walk around the lake and into town, and even has a pool and tennis... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isobelly
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for telling everyone how great the place is, we like to think we try our best. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

When arriving very impressive but when you get to your room it is very average. The beds are not comfortable and need renewing, TV has poor selection of chanels. The bathrrom is nice with a great shower. The staff also are very frendly. If i had a choice i proberly wouldnt stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank tiggerrp
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had the service you deserve when arriving at Lakeland, many thanks for letting us know. Our staff enjoy looking after our guests. Sorry to hear that you didn't find the TV channel to suit out of our 9 channels provided (including Sky Sport), our room price reflect this in that we are value for money. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#13 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#37 of 73 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay