We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Taupo

7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Taupo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    26
    36
    21
    33
See reviews for
2
36
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

SUPER HOSTEL! This hostel is great. The staff are super friendly, informative and welcoming. The rooms are clean. The bar is fricking awesome, like, seriously awesome!! You're in a central location to everything Taupo has to offer (which is a lot - I'm heading back). They do cheap (but good!) food in the bar, and really cheap drink offers -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WOW!!! Another great hostel, conveniently located in the centre of Taupo, close to any number of the fantastic local shops, amazing pubs and fine dining restaurants. It's a 30 second walk to the beautiful lake, boasting breath-taking natural landscapes of the rolling hills and the stunning Tongariro alpine crossing (Mt Doom for all you Hobbit and Lord Of The Rings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town. At Base Taupo we are very lucky to be located in such a prime spot and we are really pleased you also enjoyed this too! At Base Taupo we pride ourselves on the experience... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Amazing staff, very modern hostel. Everyone is so friendly and the bar attached to the hostel is awesome! The base is in the heart of Taupo everything is walking distance and most tours will pick you up from the base! Overall amazing hostel and would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave such an awesome review. We are thrilled you had such a great stay, we are lucky to have such a fantastic hostel in the heart of Taupo. We look forward to welcoming you back to Base Taupo soon! Happy travels - Base Crew More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Great backpackers hostel - the staff are all really friendly and helpful. Really sociable bar and great shared facilities. We had a double room at the front and the music didn't bother us at all. The ensuite was absolute paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. Sounds like you had a fantastic stay which is exactly what we would hope for! We look forward to welcoming you back to this or another Base property in the near future! Happy travels! More 

Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

A friend and I were in town for a wedding and decided to stay a night here. The check in staff were super friendly and assisted us with our every need. We stayed in a twin room with ensuite. So comfortable, tea and coffee facilities, tv, heating and an absolutely stunning bathroom. Would definitely recommend this place to travellers as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to complete a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, bar and stay at Base Taupo. We hope you were reunited with your lost phone. We look forward to welcoming you back to this or another Base property in the near future. Happy travels! More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights with kiwi experience and it's pretty much exactly what you'd expect from a base. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm with an ensuite, it was on the small side but clean and comfortable. It didn't bother me particularly but a lot of people complained that they couldn't sleep because of the noise form the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you found your room clean and comfortable as this is exactly what we would hope for. Due to our prime location there can sometimes be issues with noise on the busier nights. However, we are trying our best to minimize the impact on our guests. We... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stayed in a double room with our own bathroom. The room was modern and clean and had everything we needed. The location of the hostel is fantastic, just a few minutes was to the lake. We also liked the bar attached to the hostel. Great prices and a good night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Base Taupo. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you enjoyed beautiful Taupo and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Happy travels! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

This hostel was an okay stay. The rooms smelt and it was a bit noisy but it was relatively clean and the staff were friendly. They were really helpful with problems we were having with skydiving ans liasing with the company.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I did however notice from your survey response that you rated cleanliness as average. Here at Base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in both though the facilities we offer and the service... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The hostel is in quite a good location with all sorts of shops around it, including some bars and food places. It's also a short walk from the Lake and it's got a lovely view of it from the kitchen balcony. The kitchen and rooms are a decent size. You also get free tea and coffee which is always a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Taupo and for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and yes we are privileged to have such a spectacular view! Have a great trip around NZ and we hope to welcome you back to this or another Base in the near future! More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We had a private double room with our own en suite and tea/coffee facilities. We were impressed with the size of the room and bathroom for a good price. The hostel had all the facilities you could need and was in a fantastic location for cafes, restaurants and a few minutes walk from lake Taupo. Taupo itself is a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Base Taupo. We totally agree - Taupo is the best place in NZ! We are lucky to live in such a beautiful little town with so many activities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Base Taupo... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#15 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#21 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#14 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blackcurrant Backpackers
0.4 mi away
YHA Taupo
YHA Taupo
#19 of 34 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Fern Lodge
Silver Fern Lodge
#16 of 34 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay