We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 New Plymouth hotels

16 Northgate Motor Lodge

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Northgate, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added 16 Northgate Motor Lodge to your Saves list
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
86%
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014
Wangaster
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

As a frequent business traveller to New Plymouth I have stayed at quite a few motels in the $100ish range. Northgate by far tops it off. why? It's very modern stylish decor with near new kitchen facility. The studio room i got was roomy and not cramped like many others in similar price range. it's air conned. the toilets are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tamahere, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a couple of very pleasant nights at this Motor Lodge. The location was perfect, the units and facilities were great (the renovations done tastefully) and we were spoiled for choice with all the sky channels. Apart from it looking appealing on the website, the fact it offered free wifi was the final decider for us and definitely a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A very enjoyable week at this motel. We stayed for a week to attend a family event at short notice from Perth The owners went out of their way to accommodate us to ensure we were comfortable and happy, even though we arrived quite late. They were very helpful and pleasant when we needed assistance. The unit was beautifully renovated... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your positive review following your stay with us. Yes, the unlimited WIFI is a great bonus when away from home! We are so pleased that you had a pleasant week and that we made you feel welcome and happy during your stay. We hope to see you again soon. More

Waikanae
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to all amenities but far enough away to escape the busy streets. the units have been very well renovated and are equipped with all the necessities, including my sky which is a great bonus. would definitely stay again but service upon checkout was a little indifferent. It's always nice to be asked how your stay was even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do find that guests find the motel is in a great location which adds to their stay. We are pleased that you found you had all you needed during your stay. We do hope to see you again soon. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this place in june and chose it for its good location not only for the business I had to do but also, because it was close to the walkway to go for a run in the evening. The Wifi was the fastest I have ever had in any motel and was also unlimited and no problems connecting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you found your stay at Northgate Motor Lodge exactly what you were looking for. We are pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade, and are so pleased that you'll be back next month to stay in our Super King Studio. Yes, the unlimited WIFI and MySky decoders are perfect for those on business away from home.... More

Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This accommodation was excellent for the two of us while staying for three nights. We had studio 9 which was at the rear and very quiet. Free wifi was excellent and. Enabled some work to be done when the weather forced us of the golf course. Yes we would return. Thanks again Paul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thankyou for reviewing your stay with us with such positive feedback. We are very pleased that you will return again, hopefully the weather will be better next time! Hope to see you again soon. More

Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It is a great place to stay. We were late getting to town on our first night which had stressed me out, but the managers were great about it when I managed to call them (they had left me messages but my phone had died). Very handy to town and close to supermarkets etc which is great as you have... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thankyou for writing a review following your stay with us at Northgate Motor Lodge. We were only too happy to assist with making check in easier for your arrival later than reception hours. We are pleased that you found your stay met your needs, especially the super king bed! We hope to see you again in the future. More

Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was happy with this place initially. Reception staff were friendly. The room was recently renovated and had a high ceiling. The kitchenette was good. I was quite happy to see a recycling bin next to the garbage bin. Unfortunately, the day before my early departure my room was serviced and my towels were removed but not replaced. I didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry that you only felt you could give a rating of 2 out of 5 following a mishap of no bath towels. Our staff work extremely hard to ensure they do their job to the best of their ability. No towel is a real pain, but we are... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here as part of a large group that were staying in the Hotel across the road so it was quite convenient as we had left our booking late. The duty manager was very casual about the whole thing and we were located right at the end of units by the road. The unit was very clean and comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for writing a review following your stay with us. We are sorry if you feel that your room was not quite what you wanted, booking late can sometimes give very little options for the room type you booked. Recently we have had a Qualmark inspection, retaining our genuine 4 star rating as opposed to motels that self-rate. We hope... More

Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A little tricky to find, close to centre of town, Friendly reception though a bit too laid back as when checking out waited over half an hour with other clients also wishing to check out, room ample sized, comfortable, clean, quiet, ideal for an overnight stop for travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, thankyou for your review following your stay with us. We are sorry if you had to wait to checkout, hopefully it wasn't a 30 minute wait. We do suggest to guests to pay at check-in to avoid busy checkout periods. We hope you visit New Plymouth again. More

Do you own or manage 16 Northgate Motor Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Address: 16 Northgate, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near 16 Northgate Motor Lodge