We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Taupo hotels

Huka Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huka Falls Road | PO Box 95, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Huka Lodge to your Saves list
Huka Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
89%
Ranked #6 of 72 hotels in Taupo
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
RodG93 Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (115)
  • Photos (120)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    11
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
73
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The second visit and the memories of the total enjoyment of this establishment was not let down in any shape or form. From the warm welcome and friendliness of the staff from the onset and throughout our 2 day stay I have to say it is to be experienced to be fully understood which added to the professionalism was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Third visit and will be back. They read the guests and service is to suit. Not too much or too little. Love being there in the winter with the steam from the river and log fires. Grounds where impeccable. It's the small things hot water bottles in your bed after dinner is typical of the small touches. Dinner riverside with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MediaManagerSA, Social Media & E-Marketing at Huka Lodge, responded to this review

Dear J_and_R_AKL Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you had a good time. Be assured that I have shared your comments with the Team at Huka Lodge. We hope to be able to welcome you sooner than later. Have a lovely weekend. Warm Regards Karien... More

Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Huka Lodge has always been on our "bucket list" of places to stay, we were certainly not disappointed. Right from the moment we drove through the front gates we realised we were somewhere special. The lodge itself and the surrounds are exceptional. On arrival we were given a personal tour of the main house, grounds and our room. Evening pre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MediaManagerSA, Social Media & E-Marketing at Huka Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anthony F I want to thank you for your lovely and extensive review after your recent stay at Huka Lodge. How delightful to hear that you appreciated our beautiful grounds, and that you were happy with the level of service you have received - something that is very important to us. We are very proud to be able to... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went for a rest, not tourism, though there's a lot to do in the area and on the property. A better, more comfortable stay would be hard to imagine. The staff are extremely professional and obliging, especially Dennis, with Chef Paul excelling our expectations on many levels. The gardens are magnificent, rugs and pillows appear magically upon chairs scattered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
new zealand
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
67 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Have stayed at Huka a number of times before. Last time the evening food was a little disappointing as part was of the fare was 'deconstructured' which I guess was popular at the time. I believe the head chef has changed since the last visit. This visit all the food was fantastic with no complaints. We had a fantastic fun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Huka Lodge was a very pleasant experience with excellent staff and lovely surroundings. What really struck a sour note however was the so-called Trophy Room where you could sit and read or have dinner if you chose. We were aghast to see the huge ivory tusks and the heads of various wild African game displayed on the walls. And we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MediaManagerSA, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Seasonedtraveller126 Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback after your recent visit to Huka Lodge. I am delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant experience, and that you rated our staff as "excellent". Be assured that we will notify all staff involved of your kind feedback. Please allow me to collaborate a little... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have had many 'holidays' but none as perfect and relaxing as our 4 days at Huka Lodge. EVERYTHING: the Lodge, the Staff, the Service, the Food, our Room was faultless. Met some great people at drinks and enjoyed being 'Piped' into dinner on Saturday night. If you are seriously thinking about staying here stop procrastinating and just book it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, beautiful location and immaculately kept grounds make for an idyllic setting. Professional, friendly staff who were all welcoming. The room/lodge was beautiful and very comfortable. Unusual offering of dining in separate locations around the house and gardens. You meet up in the lounge for aperitifs and canapés, but are then spirited away to different locations to eat. Must be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Having stayed at Matakauri, kauri cliffs and cape kidnappers we were slightly disappointed by huka lodge. The rooms are lovely and the service was good but it just wasn't as good as the previous properties and if we went back to taupo we would save our money and stay at the Hilton. We were slightly annoyed by a staff member... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MediaManagerSA, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sc207, Thank you for taking the time to review Huka Lodge, I was disappointed to hear that your experience at Huka Lodge was not all that you expected. Staying at our lodge involves many dynamic parts and always includes breakfast, pre-dinner drinks and dinner. Dining in the evening at the lodge is considered an integral part of the entire... More

Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

You have undoubtedly heard of the superb Huka Lodge. We visited the Lodge for 4 days as part of a one month visit to NZ. We had heard so much about it that our expectations were sky high. The Huka Lodge exceeded these by a mile. In short, staying there is effortless. Our cottage was roomy without being too large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Huka Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Huka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huka Lodge

Address: Huka Falls Road | PO Box 95, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huka Lodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Huka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huka Hotel Taupo

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Taupo with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo #6 Romantic Hotel in Taupo #7 Business Hotel in Taupo
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer