We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Resort Taupo

282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lakeland Resort Taupo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    60
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
61
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late in the evening after driving from waitomo. Check in was really easy and the lady (Debbie?) very friendly and chatty. Room was well set out and the spa bath was great for a relax before bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fantastic time here. Was a comfortable room, clean and with a nice sized bed. We went for the bedroom with the spa bath so that was nice at NZ$109. Just a warning: it's a one person bathtub with spa jets so it's not a 2-person inroom spa. Basic amenities included and a flatscreen tv to relax to at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in was very simple, although we had to change rooms as we were allocated a double room and paid for a twin room, but this was sorted without a problem. The room was comfortable and easy to sleep in. However, the bathroom could do with a heater as in the winter months it can get cold, and it was.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your comments regarding our rooms, have spoken to owner regarding putting heaters in bathrooms and we are looking at this. A drop box is a good idea and this will hopefully be done before the end of month.We always appreciate customers taking time to give us feed back on ways we can make improvements to our Hotel,... More 

United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I stayed here for 1 night this month (July). Staying here through my Contiki tour- i cannot comment on the price however i can share the following regarding my stay. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy and had a fridge and kettle. Staying during winter am happy to report the heater works and the rooms get very warm actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Daisy, thanks for your review, I am please your stay at the Lakeland was great, hope the rest of your Contiki was awesome. Jane More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

They have upgraded the rooms since I was last there 10yrs ago. Pleasent staff at Reception. Rooms were lovely and tidy. A few things that caught my attention was the sad Shower pressure. Not sure if it was just our room? The heater was a tad noisey when it kicked in to reheat the room. Panel Heater would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Melza, Thanks for taking time to write about your stay, it helps other travelers find a great place to stay, heaters have been dealt to we had a few that nearly erupted with noise but happy to say with guest feed back we sorted it:) We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Ring in Advance and Check with hotel about Sporting Events or School or any other Team Events in the Area we had children running up and down Stairs we had the running across the verandah yelling out to each other across the car park their Guardians/Parents included in this behaviour. We Complained as well as did most of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Paul, SO sorry about all those children that annoyed you while you stayed with us, I hope it didn't put you of returning the next time you are in NZ, I thanks you for the great feed back on our rooms the Housekeeping ladies sure do a fine job. Next time you are in NZ give us a call... More 

Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at the Lakeland recently for two nights. $85 per night for two in a recently refurbished motel style studio. Very clean and comfortable. We had dinner there the first night....and the steak was cooked to perfection. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. We will stay there again. The pool is unheated, so was closed for the winter, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Heather, we look forward to seeing you in the summer so you can check out the POOL!! More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Traveling In March with my mum we were told by family and friends we wouldn't need to book in advance... As we drove into town all we saw were no vacancy signs! The girls on the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful even offering us to look at the rooms before booking. I've never had a hotel offer this.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

I am pleased you had a great stay with us, I hope the rest of your holiday in NZ was fantastic. More 

Waiouru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

At $99 a night for a double room this was worth checking out. Reception was excellent, the room was as advertised, that is recently refurbished , bright and airy. Good sized bathroom with large shower. Tea and coffee making in the room. The 42 inch TV made the afternoon sport easy to watch. The only downside was the noisy fan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jane5256, Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, The heaters have all been sorted what a pain they where the noise in some rooms was outrageous, but happy to say all fixed:) Come visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#6 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#15 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#43 of 74 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay