We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waitahanui Lodge

Hotel website
116 State Highway One | Waitahanui, Taupo 3778, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Waitahanui Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived here planning to only stay for one day, The lake was straight out the front of the cottage. The service was excellent. They even had a boat we used to go into the lake in the sunset. We decided to stay 3 days and used this as our base for Taupo, Mount Ruapehu and the Waitomo caves. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank David G
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review David. Glad to be of help so you got the wallet back with all its cash and cards. More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

We were so lucky to have found this little gem right on Lake Taupo. Originally an old fishermans lodge, it has been nicely refurbished with some cabins having an ensuite bathroom.The lovely gardens surrounding the property are charming and wild flowers spill right onto the beach. Our cabin was tastefully decorated and comfortable with everything supplied - even the coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank LilyAnna
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review.Your title is absolutely appropriate as that's exactly as I see it too. "A Kiwiana bach". More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

My Wife and I spent 6 fabulous nights in this classic kiwi bach style lodge. We had unit 2 which is really good for a longer stay, everything included to cook own meals and clean and tidily presented. The Lodge is situated right on the Lake Waterfront and about 300 metres from the mouth of the Waitahanui River, which unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review and all the nice things you mention about the lodge. And you didn't even stay in one of the lakefront units so I'm glad Unit 2 lived up to your expectations. More 

Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

We had a fab wknd. We have stayed here a few times now. It is our annual retreat. The place is quaint, view is amazing, manager very nice and goes the extra mile. Lovely to hear the water lapping on the shore. Sunsets are amazing. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank dag1232015
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you like returning to enjoy some time at the Lodge. Thankyou for your review. More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

My partner and I had the most fantastic weekend of celebrations here. We were in cottage no 3 just about ten steps from the lake edge, it was magical. We watched the lake and surroundings change all weekend with the weather, from really rough and snowy to warm and the lake looking like a mirror. We love the fact they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sherrie F
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

What a treat to read your review Sherrie F. I love that you had such a memorable weekend here. I hope to see you back sometime soon. All the best. Sue More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed in Number 2, it was a cosy kiwi bach with everything we needed to cook our own meals and be totally self-contained and even though it was icy outside it was warm and comfortable inside. We chose the Lodge because it was walking distance to the Waitahanui River and could spend all day fishing, which we did. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank sallygX6051FI
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you were warm and comfortable when we've been getting such cold and frosty weather and its a pleasure to provide a well equipped kitchen so you can stay in and cook for yourself on these cold nights rather than having to go out for a meal. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We only wanted an overnight stop on our way south and were lucky to discover Waitahanui Lodge’s reviews on Tripadvisor. Yet again Tripadvisor has found us a great place to stay away from the crowds. We were in unit one and loved the way the character has been retained without compromising on comfort and efficient facilities. We had to put... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rojanich
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for commenting on your stay at our lodge. I hope the sunset was worth waiting an hour for dinner! I'm sure it was, we get the most amazing sunsets here. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We had a wonderful two night stay in Room 1. Being so close to the lake is just magical, we even went for a dip in the lake! Lovely and peaceful, a truly special place to stay. We all enjoyed experiencing the kiwi bach way of life, even if only for a couple of days. Thanks Sue for being such... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScotsguyKiwigirl
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for reviewing us. Being the furthest from the beach, Room 1 is our least popular cottage, but really quaint and a bit quirky. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Lovely friendly place where dogs are welcome. Amazing lake views with use of BBQ area and kayaks. Would highly recommend for a kiwi rustic Bach get away. New bathrooms. Five star in friendlyness, location and cleanliness.

Helpful?
Thank Natasha V
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Lodge Natasha. Thats exactly what we have....the rustic kiwi bach and hope that others like the experience as much as you. More 

Port Douglas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We managed to fluke a one night stay in room 4 and so glad we did. Our last stay here was around 35-36 years ago and it is still (as I have seen described elsewhere) "the quintessential bach experience". From the trout smoker to "Lodge" the cat, to the organic herb and vege garden, super comfortable beds and communal lakeside... More 

Helpful?
Thank PortDouglasHugo
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so glad you fluked the lakefront unit that just happened to be available on that one night. Some thiings are just meant to be. I appreciate the warm comments. Thankyou. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.7 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#5 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#18 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 73 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
5.7 mi away
Kauri Point
Kauri Point
#3 of 35 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities