We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Taupo accommodations

Base Taupo

4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Base Taupo to your Saves list
Base Taupo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
25%
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    18
    14
    29
See reviews for
1
22
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed 1 night at base taupo although didnt actually sleep! Room on first floor overlooking street had just single glazed windows and no air con. During night room became unbearably hot so we had to open window but noise from the street and element bar was so loud even with earplugs it was impossible to sleep. No hot water in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tippe133
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here when I was on the kiwi experince and it as very nice. The ensuite rooms were very reasonable and also quite big. The staff were lovely and the bar underneath is very good for a night out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived a bit early to check in so the guy behind the reception told me I could stall my luggage and come back in an hour. I asked him what I could do in the meanwhile so they told me to go and visit Spa Thermal Park, which was very good. After about three hours I came back and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arrived in Taupo, having heard and read so much about Base I thought I would give it a try. Made the mistake of staying there too long Noisy, rude staff, everything was broken (the laundry room only had one washing machine working for a hostel which can accommodate nearly 500 people!) the kitchen and lounge closed at 11pm so if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, I am sorry that your stay with us in February wasn't to your satisfaction. Our hostel sleeps 134 people through a mix of dorm and double rooms. One of the washing machines you refer to had an issue and we were waiting on parts from overseas to fix from the distributor. This machine has subsequently been fixed. Yes,... More

east yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here for one night in a room with private facilities at a cost of $80NZ. I knew it was a backpackers but did not expect to have to climb over drunks and people using their phones while sitting on the stairs. The music from their bar was loud untll 2AM . When i asked the girl on reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Good day, I am sorry that your experience has not been what you had expected. We have several areas in the property where people can relax and socialise. We encourage people to use these areas rather than congregating on staircases and impeding the access of other guests. We also rely on other guests to demonstrate courtesy and respect for their... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked a night here to relax with a friend of mine for a weekend, and booked a private twin room with ensuite. Upon arrival, I was given my room key and all was fine... until I opened the door. I had booked about 2 weeks earlier, and was a little surprised to find they had given me a double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Saskia, I am sorry that your experience of Base Taupo wasn't as you expected. We take pride in our friendly, attentive customer service and clean, modern hostel. We have been having a busy summer with lots of people having fun in and around the hostel. Regards Jason Cameron More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked online then called and emailed as well to confirm the private double room I'd booked would be available. When I checked in a few hours later they'd given it away. I was given a dorm bunk bed instead but as it turns out I'm glad I saved the money as there's no way to sleep here. It's above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Apologies that your experience didn't meet your expectation. If you had booked a room then and secured it with a credit card - the room should not have been sold. If you can please make contact with me at the hostel and I can investigate. I am also not aware of any rooms with mould in them. If... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a terrible place!! The staff at the front desk are rude! It's not difficult to make eye contact or smile. I had walked in on the off chance they had a room, which they did. Several other people had booked in advance and their bookings had been messed up. I have stayed at X base in Oz previously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Apologies that your experience didn't meet your expectation. We take pride in our friendly, helpful customer service so am sorry if you don't feel you received this. We also maintain all rooms so if there is anything wrong guests can let us know and we will deal with it. We are located in the bar and restaurant district... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This really was the worst hostel I've stayed so far in NZ. It was very noisy and dirty but the worst part was how I was treated by an employee. I had a problem with a washing machine (btw there are 3 but only one works) and I had to beg the guy at the reception (green cap, glasses, arm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for placing your feedback on your experience at Base Taupo. Last week we did have some issues with our washing machines in the guest laundry which have been fixed. It would be helpful if you could be more specific on what areas you found dirty in the hostel as this an area we take pride in a... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Base hostels exist purely to profit off travellers on a budget, not to help them travel, and that's obvious here. The rooms were crammed with as many beds as possible, some lights didn't work, bathroom had no bathmat so water went everywhere. The kitchen had no stoves or even tea towels so dishes were never dry. Also, good luck trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason C, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn't as expected. We certainly aim to please. The majority of our dorm rooms accommodate four people and many of our rooms have ensuites. All rooms have bathmats provided. We will always provide a bathmat in the unlikely case that one is missing. The guest kitchen has modern gas hobs for... More

Been to Base Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Base Taupo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.