We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karaka Tree Motel

4.0 of 5 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Karaka Tree Motel
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    37
    33
    13
See reviews for
51
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed on a very busy Auckland anniversary weekend. They were pretty much the only place with reasonable rooms that were not fabulously expensive. Even then the cost was pricey - more of a reflection of Taupo than the Motel itself. Service was good, staff were all nice and responsive. The rooms are huge. We had a studio and twin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paraparaumu, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked this motel as it is "4" star got into room, very disappointed. Over the four nights we stayed the room was serviced properly once, the phone jack was not screwed into the wall and there was a power point with only one screw holding it in. The shower was small old and dirty with mould at the top. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on our way from Rotorua to Napier. Although the rooms are clean and spacious they are looking very tired. We were looking forward to using the spa but decided it was not worth the effort, it did look very tired and in need of a good clean. The bathroom too was in need of a good renovation,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here for a weekend. I agree with others that the decor looked dated, but we expected that for the price we paid for a room in Taupo with a spa pool in it. Taupo is pricey at any time of the year so we were very happy with the price. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Concordia, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked the double room with jacuzzi. it was less than nzd 140 and its exellent for comming back from Tongariro Crossing. You dont wanna go outside, just cook yourself something in the great kitchen it has, plus little fridge and all you need, and then nothing but relaxing in the great jacuzzy music, and cold drinks! highly recommended, free parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not go back here it smelt of old cigarettes, the bathroom floor was rotting and lifting away from the dated shower, no bath mat provided, the spa window area was rotting surprised windows still in place, everything was dated, for the price it was not worth it at all, dirty and chipped dishes. This place needs a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Soo disappointed. Pictures made it look really nice. Picked this motel because of the spa but was really let down. The Nets were ripped, mirror wall was filthy, and the worst part was the walls and roof were covered in mould, the paint peeling off and the window sill rotten in places. The toilet wouldn't flush, you had to hold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katikati, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly owners welcomed us and gave us DVD player and kids DVD, supplied portacot, nothing was a problem. We all enjoyed the mineral pool morning and night. Spacious with separate room for kids. Good basic affordable older accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Huge disappointment, worst stay ever in Taupo. Dirty toilet. Dirty kitchen cupboard. Nothing done about extremely rowdy guests in the complex. Wonky ironing board. Manager was unresponsive to my complaint about the unit, not even an apology or enquiry about details, just disinterest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

Afternoon, we have just received your review and would just like to say that my husband did apologise to you in regards to your comments the next morning when you made a complaint. If we get told about things when you check in we are more than happy to rectify problems straight away but if we do not know untill... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 via mobile

I had the worst experience.the spa was not cleaned and had all the yucky stuff around the filter. Sliding door was disgusting and seems like it has not been cleaned on months. Pantry door in the kitchen was missing.paid $185 for this room and it was waste of money.would never go back nor would i recommend anyone to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

So Sorry about your stay, we are in the process of improvements and renovations here. With the Sliding doors you were referring to they do get cleaned, the marks on them are actually Mineral from your spa which are impossible to take off and when kids are in the pools like like to splash around and the mineral is constantly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karaka Tree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Taupo

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay