We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
stillwater,mn.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel. Great bathroom! Across the street from the coastal walkway. Air conditioning and a very tiny balcony. We didn't eat here. Free parking and wifi connection was good. Comfortable beds, refrigerator in the room. Modern hotel, not a motel.

Helpful?
Thank dietcoke75
Cambridge
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Selected the hotel based on Trip Advsor and we were not disappointed. We had a spacious room with a sea view and did not find the room noisy as some seemed to have done. We dined at the restaurant and though service was a bit slow ( new chef on duty ) the food was superb and well worth the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David716
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you David for your review. We appreciate your business and we are delighted you had a enjoyable stay, including the superb food in our restaurant. All the best. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, our stay (3 nights) at The Waterfront was fabulous. We were greeted by Talia on Friday January 8th, 2016. She was very friendly and efficient. She explained about the hotel (including Salt restaurant) and things that may be of interest in the New Plymouth area. Our large room (304) was... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZ_NURSE
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks you NZ_NURSE. All the staff here love receiving feedback like yours. Another testament to how hard they work and the passion they have for their profession. Talia will be very pleased to see her name mentioned here twice. We really appreciate your business. Best wishes The Waterfront Hotel Team. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are coming to New Plymouth to enjoy the waterfront, restaurants, downtown shopping, or the Len Lye Center, the Waterfront is a wonderful place to stay. I would definitely recommend asking for a waterfront view room. The rooms are well appointed but not luxurious. Our bathroom had both a jetted tub and an excellent shower. The king size bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonesfamilyma
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Jonesfamilyma, Firstly for choosing to stay with us, and secondly for sharing your feedback with fellow travelers. We are thrilled you had such a great time in the Hotel and found our service and facilities very good. We agree the free Gym next door is fantastic - alot better than any hotel gym can offer! Best wishes The... More 

Napier; New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel on waterfront. In one bedroom room. great views, space has two king beds. Parking free WiFi good coverage. Check in smooth helpful and gracious. Staying three nights...looking forward next two. Len Lye et al.

Helpful?
Thank IrishGinaG
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you IrishGinaG, for you business and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the 1 bedroom suite. It was nice speaking with you on your departure and we will certainly come and check out your hospitality and beer when we are over your way! Best wishes, The Waterfront Hotel Team. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights 10/11 Jan originally only booked 1 but on seeing the area and hotel decided to stay for the extra night the reception staff were very helpful in doing this..... On the first night we had an issue in the hotel restaurant, again without any prompting or suggestion both the reception (Dina) and the restaurant (Fran... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulBham
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you PaulBham for taking the time to publish your feedback. The Waterfront hotel and Salt restaurant team are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly love having the chance to leave a positive impression on every person the we host here. We do take great pride in our location,cleanliness and our amazing staff and I am pleased... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a night in New Plymouth & needed to find somewhere to stay as we had not pre booked. Found this hotel & very happy. Staff friendly & helpful. Room was spacious, very clean & fresh. Comfortable bed & lounge chairs. Great shower. Ordered a late night snack which arrived promptly. Side view of both ocean & mountain. So handy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Jackie, Thanks for you amazing 5 star review! Appreciate everything you had to say about your stay and we are pleased you enjoyed you time with us. We would love to see you again in the near future if you ever return to New Plymouth. All the best. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hadn't pre-booked so no knowledge of this place and first time in New Plymouth. Everything was great - from the lovely helpful reception staff to the room upgrade and the free parking and wi-fi. Suite was great with king sized bed (really comfortable) and the best pillows I've ever slept on. So central. Ate at Salt Restaurant - great staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hales
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Hales for your review. Its nice to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us at the Waterfront Hotel. We do get a lot of great comments about the beds and pillows. We don't think the noise is an issue either, we are located in the CBD so there has to be a trade off somewhere.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the waterfront hotel just over night but the service was amazing. The staff are so friendly and we will definately be coming back to the waterfront hotel on our next trip to new plymouth!

Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks Zoe. Really appreciate your wonderful feedback and business! We would love to host you again when you return the New Plymouth. Best wishes from the team here, all the best. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in New Plymouth for three days to see the sights and visit friends. We chose the waterfront for the location. Seaviews a do handy to the gallery. This is a new hotel with very comfortable beds. In fact the proprietress told us that more than 80 beds had been sold on the basis of people having a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted49
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks Ted49, It was nice hosting you for the 3 days. We are delighted you had a great time. Its nice to hear you think we are new, but in Fact we are now 13 years old,This is testament to our cleanliness and maintenance upkeep program. Yes we have on sold a lot of beds to happy guests in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 31 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#3 of 31 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#6 of 31 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#11 of 31 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay