We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelona Motel

21 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barcelona Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the $360 price tag we paid for a two bedroom unit, we weren't expecting the rundown, carpet stained, concrete block that we got. There was mould in the bathroom and the carpets need a really good clean. The kitchen was quite grimy, and had huge amounts of dust and fly poo on the light fittings directly above the sink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review

We do apologize for the unhappy experience you were having while staying here. And we do appreciate your comments. If it can make you feel better, we have already repainted the bathroom, refit a few lights and washed the whole carpet according to your suggestion. I don't remember you complained about the beds when you were here. It is a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I suppose you get what you pay for. Good for over night but a bit outdated and needed a good clean. Appliances not all working and fridges needed to be replaced. A budget option only if nothing else is available.. Reception area needs a good spruce up. Handy to shops.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob N
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob. Because you didn't give the clue of which room you were staying in. We checked all the room for the appliances. The result is they are all working well. If you found the fridge not working, I guess the reason is that it was turned off accidentally. There is a switch in the kitchen to control the power... More 

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We had room 10 - the family suite - for 5 adults and a child and were very happy with it. The owners are very helpful and obliging - even offering to carry our luggage up the stairs. It was clean and comfortable. This motel is well located in walking distance from the CBD.

Helpful?
Thank rosieterry
perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

I have seen some of the negative feedback and I am wondering why because this group of 3 stayed here for 2 nights and we were very happy. We had a single bedroom plus a double bed in the lounge/kitchen area. This is not a new hotel, our room was showing a little wear and tear I guess, however it... More 

Helpful?
Thank PerthJenny
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

Booked this hotel online through booking.com and we were offered a good enough deal. Got this motel for $170 and were offered a two bedroom with fully equipped kitchen. The motel is located a 5-10 minute walk from taupo lake and nearby eateries and is therefore so convenient. Clean and tidy with comfortable beds.

Helpful?
1 Thank AmoMaharaj
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

I have stayed at many motels but this would be by far the worst. The electric blankets didnt work, cobwebs, bedroom lamp was broken and when tried to switch it on it just fell off, no hand towels, no bathmat, no chain on the p lug in the hand basin so difficult to lift out, because of bits of the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hamilton782
Tarwin Lower, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

This motel is certainly not like the photos on the net!! Stayed at this motel in Oct '15, and as the title suggests, there will NOT be a second time. The weeds in the 'gardens', are taller than the roses! The lawns needed mowing & that contributed to that 'run down' look of the whole complex. Inside our room,(unit 9),... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni W
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We spent a few nights here as a family of five. The place is a little dated looking in the interior and our rooms would have been more suitable for three or four people rather than five, but since two of our group were little children that wasn't a problem. We were there on a couple of the coldest nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgiyH
Wellington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

After reading a few uncomplimentary reviews, I wasn't expecting too much. What a lovely surprise to find a friendly welcome at reception, a warm, clean, spacious unit and all within a 5 minute walk to town. Barcelona Motel is excellent value for money ($99 per night for our one bedroom suite) and I would happily stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank wilde0ne
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Whilst the place could do with an interior renovation, this is the least of its problems. I regularly stay in Taupo for business, but as the place I usually stay was booked out I booked here, big mistake, I certainly won't be back. Problems started at the door, when the lock appeared to be damaged and was extremely difficult to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jellybean_Kid
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#37 of 73 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utopian Motel Taupo
Utopian Motel Taupo
#67 of 73 in Taupo
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lake
The Lake
#20 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay