We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    56
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
56
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were exceptional on check-in and kindly allowed us unsolicited to us one of there conference rooms for a conference call and presentation run through. They were even so kind as to bring us a few beers directly into the conference room while we hosted our call. Then we moved into the Restuarant and enjoyed an exceptional meal, well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here before and find the location great, only hotel I believe that is on the coast in New Plymouth. Museum right next door and new art gallery displaying Len Lye amazing work is a must and only a 2 min walk. Rooms are spacious and I loved the brown makeup face washer, I always feel terrible leaving makeup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am one of the new-fangled tourists drawn to visit New Plymouth by the recently opened Len Lye Centre. It's a small but world-class art museum devoted to the work of a mid-20th-century New Zealand artist who had an amazing international career. Lye also seemed to know everyone in New York artistic circles from Georgia O'Keeffe to Merce Cunningham to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You will not be disappointed with this place. Good location overlooking the sea. Handy for a 2 min walk to the city. Free parking. Free fast wifi. Great food in the restaurant. Comfortable bed. All at a very reasonable price. I'll definitely be returning the next time I'm anywhere near New Plymouth or Taranaki.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Brilliant. Thanks for sharing your positive feedback with fellow travelers. We do have the fastest wifi in town for accommodation suppliers, and its only currently running at half speed, and its free! Glad you had a great time, hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location over the road from Len Lye's Wind Wand, the long seaside cycle and walk way, and New Plymouth's rolling surf. New-ish hotel with an excellent restaurant with great view. We had a more expensive upper room which gave us a big room with king bed and reasonable view - the ocean views are on the diagonal as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback on your experience. We love that you had a great time while here in New Plymouth, surrounded by all the wonderful arts / activities we have on offer backed up by our super location. Best regards The Waterfront Hotel Team! More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Waterfront while in New Plymouth on business recently. This is obviously a well managed hotel, fantastic staff in all areas especially Reception. Our room was a deluxe studio which was large and well furnished, it was situated at the front of the hotel so we were concerned about traffic noise but this wasn't a problem thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The waterfront Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we would love to host you again in the future. Regards The Waterfront hotel Team! More 

Auckland, New
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the third time I have stayed at the Waterfront and again it was very enjoyable. It is in a very convenient location in the heart of New Plymouth. The room are always very comfortable with free wi fi and everything a traveler needs. From the moment you check in you are surrounded by staff who are available to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Excellent....Thank you for staying with us again. Its great knowing previous guests love returning to the Waterfront Hotel. Its fantastic you enjoyed your stay and we do hope we see you again in the future. Best regards The Waterfront Hotel Team More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We stayed here over the weekend. From start (the booking) to our departure to the airport, the staff (Heather and team) were extremely welcoming and friendly. They provided us with suggestions on things to do in New Plymouth and local events. They helped us with booking transport on our departure. The room was super clean and well fitted out. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for returning to the Waterfront Hotel once again. We value your business and feedback very much. We are glad our level of hospitality made an impression with you. Heather and the team will be excited to read your comments. Appreciated. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Great hotel, I always love staying here. Clean, comfortable and warm. Really good restaurant too. Location is great too. Across the road from the Wind Wand sculpture and the coastal walkway, next to the Puke Ariki museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again some time. Best regards The Waterfront Hotel Team. More 

Nambour
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

New Plymouth is a town that punches above its weight for accommodation and food and the Waterfront is no exception. Lovely near new hotel. Perfect spot with views of the Tasman sea or Mt Taranaki (at a stretch). The restaurant is lovely and the staff always too happy to help. Right in the centre of town it's a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for your wonderful comments. Its certainly nice to get feedback like this from someone like yourself that frequents the Hotel very often. We really appreciate your business and love having you stay with us. best wishes from us all. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#14 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay