We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karaka Tree Motel

4.0 of 5 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Karaka Tree Motel
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    35
    31
    11
See reviews for
47
48
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had the worst experience.the spa was not cleaned and had all the yucky stuff around the filter. Sliding door was disgusting and seems like it has not been cleaned on months. Pantry door in the kitchen was missing.paid $185 for this room and it was waste of money.would never go back nor would i recommend anyone to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

So Sorry about your stay, we are in the process of improvements and renovations here. With the Sliding doors you were referring to they do get cleaned, the marks on them are actually Mineral from your spa which are impossible to take off and when kids are in the pools like like to splash around and the mineral is constantly... More 

South Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here over night on the way to Hastings and thought having a hot pool in the room would be great, so decided to stay here rather than another Taupo hotel I had previously stayed at and enjoyed. The pool was disappointing as you couldn't empty it between 9 and 9 so really didn't get the enjoyment out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moraira
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were assigned a large unit worth 2 beds and bathrooms with disabled facilities. It was comfortable but all very old and tired looking. It could have been cleaner. There were squashed Mosquitos on the walls and the windows were dirty. We didn't use the spa because of the grittiness factor. On the upside the staff were nice and friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
northumberland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Lovely clean comfortable studio containing all the basic needs for 1-2 people, loved the spa bath. Good friendly service would stay again. Excellent value for money. Only negative point no lake views and thought it was going to be nearer the town centre

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Spent a night there we had two rooms between two families. Unfortunately room number 1 didn't have a working door and we only found this out when we got back to find our room unlocked. THank goodness nothing was taken. THe rooms are dated and the dishes look dirty. We found an old receipt in the draw from July laying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014 via mobile

First we got put in a Room which was painted and it smell like paint all over the room and we could not breathe properly as we were asthmatic.When we asked the reception they said this room was painted a month ago which was hard to believe,so we asked if there was another room available.We were then given a studio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry about food in the microwave the cleaners have been talked to about things been missed, we do apologise. With the unit in question we were not lying about the room being painted, i had personally painted it a few weeks prior to your arrival. Because you said you could still smell the paint we did however... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We booked at the last minute and they were very accommodating to our needs. Bed was great (no roll together), kids loved the spa in the room. Only thing I would say is better ventilation is needed because we didn't open the window in the spa room and in the morning there was dew everywhere. There was a fan in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This place was disappointing. Reasons why: Room was very dated, mismatch furniture and not very clean Spa bath advertised was very dated and didn't look clean, didn't want to use it Door didn't lock properly also dated Lots of stairs to get to room, no help given for heavy suitcases Only good thing was wifi worked. Wish I stayed elsewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We drove down from the Bay of Islands to Taupo. Because of our excellent experience up there we decided to use the Golden Chain motels again. The Katana Tree appealed to us for the lake front location (which is a hefty walk away from the town) and the 'Spa baby's - I must admit that the warning signs were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

Im sorry that your stay here with us was not up to your standards. If you would have told us about light bulbs etc blown we could have rectified the problem straight away. The fridge was not dead as you say, all are still in working condition. We are just managing the place here and we actually do care about... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband and I weren't expecting the ritz and got a little more than what we paid for so overall we were very happy. Also we really liked the soap and shampoo dispensers as we thought this was very economy friendly. The mineral pool was fabulous and a real nice way to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karaka Tree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Taupo

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay