We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Taupo hotels

Tui Oaks Motor Inn

84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tui Oaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #37 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
saudikiwi Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tui oaks is nothing special, other than good view of the lake. The rooms are quite small. We got changed to a 1 bedroom room due to a plumbing problem in the studio room we had booked. The bedroom was very narrow, making passing by end of bed tight. The female proprietor was pleasant enough, but can't say same for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Yes I was a bit grumpy, but then I had good reason. You don't mention that you were booked in for one night and went out at 8.30 the next morning and didn't return until 3 pm then proceeded to check out. You were well aware that the normal checkout time was 10am. We attempted to contact you by email... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed one night after long drive from Auckland, owners couldn't have been more welcoming and lovely, nothing too much trouble, we had a two bedroomed apartment with good facilities, fine for one night. Our room was on ground floor behind stairs and looked onto pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. More

Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The motel is well situated with views from the front units over Lake Taupo. We had an upstairs one bedroom unit with a view and a workable kitchen, and a ground floor studio unit at the back, which had access from the room to the outdoor pool area and bbq. The pool looked like it needed a major clean, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were disgusted to find dozens of tiny dead insects resting on the tissue box which was mounted onto the toilet wall. When we informed the receptionist, she gave a cold response saying that it won't bite us! However, she did come to the room to clean out the insects. The hair dryer was also blowing out a few tiny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

We get very few negative comments so we were surprised to receive this one which is a bit unfair. I agree with your comments about the insects on the roller blind. I check all the rooms personally and the fault is all mine, I put my hand up for that. But as to poor cleanliness, perhaps you should read some... More

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and never again. Our first night was in a ground floor room which was very noisy, due to heavy trucks on the road during the night, we woke many times. I complained to the owner the following morning, so she gave us another room at the back of the hotel which was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

There are often two sides to a story. We apologised at the time and apologise again for this fiasco, but we think you didn’t help your situation by your own actions. A) Credit card numbers declined B) Didn’t communicate with us with regard to later check-out or that you were returning later. C) Room empty of guests’ possessions D) Empty... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed for two nights on way to Wellington. Liz and Ian were very friendly and helpful in recommending things to see and do in the local area. The room was very clean and of adequate size. The motel was in a very good position for walking to restaurants and town centre although the road on which it is situated is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just stayed one night on way to Rotorua. Very clean and tidy. Only needed a studio unit and found the size ideal, not too small for two people. Step out of unit to pool, lovely. Would definitely stay here again. Lake just across the road. Very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This property was very noisey, as to road staff staying and they we're not policed, so made for a very tiring night. Property was very tidy and well situated. close walk to the shops, and supermarkets, restaurants Would i stay here again most probally not

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Liz and Ian made us feel very comfortable right from the beginning. Liz was friendly on the phone, and when we showed up at the motel she answered all our questions and went above and beyond to help us out. The unit was clean and comfortable, and the cooking facilities decent. The view from the living area (and the bedroom)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This motor inn is really cozy, the rooms are fully equipped and you have different options to choose from, we took the smallest room but it was also great, with a lake view (although in the lowest floor, i would recommend other floors) service was alright, it has a nice pool but we didnt use it. The staff is great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Tui Oaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Address: 84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tui Oaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tui Oaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.