We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Taupo hotels

Tui Oaks Motor Inn

84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tui Oaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
71%
Ranked #41 of 72 hotels in Taupo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014
lonekaurilodge Auckland, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (52)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I rarely have occasion to stay in motels but I needed somewhere to stay on the Saturday of Anzac weekend and not having pre booked anywhere I tried the Tui Oaks because it is virtually next door to the Jolly Good Fellows Pub and Restaurant which is a favourite of mine when in Taupo. The lady at reception was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Tui oaks is nothing special, other than good view of the lake. The rooms are quite small. We got changed to a 1 bedroom room due to a plumbing problem in the studio room we had booked. The bedroom was very narrow, making passing by end of bed tight. The female proprietor was pleasant enough, but can't say same for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Yes I was a bit grumpy, but then I had good reason. You don't mention that you were booked in for one night and went out at 8.30 the next morning and didn't return until 3 pm then proceeded to check out. You were well aware that the normal checkout time was 10am. We attempted to contact you by email... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed one night after long drive from Auckland, owners couldn't have been more welcoming and lovely, nothing too much trouble, we had a two bedroomed apartment with good facilities, fine for one night. Our room was on ground floor behind stairs and looked onto pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. More

Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The motel is well situated with views from the front units over Lake Taupo. We had an upstairs one bedroom unit with a view and a workable kitchen, and a ground floor studio unit at the back, which had access from the room to the outdoor pool area and bbq. The pool looked like it needed a major clean, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were disgusted to find dozens of tiny dead insects resting on the tissue box which was mounted onto the toilet wall. When we informed the receptionist, she gave a cold response saying that it won't bite us! However, she did come to the room to clean out the insects. The hair dryer was also blowing out a few tiny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

We get very few negative comments so we were surprised to receive this one which is a bit unfair. I agree with your comments about the insects on the roller blind. I check all the rooms personally and the fault is all mine, I put my hand up for that. But as to poor cleanliness, perhaps you should read some... More

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and never again. Our first night was in a ground floor room which was very noisy, due to heavy trucks on the road during the night, we woke many times. I complained to the owner the following morning, so she gave us another room at the back of the hotel which was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

There are often two sides to a story. We apologised at the time and apologise again for this fiasco, but we think you didn’t help your situation by your own actions. A) Credit card numbers declined B) Didn’t communicate with us with regard to later check-out or that you were returning later. C) Room empty of guests’ possessions D) Empty... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed for two nights on way to Wellington. Liz and Ian were very friendly and helpful in recommending things to see and do in the local area. The room was very clean and of adequate size. The motel was in a very good position for walking to restaurants and town centre although the road on which it is situated is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just stayed one night on way to Rotorua. Very clean and tidy. Only needed a studio unit and found the size ideal, not too small for two people. Step out of unit to pool, lovely. Would definitely stay here again. Lake just across the road. Very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This property was very noisey, as to road staff staying and they we're not policed, so made for a very tiring night. Property was very tidy and well situated. close walk to the shops, and supermarkets, restaurants Would i stay here again most probally not

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Liz and Ian made us feel very comfortable right from the beginning. Liz was friendly on the phone, and when we showed up at the motel she answered all our questions and went above and beyond to help us out. The unit was clean and comfortable, and the cooking facilities decent. The view from the living area (and the bedroom)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tui Oaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tui Oaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Address: 84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tui Oaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Taupo with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tui Oaks Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer