We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Taupo hotels

The Cove Taupo

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   213 Lake Tce, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Cove Taupo to your Saves list
The Cove Taupo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
58%
Ranked #42 of 71 hotels in Taupo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
dtgreigz Hastings, New Zealand
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room itself was very cosy and clean. Although the decor is a little bit tired the view to the lake was still great. The manager was lovely and very welcoming. Under new management so expect some positive changes. Walls were a little thin though and could hear every word from the room next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a one bedroom suite, with a deck, couch, large balcony and outdoor hot tub with privacy plus a view of the lake. Comfortable, spacious room and very large bathroom - with tub (a rarity, during our stay in NZ). Short walk to a private swimming beach and running path. Only drawback (for us) was distance to downtown restaurants,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Turangi, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My new friend shouted us a night at the Cove Taupo, the room was more than we expected and set the mood for a very romantic night. Totally enjoyed all the clean amenities, spa bath, nice shower and the king sized bed was very comfortable and we both commented on how well we slept. Finally I am very greatful to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The only things worthy of the price were the sign out front and the helpful reception staff. Room looked dated and shabby. Cooking facilities were very basic at best, and 'Free wifi' did appear to go no further than the front desk. Had the staff not been helpful and pleasant, would have insisted refund 'which was offered'. Will not be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hinemihi, Front Office Manager at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Hi David, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Cove, We like our Guests to be happy, The Cove is at the beginning of a total refurbishment. After talking to you, we did offer you a refund but you said no. Please try us again in a few months, by then the units and building will... More

Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well how nice to stay in a lovely clean spacious resort like complex. So nice and quite and a very comfortable room. One can sit in the spa with a nice glass of wine and relax away the evening with magic views of the lake. Yes glad I made this my first choice in taupo and will be back. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivanhoe13, Owner at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Thank your for your review, we look forward to your return, Our refurbishment in now underway and very exciting, More

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very impressed with spacious and clean rooms at a very reasonable rate as new owners are planning a substantial refurbishment. Added bonus geothermal spa pool in our room with amazing views out over the lake. We will definatley re visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivanhoe13, Owner at The Cove Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are very excited as each stage is started, the refurbishments are going to be wonderful, we look forward to seeing you again More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

It shows a glimmer of its faded past. Needs renovating at its tired, but still comfortable. Staff lovely. No lift unfortunately , a problem for some esp.with heavy suitcases. And quiet as well. One hint, if you have a gold card (NZ) there is a further discount off the room rate. Would stay there again, but until they revamp the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

lets start on the positive. Staff at front desk are extremely helpful. And lets finish with whats left..... The only thing that is new and modern about "The Cove" is the signage out the front.Inside the room decor was tired and in dire need of upgrading. We brought along this trip our 4yo grandson ...who could open the ranchsliders to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Accommodation in Taupo apparently is known for being a lot pricier than Rotorua for example. Nonetheless I think our recent stay at The Cove was not such good value for money. It looks like this may have been THE place to stay in its day, but no major renovation has taken place since then. Don't get me wrong - it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalama, WA, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After driving all day and recovering from a bad overseas flight, this was the perfect place to stay. Fantastic and friendly service. Close to good restaurants and next to the lake. The hot tub fed by the geothermal waters was interesting. Good memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Cove Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Taupo

Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Taupo
Address: 213 Lake Tce, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cove Taupo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking pride of place on the shores of Lake Taupo, The Cove is an intimate motel of just 12 Suites and 4 Studios, offering attentive service. Suites feature living room, super-king sized bedroom and private balcony with spa-pool, studios with a queen sized bed-room and ensuite. All rooms are air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Cove Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.