We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Finns Global Backpackers

8 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Go Global Central Backpackers)
Finns Global Backpackers
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here twice over our time in New Zealand and we loved it each time! Ann the owner is lovely. She does her absolute best to ensure all of her guests are happy asking just one thing in return, to wash, dry and put away your dishes! Common sense if you ask me! The kitchen was always tidy with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I lived at Finns for 3 months while working in Taupo and I had such a good time there! Everyone is friendly and the hostel is neat and tidy. It is also well located and connected to the best bar in town. There is a big deck area on the second floor which is great for BBQ. I recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Wonderfull 2 weeks stay, People who work here are very friendly, big outside staying, nice to chill, cosy, We feel like home here,it's central, close to everything, and the Best part of it? It's sheap!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orebro County, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The biggest issue of our stay was the beds. The mattresses were totally uncomfortable and it felt like they had been used for quite some time. I think it's about time to replace them with something that you actually want to sleep on. The walls of our dorm were very thin, and if you're a light sleeper you wouldn't get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Friendly staff and environment! All too happy to help sort you out, even informed us about parking. Has large deck and plenty of kitchen equipment. We were lucky to get the last double room. It's a shame the rooms arn't as great as the rest of the place. Blinds were broken and bed was well overdue for a replace, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann M, Manager at Finns Global Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not happy with your bedding. I am in the process of replacing bunks and have thrown out a few mattresses. As to the noise, everyone who arrives is told we have one end that is noisy on 3 nights due to the band and DJ. One end is not but we price for those nights... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booking for a school group of 13 in Taupo was a bit of a struggle for us as we were looking for somewhere cheap, central and willing to take a bunch of school kids. We couldn't of enjoyed it more. Right from the moment we got there Ann was there and happy to help and accommodate with anything we needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

An amazing place to stay everyone is so friendly, the staff and people travelling through. Nothing is too much trouble if you need help with anything the reception staff are happy to help. The hostel itself has plenty to offer: a sundeck, bbq, well equiped kitchen, tv room and cheap laundry!! Would reccommend to anybody staying in taupo for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here one night cos Base was fully booked. And I wish I came here from the beginning. Rooms might not be as good as at Base but they are clean and comfy. What made the biggest difference was a lovely lady in reception. Very helpful and extremely nice :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Highly Recommend for those who enjoy the night life, not the type of place where you would wanna relax. A great huge balcony to enjoy food & drinks with a great view before exploring the township. Bars & Clubs are right underneath the place so you don't have far to walk to get a drink or hot food. Staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Generally at backpackers you're greeted with the run down of the place, check out time and highlights of the area. None of the above was provided. Fair enough I guess. A Pasifika women who seemed to work there closed the kitchen at will. Provided a grumpy explanation of why she had closed it and was zero help when asked where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities