We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Finns Global Backpackers

8 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Go Global Central Backpackers)
Finns Global Backpackers
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Confortable bed, perfecltly clean kitchen, with all the utensilis that you need, even a coffee maker! ;) Heaters for the rooms. Very nice staff. Good location and a beautiful and huge roof top with a barbeque, in summer has to be amazing!! Good location also! Really good prize.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We stayed here twice over our time in New Zealand and we loved it each time! Ann the owner is lovely. She does her absolute best to ensure all of her guests are happy asking just one thing in return, to wash, dry and put away your dishes! Common sense if you ask me! The kitchen was always tidy with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

I lived at Finns for 3 months while working in Taupo and I had such a good time there! Everyone is friendly and the hostel is neat and tidy. It is also well located and connected to the best bar in town. There is a big deck area on the second floor which is great for BBQ. I recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Wonderfull 2 weeks stay, People who work here are very friendly, big outside staying, nice to chill, cosy, We feel like home here,it's central, close to everything, and the Best part of it? It's sheap!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orebro County, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The biggest issue of our stay was the beds. The mattresses were totally uncomfortable and it felt like they had been used for quite some time. I think it's about time to replace them with something that you actually want to sleep on. The walls of our dorm were very thin, and if you're a light sleeper you wouldn't get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Friendly staff and environment! All too happy to help sort you out, even informed us about parking. Has large deck and plenty of kitchen equipment. We were lucky to get the last double room. It's a shame the rooms arn't as great as the rest of the place. Blinds were broken and bed was well overdue for a replace, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann M, Manager at Finns Global Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not happy with your bedding. I am in the process of replacing bunks and have thrown out a few mattresses. As to the noise, everyone who arrives is told we have one end that is noisy on 3 nights due to the band and DJ. One end is not but we price for those nights... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booking for a school group of 13 in Taupo was a bit of a struggle for us as we were looking for somewhere cheap, central and willing to take a bunch of school kids. We couldn't of enjoyed it more. Right from the moment we got there Ann was there and happy to help and accommodate with anything we needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

An amazing place to stay everyone is so friendly, the staff and people travelling through. Nothing is too much trouble if you need help with anything the reception staff are happy to help. The hostel itself has plenty to offer: a sundeck, bbq, well equiped kitchen, tv room and cheap laundry!! Would reccommend to anybody staying in taupo for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here one night cos Base was fully booked. And I wish I came here from the beginning. Rooms might not be as good as at Base but they are clean and comfy. What made the biggest difference was a lovely lady in reception. Very helpful and extremely nice :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Highly Recommend for those who enjoy the night life, not the type of place where you would wanna relax. A great huge balcony to enjoy food & drinks with a great view before exploring the township. Bars & Clubs are right underneath the place so you don't have far to walk to get a drink or hot food. Staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#16 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackcurrant Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#15 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#14 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities